Hibs games that you arrived at very very late due to travel hiccups/being bevvied etc

Scottish Cup 4th round tie against Rangers - Saturday 24 February 1973

With a few mates I decided to jump on a "direct" train at Waverley to Glasgow. Everything appeared to be going fine until the train slowed down and came to a halt at Motherwell. Considering we thought we were going to Glasgow and didn't know that some trains went via Motherwell we thought that the train driver had gone the wrong way. Anyway to cut a long story short we finally arrived at Ibrox just in time for the second half. The game finished 1-1

The replay was played at Easter Road on Wednesday 28 February 1973.

Wasn't late for the replay but I may as well have been as I was still in a queue waiting to get into the ground when it was announced that Easter Road was full. I hadn't experienced that before despite being to many "big" games ar ER involving Hearts, Rangers, Celtic, Leeds, Liverpool etc etc. The crowd that evening was just over 49,000 and we lost the replay by 2 goals to 1.

So for all the wrong reasons that fourth round meeting with Rangers is stuck firmly in my memory to this date.

Anyway my question is have you arrived extremely late for a match involving Hibs and what were the circumstances. Did you board the wrong train or were you inebriated. Perhaps even both.

Fill your boots.

2007 semi reply v Dunfermline

Got there ten minutes before half time due to the fact mates brother put diesel in petrol car or vice versa and car stopped about a mile after. Had to get picked up and go back and get another car to start from Edinburgh again. Thought at the time it was a bad sign .

I know my Dad got into the 7-0 late. Already 2 up at that point. He thinks he got in cos they all left.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Ayr United away this season. I met my mate in town at 5.15 and we headed off. Mate had just passed his driving test and got a new car and was struggling to get it above 50 mph then we ran into horrendous traffic at Kirk o Shotts and left the M8 to go via Motherwell and the back roads.
    Turned out that the back roads were slow and twisty which held us up even more and we were just spproaching Killie when we went one down. We arrived at Somerset park at about 8.20 and had to bang on the doors of the home end, give a steward and 'unofficial' payment and were walked through the home stand behind the goals to the trackside along past the dugouts (I shook CC's hand) and into the away end getting there just before half time.
    It was probably a blessing with hindsight!

Wii Code: 666
    No late stories but turned up at Easter Road a day early for an evening weekday game a few years back.

Beginning of last season me and my flatmate decided to go to the home game against Rangers, it was a Sunday so an early kick off. After he took an age getting ready and after we got a train from Glasgow Queen St to Waverly via everywhere in between we rocked up at Easter Road about 25/30 minutes after kick off. We wandered round to the ticket office but were told we weren't allowed inside the ground because we'd arrived too late. Decided to spend our ticket money in the 4 in hand on Stella instead and didn't have to watch the huns cuff us.

Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    No late stories but turned up at Easter Road a day early for an evening weekday game a few years back.
    At what point did you actually twig?!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Not turning up late for the game but..game against Aberdeen at end of the season we were all down getting something to eat at HT, went up and took our seats as Hibs were kicking off. Took us about 15 mins to realise they had scored and it was 1-1.

We even thought it was just a mistake so were checking the score on our phones.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    20 minutes late getting in to the 1991 League Cup Final along with thousands of others because of the farce that was Hampden turnstile arrangements.

At least best of the action happened in the second half

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    When one of the occupants of the flats behind the East Stand shouted "Oih hen have you no got a home to go to and dae ya ken it's midnight"

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Driving up Easter Road and realising it was eerily quiet!!

Gamertag: Euan88
    Away to Kilmarnock on the first day a few seasons ago.

Got the train from Waverley to Glasgow only to find that all connecting trains were cancelled due to rail works, while for buses the motorway was reduced to one lane due to roadworks.

Eventually got there at HT and presumed the taxi driver would take me to the away end. Having only been to Rugby Park once since the day we got relegated I thought the stand looked familiar enough and whisked through the turnstiles only to realise that I was surrounded by lads kitted in blue and white. I quickly asked a steward if I could go round to the Hibs end but they said I'd have to get escorted pitch-side and this was an added embarassment I didn't fancy. Anyway I took my seat amongst the Killie fans and my 'celebration' when Hamill netted their winner was oscar-winning.

Dnipro away after drinking something dodgy in the town square I pretty much passed out on the bus.

Mates got me into the game but missed it all and woke up just as the players were coming over to the fans at the end of the game.

Randomly Fred Flintstone was wandering about behind the goals that added to my confusion.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Dnipro away after drinking something dodgy in the town square I pretty much passed out on the bus.

