Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    Can remember when we brought in Paul Wright from Dundee. I was absolutely delighted about that. Real shame that we couldn't have held onto Keith Wright at the same time, who'd had a good season for us all things considered.

Went on to do alright for Aberdeen and Kilmarnock.

(I'm gonnae regret this....)

We didn't sign Paul Wright from Dundee.

We signed KEITH Wright from Dundee.

PAUL Wright came to us from QPR. Moved on to St Johnstone, then Killie. he was at Aberdeen before he was at QPR.

Poor lad ended up at Larkhall Thistle, where he played no games and (unsurprisingly) scored no goals, giving himself a 100% scoring record (or possibly a 0% scoring record, depending on how you want to look at it.)

He was also quite ugly.

http://www.killiefc.com/DoYouRemember/PaulWright.htm
    Last edited by --------; 15-02-2011 at 06:25 PM.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Easily done, mate.

Believe it or not, there are quite a few people who get confused between Enoch Showunmi and his close namesake Thomas Sowunmi.

Of course no one with any intelligence would make that mistake once it had been pointed out to them.

Unless they were being deliberately irritating...
    FFS, enoch is enoch!

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    FFS, enoch is enoch!
    And Thomas is Thomas. And he's Hungarian.

Craig James!

... funny, I always thought Thomas's brother was Eduardo as they're both Tanks.

PAUL Wright came to us from QPR. Moved on to St Johnstone, then Killie. he was at Aberdeen before he was at QPR.

Poor lad ended up at Larkhall Thistle, where he played no games and (unsurprisingly) scored no goals, giving himself a 100% scoring record (or possibly a 0% scoring record, depending on how you want to look at it.)

He was also quite ugly.

Jeez, that's a wright eye-opener. I didn't think any of us knew that - including the poster you replied to

Thnaks for putting us all straight on that one.

Can you now nail the mystery of the Showunmi - or is that Sowunmi - brothers? I wish the papers would spell his name right

Maka.

(ahem) .... FFS, enough is enough (enoch is enoch)

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar

He was also quite ugly.

Are you sure about this?

I remember the press conference to announce his signing when he was flanked by then manager Willie Miller and Chairman Dougie Donnelly.
    Last edited by Speedway; 15-02-2011 at 11:13 PM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Are you sure about this?

I remember the press conference to announce his signing when he was flanked by then manager Willie Miller and Chairman Dougie Donnelly.
    And we've not had many better right backs at the club since his son, also Willie, left (to become a gardener, I believe). Only other manager/player combination we had from a single family that I can think of was Jock Stein and his son Colin, but there may be more.

Are you sure about this?

It was exciting times. The following season we signed Chris Jackson and they formed a JAW partnership.

Then the following season John O'Neil and some wee winger indirectly from chelsea nicknamed mars bar arrived that gave us real attacking zonal threat...

It was quite an exciting team built by Willie Miller despite having to shaft his assistant Kevin McCloud.

Quote Originally Posted by smurf View Post
    Then the following season John O'Neil and some wee winger indirectly from chelsea nicknamed mars bar arrived that gave us real attacking zonal threat...
    Ah, the boy Gary McAlister? I thought he was called Wispa though

@hibs.net private member WellingtonHibby's Avatar
    Whatever happened to Jay Shields? He was really wee but completely ferocious! I remember him playing fullback against one of the old firm and absolutely savaging anyone who had the temerity to have the ball in his vicinity. I always felt sorry for him, that his height counted against him.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Ken Allison

Colin Grant

Davy Hogg

Johnny Frye

Willie Murray

Dennis Nelson

Malcolm Bogie
    Also from that era, Morris Stevenson, Johnny Grant ( rw ) Des Fox.

David Fellinger
    Michael Renwick
    Greg Miller

Still think we under used Kevin Nicol too and his career never really took off after he left us...shame was a good prospect when we signed him

Quote Originally Posted by smurf View Post
    It was exciting times. The following season we signed Chris Jackson and they formed a JAW partnership.

