PSN ID: pesus-ab

McBride to Raith

Kevin McBride has made the switch to Raith Rovers and is relishing going from "zero to hero".

At one point he was a standout player for us, thoughts on him going?

For the record i thought he was decent but thats about it...very good at sideyways and backpassing but nothing going forward. Although he did seem to be happy to put in a shift for the shirt !

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post
    Kevin McBride has made the switch to Raith Rovers and is relishing going from "zero to hero".

At one point he was a standout player for us, thoughts on him going?

For the record i thought he was decent but thats about it...very good at sideyways and backpassing but nothing going forward. Although he did seem to be happy to put in a shift for the shirt !
    Where you getting this from ?

Quote Originally Posted by Dunbar Hibee View Post
    Where you getting this from ?
    Evening news!

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/hi...ibs.6739658.jp

Would seem he is away after all.

That seems to have been done very discreetly.

Good luck to him.

He'd been told some time ago that he would not feature in CC's plans.

So sensible for him to move on now when he can get some playing time before the end of the season when he will be looking for a new contract.

The first of many departures over the next few months.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    I'm a bit confused. How can he sign for Raith Rovers outwith the transfer window? Fair enough a pre-contract, but he's going to be playing straight away

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    I'm a bit confused. How can he sign for Raith Rovers outwith the transfer window? Fair enough a pre-contract, but he's going to be playing straight away
    I think lower league teams (i.e. non-SPL) can sign players on short term deals outwith the transfer window. Don't quote me on that though.

If u dont hav a contract with anyone you can...terminate contract mutual agreement?

Think the way they can do it is by Hibs releasing him from his contract immediately which makes him a free agent and then Raith can then sign him .

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    I think lower league teams (i.e. non-SPL) can sign players on short term deals outwith the transfer window. Don't quote me on that though.
    This from the BBC website:

The transfer window is now closed for permanent signings for the remainder of the season.

Premier League and Scottish Premier League clubs cannot sign any players, on loan or full transfers, until the transfer window ahead of the 2011/12 season opens on 1 July.

Clubs in the Football League can sign players on loan outside of the transfer window following a seven-day period after the transfer window closed on 31 January until 1700 GMT on Thursday, 24 March.
    I expect that the last paragraph also applies to SFL clubs. Note the final date for dealings in those leagues is today. Hence the news of McBride's departure.

Good luck KMcB. Was excellent for us the early part of last season when he was sitting in front of the back four. Seemed to lose his way a bit with injuries and suffered in the general slump in the team's form.

Taking to Motherwell and Falkirk supporting friends, we all seem to agree that KMcB is a strange and enigmatic football phenomenon; either very, very good, or completely non-existent.

Whatever, I wish him well at Raith.

I really liked him. In his first season he was excellent. His sending of this season against the huns seemed to finish him as a player at ER.

Good luck to him pity he couldn't take Thicot, Stevenson and Smith with him !

Good luck KmcB

I always thought he was one of our better, average players - could have been useful as a reserve.

All the best.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by York Hibees View Post
    Stevenson? He's played well since CC came in.

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    Might see him back at ER next season.

Good luck to him.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    Is there any need to use this thread to have a dig at current players?

McBride was very good when he first arrived at the club and when he was out of the team for any reason Liam Miller was only half as effective as when McBride was playing. Not sure what went wrong in the latter part of his time with us but I wish him well.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Milky View Post
    , very harsh.

Quote Originally Posted by Milky View Post
    I agree...I think he will prob get offered a 1yr contract??

Bit harsh saying Lewis

Id give him another years contract.

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    Was impressed with Lewis against Bohemians.

Another one who never showed a lack of effort but is probably not good enough for where we want to be.

Best of luck to him, he will do a job in the 1st Division and i wouldn't bet against him ending up back in the SPL next season either with Raith or another side.

Another one who never showed a lack of effort but is probably not good enough for where we want to be.

Best of luck to him, he will do a job in the 1st Division and i wouldn't bet against him ending up back in the SPL next season either with Raith or another side.

I would have McBride at above SFL level, but other than the first few months in the team, he wasn't playing to top 6 SPL level either.

Really liked him as a player, to be honest, and he certainly wasn't a shirker.

Good luck with Raith, Kevin.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Sad to see him go, he was our player of the season last year until he got injured and never really returned to that form after he came back.

Still, that's #17 free for Ivan's return.

All of this.

Good luck to him. I wish him nothing but good.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    For me, McBride epitomises our season last year. In the first half, he was little short of outstanding, and you are left thinking, why is this boy with us and why is he not playing at a higher level? And then the peformance drops and then drops further. And especially for McBride because when he was winning the ball for Liam Miller, they were the heart beat of the team. But when he wasnae' then Miller wasnae' and the team wasnae either.
    Wish him all the best though.

McBride IMO is a cracking wee player that was at the wrong place at the wrong time last year. I think he'll come back stronger and better in a year or 2. Whether that is with us or with another club.

Great piece of business by john mcglynn Mcbride is a cracking player.... will settle Raiths players with his tidy play fancy them to win the title now

Good Luck Kevin

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    Glad he's off the wage bill....never really thought much of him but I'm never too keen on that type of player.

Nevertheless good luck Kevin I'm sure you will cruise the SFL.

I liked him alot, thanks Kevin. Good Luck in the future.

When we got off to a season flyer 2009 and looked like we were going for second .... we got stuffed wi gers 4-1 on the 27th Dec.... Kev then got injured for a couple o months then we started the deep, long decline.

I do think he was that important at that time, but that time off hibs then lost there way.