Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar

Hibernian 2011-2012 - How Are We Shaping Up?

With most departures confirmed and the desired size of squad known, here's where I think we're up to, with players listed in their main positions.

Goalkeepers
    Graham Stack
    Mark Brown
    Callum Antell

Defenders

Michael Hart
    David Stephens
    Ian Murray
    Paul Hanlon
    Sean O'Hanlon
    Callum Booth
    Scott Smith

Midfielders
    Sir Edwinmund of De Graafinator
    Lewis Stevenson
    Daniel Galbraith
    Ivan Spoule
    Victor Palsson
    Matt Thornhill
    Martin Scott
    David Wotherspoon
    Sean Welsh
    Lewis Horner
    Scott Taggart
    David Crawford

Forwards
    Garry O'Connor
    Akpo Sodje

So that's 24 with 4 or 5 kids to go out on loan. Looking at how well stocked we are in midfield, I'm guessing Lewis only got a deal because he can cover a left back.

How do you think we're shaping up?

We're pish.

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    With most departures confirmed and the desired size of squad known, here's where I think we're up to, with players listed in their main positions.

Goalkeepers
    Graham Stack
    Mark Brown
    Callum Antell

Defenders
    Michael Hart
    David Stephens
    Ian Murray
    Paul Hanlon
    Sean O'Hanlon
    Callum Booth
    Scott Smith

Midfielders
    Lewis Stevenson
    Daniel Galbraith
    Ivan Spoule
    Victor Palsson
    Matt Thornhill
    Martin Scott
    David Wotherspoon
    Sean Welsh
    Lewis Horner
    Scott Taggart
    David Crawford

Forwards
    Garry O'Connor
    Akpo Sodje

So that's 24 with 4 or 5 kids to go out on loan. Looking at how well stocked we are in midfield, I'm guessing Lewis only got a deal because he can cover a left back.

We are obviously needing more strikers but I am happy with that squad with the exception of Hart and De Graaf, and I'm definately looking forward to next season.

Edit: We badly need a right back.
    Last edited by R'Albin; 17-06-2011 at 08:06 PM.

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Popular opinion or not but we're still 3 Gary O'Connor type signings away from even getting into the top 6.

First Team Breakthrough HibbyRod's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    We're pish.

Goalkeepers
    Graham Stack
    Mark Brown
    Callum Antell

Defenders

Michael Hart
    David Stephens
    Ian Murray
    Paul Hanlon
    Sean O'Hanlon
    Callum Booth
    Scott Smith

Midfielders
    Lewis Stevenson
    Daniel Galbraith
    Ivan Spoule
    Victor Palsson
    Matt Thornhill
    Martin Scott
    David Wotherspoon
    Sean Welsh
    Lewis Horner
    Scott Taggart
    David Crawford

Forwards
    Garry O'Connor
    Akpo Sodje

If we could move out the 2 in bold, and move in younger and hungrier replacemnents I'd be fairly happy.

Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    Popular opinion or not but we're still 3 Gary O'Connor type signings away from even getting into the top 6.
    IMO that's utter nonsense.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    We're pish.
    What flavour of pish?

Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    If we could move out the 2 in bold, and move in younger and hungrier replacemnents I'd be fairly happy.

Is Nade available?

What flavour of pish?
    Dont know yet.

IMO that's utter nonsense.
    IMO it's realistic, 2 forwards ffs and several players listed who have not even made 10 apps for the club yet.

Not even ten. There is only one app as far as I can see. It's pish as well. That lot clearly lack development skills.

I still believe that that squad with a proper pre-season ( and the 2 changes I mentioned) would make top 6 based on the current competition.

And some decent tactics

Right then, so you actually do believe the same as I do that we need another 2/3 quality players to make the top 6 with ease.

Would agree with that.

Current Squad

Goalkeepers
    Graham Stack
    Mark Brown
    Callum Antell

Defenders
    Michael Hart
    David Stephens
    Ian Murray
    Paul Hanlon
    Sean O'Hanlon
    Callum Booth
    Scott Smith

Midfielders
    Lewis Stevenson
    Daniel Galbraith
    Ivan Spoule
    Victor Palsson
    Matt Thornhill
    Martin Scott
    David Wotherspoon
    Sean Welsh
    Lewis Horner
    Scott Taggart
    David Crawford

Forwards
    Garry O'Connor
    Akpo Sodje

Squad from last year at the end of the summer:

GOALKEEPERS

Graham Stack
    Thomas Flynn
    Graeme Smith
    Mark Brown

DEFENDERS

Michael Hart
    Francis Dickoh
    Steven Thicot
    Lewis Stevenson
    Paul Hanlon
    David Stephens
    Callum Booth
    Scott Smith
    Scott Taggart
    Sol Bamba
    MIDFIELDERS

Ian Murray
    John Rankin
    Kevin Mcbride
    Danny Galbraith
    David Wotherspoon
    Lewis Horner
    Sean Welsh
    Liam Miller
    Edwin De Graaf
    Merouane Zemmama
    FORWARDS