It was quite an exciting team built by Willie Miller despite having to shaft his assistant Kevin McCloud.
    Sounds as bad as when our manager Patrick Duffy signed Chic Young to play in the middle of the park, even though he was a bit past it at that stage, and paid 400k for Joan Crawford, then added Paddy Power to the line up, you'd have put money on him to do well too...

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    Sounds as bad as when our manager Patrick Duffy signed Chic Young to play in the middle of the park, even though he was a bit past it at that stage, and paid 400k for Joan Crawford, then added Paddy Power to the line up, you'd have put money on him to do well too...
    You could throw Pauline Tosh in the mix.

First Team Regular sam armstrong's Avatar
    Malcolm is a member of this board!

Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post
    Now there's some names to conjur with
    Everyone of them had the potential as youngsters to be top class players

Allison,Grant and Nelson scored goals but generally flattered to deceive
    John Frye I always felt "suffered " like Jim Souness and John Munro through being at ER at the same time as Gordon Smith - did well for St Mirren.
    Malcolm " have ball will travel" Bogie was the subject of one of the best newspaper lines " .....Bogie's control of the ball at pace was such that on many an occasion if they had opened the Dunbar end gate he would have run right out still with the ball"
    Remember seeing him "weaving his magic" for S & N in the old "Welfare League"

Thanks for that

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brightonhibby View Post
    Whatever happened to Jay Shields? He was really wee but completely ferocious! I remember him playing fullback against one of the old firm and absolutely savaging anyone who had the temerity to have the ball in his vicinity. I always felt sorry for him, that his height counted against him.
    Now at Doncaster Rovers.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Nice to see Enoch Showunmi on the scoresheet for Tranmere last night, real shame that he never set the heather alight during his short spell here.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Ken Allison

Colin Grant

Davy Hogg

Johnny Frye

Willie Murray

Dennis Nelson

Malcolm Bogie
    colin grant - alive and well and living in Ellon. met him a few times through local golf. still speaks fondly of his time at easter road. I remember him scoring winner in East Germany against Lokomotiv Leipzig in the Fairs cup around 1968-ish (at least I think I do !)

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Also from that era, Morris Stevenson, Johnny Grant ( rw ) Des Fox.
    I'd forgotten about Johnny Grant-I remember he destroyed Falkirk at Brockville one New Year-he was smaller than the corner flag.

Fox scored a great goal at Tynie-surprised he didn't do more in the game.

A real disappointment was John Brogan who was a great goal scorer everywhere but us.

Scott Bannerman had to be one of the ****test players we ever had....im he even got a medal when we won the first division. Theres a great clip of him getting his medal and Yogi saying "How did you get one"

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    Nice to see Enoch Showunmi on the scoresheet for Tranmere last night, real shame that he never set the heather alight during his short spell here.
    He showed promise up at Palmerston with that goal against Queen of the South but never really got going after that. Shame.

Am I missing something here?

Enoch Showunmi NEVER played for hibs!

Thomas Sowunmi was the one that played for hibs, scoring in the scottish cup game against QOS!

another player that never made it, Ross Campbell, scored for Forfar on tuesday night1

One that I remember having high hopes for was Pat Carroll who made his debut for us when aged c. 16/17 in the mid 70's.

I recall that just before he joined us he was a stand out in midfield for a Scottish Schoolboys team that beat their English counterparts at Wembley in a match that was televised live on a Saturday afternoon.

All the pundits were raving about his performance (including Jackie Charlton iirc).

Unfortunately when he made his first team debut he appeared to take stage fright, though he we was not helped by a vociferous mob of morons on the home terracing slagging him off, including catcalls that he needed his nappy changed

IMO that destroyed any self confidence he had and he eventually moved on to Raith and then Falkirk.

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    Damon Gray

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    Roland Edge....

Just kidding

Now at Doncaster Rovers.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jay_Shields

This says otherwise?