Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Deeks

Deeks

Taken of at half time today, does anyone know if he was injured?

He never travelled back by the team bus as he was the passenger in a black Range Rover which under took us and several other cars on the way back down the road. Apart from dangerous driving, is it the norm for players not to travel back by the team bus?

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post

He never travelled back by the team bus as he was the passenger in a black Range Rover which under took us and several other cars on the way back down the road. Apart from dangerous driving, is it the norm for players not to travel back by the team bus?
    Would think that as he doesn't live in Edinburgh, it is fair to assume that he was ok to make his own way home. I don't think that's unusual to be honest, players will often do that if it's easier to go straight home rather than getting the bus to Easter Road, only to have a long drive back home afterwards.

Gamertag: toomanydjs
    He had about 2 touches first half, was rotten. He seems to stand really far away from Sodje, and given that nearly every ball is aimed up at him, you think he would stay close by to win the flick ons etc.

Quote Originally Posted by too_many_djs View Post
    He had about 2 touches first half, was rotten. He seems to stand really far away from Sodje, and given that nearly every ball is aimed up at him, you think he would stay close by to win the flick ons etc.
    Agree with this, he was very ineffective today

I have a feeling we are seeing the end of Deek as a Hibs player.

@hibs.net private member Dirkster23's Avatar
    there's no point playing long balls up to Sodje to flick on if Deeks is 30 yards away from him. The distance between the pair of them is ridiculous at times

Quote Originally Posted by Dirkster23 View Post
    there's no point playing long balls up to Sodje to flick on if Deeks is 30 yards away from him. The distance between the pair of them is ridiculous at times
    Yep, he needs to get himself around him. Deeks was poor today but wasn't alone. Still convinced Murray is finished!

He was rotten today. Not many played well though and Murray is definitely finished

I have a feeling we are seeing the end of Deek as a Hibs player.
    Why? Cos he got subbed at half-time cos he was pish?

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07

why was everybody sitting in the outside lane then ? when people insist on doing that it does my nut in
    other than that it is a wee bit strange

Quote Originally Posted by Meeko View Post
    Why? Cos he got subbed at half-time cos he was pish?
    Just a gut feeling, thats all. I think Calderwood wants someone who will contribute more than goals. I might be wrong, but just a feeling i have.

Quote Originally Posted by 7Hero View Post
    He was rotten today. Not many played well though and Murray is definitely finished
    Murray had a nightmare today, looked so uncomfortable at the back, and put us under pressure on quite a few occasions with poor decisions. Got zero pace which doesnt help things.

Thought Thornhill was rubbish as well, looks very lightweight compared to the likes of Scott and was quite slow. Think he needs to come off the bench until hes up to speed with things.

@hibs.net private member Dirkster23's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Yep, he needs to get himself around him. Deeks was poor today but wasn't alone. Still convinced Murray is finished!
    Yeah, i'd only give pass marks to Hanlon and Dickoh today. Can't make my mind up with Murray, had a couple of really goods games before his suspension but was terrible today.

Lat season, I felt our strikers never really looked like a proper partnership.

It may be that CC would prefer players up front who know how to play off one another, which could mean Deeks exit is getting nearer.

Forgot about Thornhill! The new Brian Kerr!

Just a gut feeling, thats all. I think Calderwood wants someone who will contribute more than goals. I might be wrong, but just a feeling i have.

I think your right . Really hope he stays but think if a deal was going to be done it would have been done by now.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Murray had a nightmare today, looked so uncomfortable at the back, and put us under pressure on quite a few occasions with poor decisions. Got zero pace which doesnt help things.

Thought Thornhill was rubbish as well, looks very lightweight compared to the likes of Scott and was quite slow. Think he needs to come off the bench until hes up to speed with things.
    Maybe I'm misinterpreting but IMO Murray didn't play at the back.

As regards Deek I don't like the way its heading.

I would love to see him stay but as each week goes by it seems to me more and more unlikely.

I would love to be wrong on this one.

I don't think Thornhill is fit - looks heavy to me. I think this may be IM's last season. Agree with Blackpool, Deeks will leave IMHO.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post

I would love to see him stay but as each week goes by it seems to me more and more unlikely.

Later in the 2nd half he moved to the back and Booth/Stevenson played in front of him.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post

Nah I know, but a few times he was in our box defending and he was all over the place, he got the ball and despite everyone screaming that he had time he either hoofed it straight out of play or right to one of the St. Johnstone players.

As someone mentioned, he moved to LB later on and looked shakey then, got spun very easily at one point allowing their player to fly down the wing unchallenged.

I sicerely hope Thornhill isnt fit (if so why is he starting?) as his 1st half display was woeful. Get some extra training done son, was slightly better after interval but 1st 45 was gash

Quote Originally Posted by trev the hat View Post
    I sicerely hope Thornhill isnt fit (if so why is he starting?) as his 1st half display was woeful. Get some extra training done son, was slightly better after interval but 1st 45 was gash
    But so was the rest of the team in the 1st half.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Quiet_Man View Post
    I don't think Thornhill is fit - looks heavy to me. I think this may be IM's last season. Agree with Blackpool, Deeks will leave IMHO.
    Based on his previous performances I don't think he is either (didn't see today) but there is a decent player in there I think. Am I correct in thinking he hadn't really been playing many games this season before coming here? Not everyone can hit the ground running, maybe just needs a bit more time to get used to this league than the other new players do.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar

What make of car were you in. Was it a Merc.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Nah I know, but a few times he was in our box defending and he was all over the place, he got the ball and despite everyone screaming that he had time he either hoofed it straight out of play or right to one of the St. Johnstone players.

As someone mentioned, he moved to LB later on and looked shakey then, got spun very easily at one point allowing their player to fly down the wing unchallenged.
    Fair points.

I think with Ian Murray he plays well when he is a regular first pick.

The suspension kicked in at a time he was playing well.

Problem being he is likely to be like that for a while due to our sporadic appearances over the coming weeks.

Back to square one really.

I thought Thornhill initially played left mid, and then when things were getting physical Nid and Thornhill swapped positions so that Callum had a little more defensive cover from midfield. DW played a wee bit too wide and high, however in saying that all Saints play first half came down Boothy's flank and Towell and DW were left in acres of space but the ball not getting to them.

McInnes got it tactically spot on today. Their centre midfield pairing was huge, they won all the headers and second balls, and played with greater width.

Derek was anonymous today. I get the feeling with him sometimes that he looks at the pitch and surface and his head drops when things go away from him. Just didn't look at the races today. Midfield gave him and Sodje nothing to work on first half though.

Credit to Saints today though. They battled hard and won a hell of a lot of tackles, headers and loose balls. We looked very jaded and tired out there.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Forgot about Thornhill! The new Brian Kerr!
    Give the boy a chance.

Quote Originally Posted by Mainboy View Post
    Give the boy a chance.

I know we need a scapegoat at the moment but let's not get the hate campaign in full swing for a few weeks yet.

How many games has the boy played? 3/4?

Cannae believe some of the shxte I'm reading about Deeks. on this forum.

Honestly, do me a favour - we are lucky to have him and for all you who think he will be able to be replaced better think again.

Deeks sign for life - you know it makes sense.

Quote Originally Posted by Davy Mac View Post
    Cannae believe some of the shxte I'm reading about Deeks. on this forum.

Honestly, do me a favour - we are lucky to have him and for all you who think he will be able to be replaced better think again.

Deeks sign for life - you know it makes sense.
    He was replaced pretty effectively at half time.