Colin Nish
    Derek Riordan
    Darryl Duffy
    Kurtis Byrne
    Daniel Handling

I may have missed out a few, but anyway I think this years squad is stronger
    Last edited by R'Albin; 17-06-2011 at 08:38 PM.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Right back, central midfielder and forward.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

If we can ditch Hart and de Graff and bring back Towelie and another couple of strikers I'd be happy enough. Maybe still in need of a creative midfielder and another winger as Galbraith seems somewhat injury prone.
    Last edited by zlatan; 17-06-2011 at 08:47 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar

Midfielders
    Lewis Stevenson
    Daniel Galbraith
    Ivan Spoule
    Victor Palsson
    Matt Thornhill
    Martin Scott
    David Wotherspoon
    Sean Welsh
    Lewis Horner
    Scott Taggart
    David Crawford

If we don't sign a creative midfielder then a lot will rest on Thornhill's shoulders. I'm sure the 3rd striker will arrive soon.

Of course a right back is essential.

Right back, Forward and somebody a bit creative in the middle still required IMO. I'd punt Hart and De Graff, probably no find anybody tae take them though unfortunately.

Right then, so you actually do believe the same as I do that we need another 2/3 quality players to make the top 6 with ease.
    The 2 words in bold weren't in your first post.
    Consistently our competition for top 6 comes from the OF,hertz,the sheep,arabs, killie & the mothers.

We'll not compete with the OF and, apart from us and hertz, no-one else has strengthened .
    So, looking at current squads I'm relatively confident.

p.s. I can only see us strengthening in the coming weeks but hertz could still be off-loading a few if the money's right, so their squad could well be weaker.

Goalkeepers
    Graham Stack
    Mark Brown
    Callum Antell

Defenders
    Michael Hart
    David Stephens
    Ian Murray
    Paul Hanlon
    Sean O'Hanlon
    Callum Booth
    Scott Smith

Midfielders
    Lewis Stevenson
    Daniel Galbraith
    Ivan Spoule
    Victor Palsson
    Matt Thornhill
    Martin Scott
    David Wotherspoon
    Sean Welsh
    Lewis Horner
    Scott Taggart
    David Crawford

Forwards
    Garry O'Connor
    Akpo Sodje

Stack

Smith
    O'Hanlon
    Hanlon
    Booth

Sproule
    Welsh
    Palsson
    Thornhill

O'Connor
    Galbraith

That's the team I would start with out of that squad. I would do everything I could if I was CC to move on De Graff and Hart and bring in another 2 defenders. Sodje did very well for himself and Hibs last season but I'd like to see a more acomplished forward added to the squad. I'd also like Wotherspoon to be given a chance to settle in a fixed position as I feel he has gone backwards having been asked to fill in at so many different positions. Its likely that Horner or Crawford will go on loan but I would love to see one of them get a wee chance early on and really take it and kick right on. I'm happy to rely on Murray, Stevenson, Scott as subs who will come off the bench enthusiastically and Brown as a back up goalie.
    Stephens may struggle to get a game and he looks to me like he needs to be a bit more aggressive but he'll be needed as cover for suspensions.

Wish List.....Jamie Murphy at Motherwell
    Rooney or Porter
    Mark Reynolds at Sheffield Wed
    David Clarkson at Bristol
    A proper right back, not Towell or Wotherspoon converted midfielders

Keep the kids and put a fair few that have had their turn out on loan.

x 2 right backs - Hart is slow and useless

x 1 left back cover for Booth

x 1 or 2 creative midfielders - need some supply to our forwards.

x 2 forwards - Sodje and GOC will do fine but injuries / suspensions etc will happen - speed needed up top.

I would probably bring in an up and coming GK and a wide left player also.

Total of 7 or 8 more players for competition for places.

Won't happen though

I am greedy and want the following

Caldwell
    Stewart
    Rooney
    Towell

and wait for it

a n other striker

in the shape of

marlon Harewood.

Would that do.

O we have we not forgotten the loanees....Airey/Cairney etc or are they not happening???

A boy can dream can he not.

Left by mutual consent! Ed De Gramo's Avatar

PSN ID: Gramo
    How about people wipe the slate clean and let De Graaf show what he can do under a better manager?

When played just behind the striker he showed he has something (at Ibrox behind Trakys and also against Motherwell before he went off injured).

Quote Originally Posted by Gramo View Post
    How about people wipe the slate clean and let De Graaf show what he can do under a better manager?

When played just behind the striker he showed he has something (at Ibrox behind Trakys and also against Motherwell before he went off injured).
    Hopefully that will happen Gramo. If CC does decide he is worth playing for us again then a bit of positive backing from the stands will be essential.

I actually agree about De Graaf, give him some backing early doors and we might have the player that we all thought we might have got

Agree, but the minds are made up. First mistake and that'll be it.