@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Budgie "John" Burridge

Sorry if it's already been posted, but Sunday's Independent had a full-page article on "John" and his upcoming autobiography.

Sample here:

His least favourite manager was no contest; largely through his own doing. In an era when goalkeepers received less protection than today, Burridge would employ specially sharpened studs to stand on the foot of anyone who came too close. Ossie Ardiles became an infuriated victim at Southampton, receiving a mouthful about the Falklands War at the same time, and never forgave him. Introduced as the new manager of Newcastle United in 1991, he ignored Burridge's outstretched hand and simply told the club secretary to pay up his contract.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Sorry if it's already been posted, but Sunday's Independent had a full-page article on "John" and his upcoming autobiography.

Sample here:

His least favourite manager was no contest; largely through his own doing. In an era when goalkeepers received less protection than today, Burridge would employ specially sharpened studs to stand on the foot of anyone who came too close. Ossie Ardiles became an infuriated victim at Southampton, receiving a mouthful about the Falklands War at the same time, and never forgave him. Introduced as the new manager of Newcastle United in 1991, he ignored Burridge's outstretched hand and simply told the club secretary to pay up his contract.
    Will be a great read! Loved the story going about that budgie used to get his wife to throw an orange at him randomly to help his reflexes. remember his lap of honours even when we got beat haha crazy man

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post

Sample here:

"He became player-manager at non-league Blyth Spartans - only to later be convicted for dealing in counterfeit leisurewear. The prosecution case was significantly strengthened by the fact that there was video evidence of half the team wearing Burridge's sportswear before an FA Cup match."

http://www.emporiumbooks.com.au/book...hn-burridge.do

Quote Originally Posted by RMG_82 View Post
    Will be a great read! Loved the story going about that budgie used to get his wife to throw an orange at him randomly to help his reflexes. remember his lap of honours even when we got beat haha crazy man
    Matched only by his pre-match warm-ups!

[QUOTE=SubiacoHibs;2768363]"He became player-manager at non-league Blyth Spartans - only to later be convicted for dealing in counterfeit leisurewear. The prosecution case was significantly strengthened by the fact that there was video evidence of half the team wearing Burridge's sportswear before an FA Cup match."

I can remember he was selling his gear at the Cairn Hotel in Windsor St, selling me fakes Budgie eh. Very dodgy keeper.

Legend.

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    The book is out on Monday, and written by a very good Hibby and friend of mine

His comments to Mark Hateley and Ally McCoist before the skol cup semi final were classic!

Quote Originally Posted by MB62 View Post
    The book is out on Monday, and written by a very good Hibby and friend of mine
    Aye, it would make a great birthday present for someone!!

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    I wrote to the club asking to invite him to do the half time draw, or go in goals for the ten sec challenge. They are lookin into it.

Budgie- a true legend.

@hibs.net private member tanfield's Avatar
    Received the book a couple of days and looking forward to reading it. Already skimmed a part of his Hibs days and clear he and Mogadon didn't get on (might be an understatement though!)

Budgie - 100% pure legend!

Rose tinted specs on today? He was an embarrassment and a fekkin clown. Remember the goal against the ****bos that bounced off his shoulder?

Pretty much the start of the long line of calamity keepers. A total loser.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbingtonHibs View Post
    Rose tinted specs on today? He was an embarrassment and a fekkin clown. Remember the goal against the ****bos that bounced off his shoulder?

What's up? Life not treating you well? What a strangely spiteful post that is.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70

Total loser??? Aye we have loads of players in the last 20 years that have winners medals right enough.

Genuinely shocked by that post. Words fail me.

Oh dear...

Flange.

I prefer to remember his immense performance against the Huns in the semi on his way to helping us win the cup, not to mention the positive efect on many fans and players during what many of us remember as a tough time for the club. We have had a few dodgy keepers but Budgie wasn't one of them. Not sure what the criteria for loser is, but I don't regard him as being one for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    His comments to Mark Hateley and Ally McCoist before the skol cup semi final were classic!
    Was that him screaming at them to come into the box so he could break their backs? Haha brilliant.

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    Genuinely shocked by that post. Words fail me.
    You are a bitter backward duf!

Quote Originally Posted by fatbloke View Post
    You are a bitter backward duf!
    Eh?

Eh?
    A fud.

A fud.
    I got that. Who are you calling a fud?

Oops see my mistake now. That Hibbington Hibs chap obviously a total erse.

Defo

Thought that's what you meant.

Bloody hell. (no pun intended, u on your period!!!!)

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Aye, it would make a great birthday present for someone!!
    I wonder if there's anybody's birthday coming along soon that might appreciate this book ?

First Team Breakthrough weststandhibby's Avatar
    Got the book from Amazon on Monday and finished reading it last night. Great insight into a larger than life bloke. Some of the things he got up to are well worth reading about!
    Comes across as a geniune guy who loved football but realised he had to make as much out of it as he could due to short career span of a footballer.
    Genuine love of Hibs comes through as well

Interesting to see who proof read the book first though - it says his date of birth is 1961 (should be 1951) !!

go out and buy it!!