McCoist overhead kick goal on BBC archive

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9398684.stm

Not seen that since I was at the game... never got over that. Baam.

Big Dave McPherson scored for Hibs that day.

But it will always be remembered by me as the game my wife (who is about 5 foot zero) got gobbed on by a crowd of Rangers fans walking into the ground right in front of a group of police, when I asked if they were going to do anything about it they told me to shut up and get into the game.

always remember donkey mcpherson scoring the o.g, parkhead was a rocking when that went in!

Sometimes you've just got to hold your hands up and say it was a fantastic strike.

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Almost the forgotton Cup Final in my eyes, perhaps as it was played at Parkhead but one that I felt we should've won.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    We were on top in that game before super ersehole grabbed the winner.

I felt gutted after that game as they had an immense team and beating them would have been up there with the best.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    Sometimes you've just got to hold your hands up and say it was a fantastic strike.
    Aye but not when it is your wife.

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07
    Me and the Fishman were on the front page of the Evening News the next day sitting steaming on the Parkhead terrace under the heading "2 dejected Hibs fans".
    Through my drunken haze i recall us being on top after we scored only to lose to a brilliant goal scored by someone who'd been out for 6 months

Quote Originally Posted by Niffy View Post
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9398684.stm

Not seen that since I was at the game... never got over that. Baam.

Big Dave McPherson scored for Hibs that day.

But it will always be remembered by me as the game my wife (who is about 5 foot zero) got gobbed on by a crowd of Rangers fans walking into the ground right in front of a group of police, when I asked if they were going to do anything about it they told me to shut up and get into the game.
    They must have been too busy catching criminals.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    Hibs played brilliant that day and it was going to take a class goal to beat us, i was gutted
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by al bundy View Post
    always remember donkey mcpherson scoring the o.g, parkhead was a rocking when that went in!
    anyone else remember the orange flute band going round the pitch at half time

Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    anyone else remember the orange flute band going round the pitch at half time
    It was a crowd called Macumba - South American pecussion + bagpipes.

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    It was a crowd called Macumba - South American pecussion + bagpipes.
    Well they were getting a lot of stick from where i was standing

When we equalised I thought there was only one winner and that was us. I always remember the wee delay and the roar from their end when he scored......gutted gutted gutted. You knew when you saw him come on though that he was a jammy wee so and so.....

Hibs were superb second half that game, shame they lost it. Cracking Hibs crowd too......I nearly ended up being pushed to Mount Florida when we scored. Great day out bar the result.

Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    Well they were getting a lot of stick from where i was standing
    A lot of people were showing their appreciation at them by showering them with coins.

I'd been at a stag do the night before and was rough as ...

We started the day in some pub in Bonnyrigg (from where our coach was leaving). We then wen't to some pub in Glasgow and, try as I might, it just wasn't working for me. However, a wee strategic spew on the way to the ground squared me up a bit.

Daisys OG was a classic, but one of the turning points for me was Keith Wright being booked for diving when he was clean through on the keeper. The replay from the main stand camera clearly show that he was tripped by the keeper as he took the ball past him.

I seen some highlights of the final over the years and I'm sure the commentator said we were top, or maybe 2nd, at the time in the league?
    We were going well and Hibs winning that cup would have been no real shock, even in the weegie eyes.

All i remember from the game itself was our goal and their winner......

I was steamin tha day.
    Hazy memory says the cabbage played really well that day. Tubby mccoist comes off the bench and hits an overhead kick. Gutted!

Great own goal from disco dave into the hibs end.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    As soon as Hunter cleared the roof with a shot from about 8 yards out I felt we'd blown it. DazzaJazza then missed connecting with a shot across goal by an inch.

I felt it wasn't going to be our day. Then we failed to get tight to Sally McMoist and gave him time to get an overhead kick in. I felt he deserved an overheadkickin myself at the time.

Parkhead was a better atmosphere than Hampden though have to say........Hibs crowd was simply amazing that day even in defeat.

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hillsidehibby View Post
    A lot of people were showing their appreciation at them by showering them with coins.
    I'm sure I recall a portion of the Hibs support on the day took exception to them playing along to the 'Hello Hello' melody?

Good day apart from the result, massive sways at the o.g - that must have one of the last huge supports on a terrace?

Another great memory was Davie Farrell putting Mark 'Elbows' Hately 10 feet in the air in injury time.

Quote Originally Posted by bringbackbenny View Post
    I'm sure I recall a portion of the Hibs support on the day took exception to them playing along to the 'Hello Hello' melody?

Good day apart from the result, massive sways at the o.g - that must have one of the last huge supports on a terrace?

Another great memory was Davie Farrell putting Mark 'Elbows' Hately 10 feet in the air in injury time.
    I am also sure Richard Gough was reminded of his wee indiscretions too........the Gough chant seemed to last the full 90 mins

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    As soon as Hunter cleared the roof with a shot from about 8 yards out I felt we'd blown it. DazzaJazza then missed connecting with a shot across goal by an inch.

I felt it wasn't going to be our day. Then we failed to get tight to Sally McMoist and gave him time to get an overhead kick in. I felt he deserved an overheadkickin myself at the time.
    Jackson was also one on one with their keeper (Carson?) in the second half. That's about as much as I remember of the game due to a big session in the Clyde supporters club in Rutherglen beforehand.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    Jackson was also one on one with their keeper (Carson?) in the second half. That's about as much as I remember of the game due to a big session in the Clyde supporters club in Rutherglen beforehand.

Maxwell was in goals that day, wasn't he?

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post

Maxwell was in goals that day, wasn't he?
    Dunno mate, I was pished in the centre stand and seem to recall spending the game noising up gangster huns in masonic-style overcoats.

I didn't go to the final for some reason. The semi was at Tynie against D.United if I'm correct and Jackson scored a great goal with a left foot shot into the corner.

First Team Breakthrough GraniteCityHibs's Avatar
    The very day I decided to be a Hibee!!

My old man used to be a big Gers man (not so much now after the years of their teams being over-run by foreigners etc) but i never followed them and although he did try to get us to be Dons fans when we were very young, it never really stuck (thank god!) We always follwed Scotland more than clubs at that time!

That final was a day when i sat down at 9 years of age and found myself supporting the other team to my dads for whatever reason.

I was with them all the way that day and when that goal went in i was absolutely gutted!!

From that day on, there was no getting passed it..... I WAS A HIBEE!!!!

Last edited by GraniteCityHibs; 16-02-2011 at 12:32 PM. Reason: spelling

Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    Almost the forgotton Cup Final in my eyes, perhaps as it was played at Parkhead but one that I felt we should've won.
    We had the chances - Geebsie, DJ, Keith

great day and performance but gutted we lost it

We were sitting in the main stand and my funniest memory was turning round and seeing my mother standing up giving the W sign to the Huns. She says she was just copying everyone else and didn't know what it meant

There was a cross fae McAllister that Gary Stevens somehow headered off the line @ 1-1.

@hibs.net private member allmodcons's Avatar
    McCoist missed a decent chance that day just after he came off the bench.

As you can imagine, there was a huge jeer went up from Hibs support.

Typical of detestable hun to then score with an overhead kick.

Personally, I can't stand McCosit. Mr 'cheeky chappie' darling of the Scottish Media but, in reality, just a big headed hun pr**k.