Old Firm Fringe Players On Loan

Which of the current Old Firm Fringe players would you take on loan at Easter Rd.

Celtic especially must be lookng to off load or at least get some of their guys a run somewhere.

Paddy McCourt - Get him on the opposite wing from Ivan. Pace on one wing and trickery and fantastic dribbling skill on the other one. Don't know if Celtic will let him out on loan but they have Commons, Maloney, Forrest and McGinn in their squad as well. Think he would be a revelation at Easter Road

Steven O'Donnell - out on loan last season and did well

David Healy - Proven Goalscorer

Kirk Broadfoot - Right Back or Centre Half - cannae believe i'm quoting him as used to never rate him... however with what we have these days !!

Josh Thomson (spelling?) from celtic. Centre Back. Looked good when he played a couple of games at the tail end of last season

Quote Originally Posted by NorthfieldHibee View Post
    Josh Thomson (spelling?) from celtic. Centre Back. Looked good when he played a couple of games at the tail end of last season
    Really? I thought he looked shocking the few games he played. Sure he got punted to some League 1 side.

Gamertag: magseven7
    Quote Originally Posted by stuart7-0 View Post
    Which of the current Old Firm Fringe players would you take on loan at Easter Rd.

Celtic especially must be lookng to off load or at least get some of their guys a run somewhere.

Paddy McCourt - Get him on the opposite wing from Ivan. Pace on one wing and trickery and fantastic dribbling skill on the other one. Don't know if Celtic will let him out on loan but they have Commons, Maloney, Forrest and McGinn in their squad as well. Think he would be a revelation at Easter Road

Steven O'Donnell - out on loan last season and did well

David Healy - Proven Goalscorer

Kirk Broadfoot - Right Back or Centre Half - cannae believe i'm quoting him as used to never rate him... however with what we have these days !!

Take him in a flash. IIRC Mowbray tried to sign him for us when he was manager.

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Cannot see Celtic wanting to let McCourt out on loan. IIRC he was on a three year deal which ends this season - I don't know if he signed an extension or not.

Wouldnt take any of them, the thought that we would train/develop and give experience to a player who then helps boost the OF coffers or playing pool sickens me.

Thumbs Up

Quote Originally Posted by horseflesh View Post
    Wouldnt take any of them, the thought that we would train/develop and give experience to a player who then helps boost the OF coffers or playing pool sickens me.
    Aye yer right!

Quote Originally Posted by horseflesh View Post
    We had Towell this season

Darren O'Dea?

I'd rather not have any, if we cannae get Towell on a permanent deal I'd rather we looked elsewhere. I'd rather we dindae provide opportunities for OF players tae improve themselves.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hfc-1875 View Post
    Darren O'Dea?
    Does he not play down south now, Ipswich is it?

Quote Originally Posted by Dunbar Hibee View Post
    i think your right actually. not sure if hes signed or not though

I would like to see us use the loan system this year although I would prefer us to look down south.

Motherwell have used it to good effect in recent years.

Calderwood should have connections at Newcastle and perhaps tottenham (although it's a long time since he's been there).

Hopefully he will appoint an assistant with good contacts.

Pallson is a good example of the kind of player could attract. Ideally, we would get a striker with a good academy background from a decent team.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunbar Hibee View Post

Is he not there on loan though?
    I'd take O'Dea and would also bring back Towell. Is Rasmussen still on their books? If so I'd go for him as well. As for Rangers, I think Healy is out of contract but would take him either way and depending on who they bring in Ness or Wylde could be available.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    Cannot see Celtic wanting to let McCourt out on loan. IIRC he was on a three year deal which ends this season - I don't know if he signed an extension or not.
    He has scored some crucial goals for Celtic this season, I seriously doubt they would let him go on loan to another SPL club....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

I think Towell was an emergency signing which is fair enough.

Otherwise, as others have said why would we want to take a raw player from them, turn them into a SPL player without the benefit of a multi million pound transfer like Scott Brown.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    I think Towell was an emergency signing which is fair enough.

Otherwise, as others have said why would we want to take a raw player from them, turn them into a SPL player without the benefit of a multi million pound transfer like Scott Brown.
    I can see Towell returning, don't think he is part of Celtic's plans
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

First Team Regular leithsansiro's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    I can see Towell returning, don't think he is part of Celtic's plans
    I'd like to think so, he's been good. I'd like to see him here permanently, but I'm not sure it will happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    I'd rather not have any, if we cannae get Towell on a permanent deal I'd rather we looked elsewhere. I'd rather we dindae provide opportunities for OF players tae improve themselves.

Hear Hear

The OF tend to loan players to clubs they don't see as a threat, the only reason we got Towell was due to our league position at the time.

With the clear out we've just had and a decent budget to strengthen in the summer I can't see either side gifting us a player or two (that is part of their long term plans) for the season, we'll need to pay for them ourselves.