Mates got me into the game but missed it all and woke up just as the players were coming over to the fans at the end of the game.

Randomly Fred Flintstone was wandering about behind the goals that added to my confusion.

European tie at ER can't remember the opposition but there was a huge queue outside. Game kicked off on time due to TV and I remember saying to someone in the queue that Hibs would score before we got in and Dave Beaumont duly obliged. Think it finished 2 - 2 due to a dodgy penalty.

I arrived at the '91 League Cup semi against Rangers, asked a guy what the score was (it was 0-0), and a minute later Keith, Keith, Keith scored that header.

Cup game at Ibrox in, I think, 1984. Driver turned off the M8 far too early and started heading for Firhill, thinking that was where we were going. Had to drive around quite a few side streets and ended up going through the Clyde tunnel.

By the time we got to the ground, we realised we were driving up Copeland Road with loads of the natives still heading for the home end. Eventually got to Broomloan End relatively unscathed 30 mins or so into the game, and found out we were already ahead 1-0 (I think).

Travelled on the Independent East Coast bus a fair few times. Need say no more.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Like a few others I was late for the 1991 League Cup semi. I got to the top of the terrace just as Keith Keith Keith scores. One of the most mental celebrations ever, total beldlam.

Another story was the 1984 League Cup semi 2nd leg. My first ever visit to Ibrox and I was blown away. Got in just in time for kick off but the stand was empty. I thought we must have sold hardly any tickets but it turned out there were huge traffic jams on the M8. By half time the entire stand was bursting at the seems and bouncing. Great goal from Davie Cooper wasn't enough to turn around the 2 goal lead. Brilliant night!

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    Travelled on the Independent East Coast bus a fair few times. Need say no more.
    Every week I was on that. Strippers on the buses up to Aberdeen and a stop at the police station on the way back from whichever town.

Good times.

PSN ID: johnhunts99
    Year before we won the cup (2005/6?)- Motherwell at home. Had a game that afternoon (2 k.o.), but had to go to my mates on Easter Road after, walked past the ground and a couple of guys were coming out so i shuffled past them back up the steps to the old East with 5 mins to go to see Deeks score a stoppage time winner.

St Johnstone Semi at the Gorgie toilet in 07. Arrive a couple of hours early straight from work in Glasgow and decided unwisely to have vodka for tea!!

On my lonesome I dallied too long and missed Fletchers early goal. I suffered the remaining 70 minutes and then Jason Scotland scored. I was stood near the Perth fans and recognised a few faces. It was hard to take. We couldn't manage an 'equalizer' so I scotted off at the final whistle. In fact I got to the gate so early the steward had to open the door for me.

I then remembered that Pitlochry had kindly offered me a lift but when I looked round no-one other than me had left the stadium. In my drunken stupor I realised that I must have miscounted the score but the stewards wouldnae let me back in, which might have been more to do with my state of inebriation than any 'rules'

All was not in vain however as I have now been sober for a little over four years

In the late 70s early 80s.

Bus broke down at the pub as luck would have it and we arrived at ibrox at half time, think it was the Pentland HSC Bus. Ayway the copland rd stand had been demolished and we stood amoungst the huns. By that time I was so pished that I shouted on the Hibs with full gusto ignoring all the knuckle draggers around us. Funny thing was I didnt get battered. Probably coz the huns were 2 - 0 up by then.

Broke down at the Forth Rd bridge on the way to Tannadice. I think it was first day of the season. Had to go back to Edinburgh so for some reason me & my mate decided to go to what was to later become the PBS. It was some consolation to watch the sheep thump the Yams 4 - 0 that day.

Not so clever was my mate having to point out to me that my Hibs scarf which was wound round my waist under my jumper had unravelled and was hanging down my leg. Not so good when you are surrounded by unhappy Yams.

Happy days

SC game at ER v the Pars .. would have been late 70's .. got in 25 mins late. Pars were 1 up after my dad's car's radiator blew at Crammond. Finished 1-1 and we did them 1-2 in the replay!

Was also late (HT - due to work) for a classic 0-0 (it was the Lexo years) SC tie at Central Perk, Cowdengelly - again we won the replay!

Think there's a moral in there somewhere ..

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Scottish Cup 4th round tie against Rangers - Saturday 24 February 1973

With a few mates I decided to jump on a "direct" train at Waverley to Glasgow. Everything appeared to be going fine until the train slowed down and came to a halt at Motherwell. Considering we thought we were going to Glasgow and didn't know that some trains went via Motherwell we thought that the train driver had gone the wrong way. Anyway to cut a long story short we finally arrived at Ibrox just in time for the second half. The game finished 1-1

The replay was played at Easter Road on Wednesday 28 February 1973.

Wasn't late for the replay but I may as well have been as I was still in a queue waiting to get into the ground when it was announced that Easter Road was full. I hadn't experienced that before despite being to many "big" games ar ER involving Hearts, Rangers, Celtic, Leeds, Liverpool etc etc. The crowd that evening was just over 49,000 and we lost the replay by 2 goals to 1.

So for all the wrong reasons that fourth round meeting with Rangers is stuck firmly in my memory to this date.

Anyway my question is have you arrived extremely late for a match involving Hibs and what were the circumstances. Did you board the wrong train or were you inebriated. Perhaps even both.

Fill your boots.
    I was on that train as well mate. Just a lad but remember it quite vividly. I am sure a few light bulbs were damaged.

I got into the replay though.

Another time going to Ibrox with my big brother and his mate in his car which broke down in some place in Glasgow.

Got to Ibrox late in the second half to see Tommy McLean score the winner for them right at the death.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post
    European tie at ER can't remember the opposition but there was a huge queue outside. Game kicked off on time due to TV and I remember saying to someone in the queue that Hibs would score before we got in and Dave Beaumont duly obliged. Think it finished 2 - 2 due to a dodgy penalty.
    That was the Anderlecht game, I mind waiting in the queue outside as well. Heard the noise coming from inside and nobody was sure who had scored, I figured it must be Hibs given how much noise there was. Couldn't believe it when we found out it was Beaumont

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Every week I was on that. Strippers on the buses up to Aberdeen and a stop at the police station on the way back from whichever town.

Good times.
    Hanging out the bus door at 70mph to empty the pish container was a life-skill learnt.

Defending the 4 hun guests in a Celtic boozer in deepest darkest Lanarkshire was memorable.

Going for 50 fish suppers in Ibrox after playing St. Mirren fair put the hair on your chest too.

When I travelled wi' the St Giles branch in the early/mid 60's (no, it wasn't by horse and cart) we went thru a whole season without seeing one kick off at any away ground. The reason being we always stopped on the way to games for a wee (ahem) refreshment and obviously stayed just a tad too long.
    The latest we got to a game was one afternoon at Pittodrie when we arrived at 4.10 for a 3.00 kick off! Admittedly on that occasion the bus had broken down in Stonehaven and another bus had to be sent to take us the rest of the way. When we finally got there we all rushed to the turnstyles and paid our money only to see the gates being opened as we ran up the steps to the terracing.
    Happy days tho!

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp View Post
    When I travelled wi' the St Giles branch in the early/mid 60's (no, it wasn't by horse and cart) we went thru a whole season without seeing one kick off at any away ground. The reason being we always stopped on the way to games for a wee (ahem) refreshment and obviously stayed just a tad too long.
    The latest we got to a game was one afternoon at Pittodrie when we arrived at 4.10 for a 3.00 kick off! Admittedly on that occasion the bus had broken down in Stonehaven and another bus had to be sent to take us the rest of the way. When we finally got there we all rushed to the turnstyles and paid our money only to see the gates being opened as we ran up the steps to the terracing.
    Happy days tho!
    most likely you were singing.......

"Only you can make this change in me
    for it's true, you are my destiny
    When you hold my hand
    I understand the magic that you do

You're my dream come true
    my one and only you

One and only you"

Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post
    In the late 70s early 80s.

Bus broke down at the pub as luck would have it and we arrived at ibrox at half time, think it was the Pentland HSC Bus. Ayway the copland rd stand had been demolished and we stood amoungst the huns. By that time I was so pished that I shouted on the Hibs with full gusto ignoring all the knuckle draggers around us. Funny thing was I didnt get battered. Probably coz the huns were 2 - 0 up by then.
    Remember that game very well Bovril! It was at a pub at Harthill and it was indeed Pentland. About 5 of us went into that end (scarves and all). Not many Hibbies can claim the same. I can remember the bear coming down the stairs giving it "ya dirty fenian ........!" as we ran past him up into the ground. I also remember Ally McLeod hitting the post in front of us and yes we did give it "full gusto" with their lot looking at us like we were mental. However I have to admit I have never sobered up so quick as the game drew to a close and the scarves were well hidden as we made our way out. Still, what a memory lol!

Another Ibrox memory from those days was sitting in the bus having left early with Rangers leading 1 nil. The Hibees equalised at the death and the lads on the bus went mental. A Rangers fan stopped to ask the driver if Rangers had scored again and without thinking said no, Hibs just scored! It was a very chilly run back to Embra. Both games not funny at the time but looking back now? Bloody brilliant!