Take a bow, Vic...

Did this laddie Palsson break sweat today?

Absolutely strolled the game, playing in two separate positions, thumped in a pressure penalty, and even had time to stir the crowd up when we went to 10 men.

Future Hibs captain if we can hold onto him.

Well done son

@hibs.net private member Liam89's Avatar
    He is something special!

Quote Originally Posted by new malkyhib View Post

Absolutely strolled the game, playing in two separate positions, thumped in a pressure penalty, and even had time to stir the crowd up when we went to 10 men.

Well done son
    This boy looks to be the real deal. Tbh, I can't really see him even lasting the 18 months if he keeps this form up. And I wouldn't be at all surprised if his contract has a clause giving Liverpool first dibs on him - effectively an 18 month loan deal. One thing's for sure, when he does leave, he'll not be heading west. He also seems to have a great affinity with the support - almost Budgie-esque. We should enjoy every minute he's with us. Top prospect. And I'd love him to be here for the long haul.

Multi million pound player IMO.

First Team Breakthrough jackhfc's Avatar

Gamertag: jackhfc PSN ID: rajpuss
    It really does annoy me that the guys played three games for us and already we're talking about him leaving, don't just see why we can offer these players better wages and make them stay

I'm sure he is just on loan anyway!

Quote Originally Posted by sammy7 View Post
    18month deal. Not a loan.

Very impressed with this lad. Very calm on the ball, almost always picks the right option and the maturity to slot the winning pen.

I hope we can hold onto him as long as is reasonably possible because if he continues his form I envisage a few offers in the Summer window.

More than happy to sign players that are destined for bigger and better things.

The more of these we sign and sell, the better cash flow overall. Rather than signing numpties, or having to pay players off, or new managers can't wait to get shot of them etc, ....my feeling is in our current solid state financially, we'll be able to slowly raise our wages further etc, and be at least in a better position to attract better players and keep those we want.

Anyway, it was clear after about 5 mins at Tannadice that this guy was a good yin.

Would be surprised if we dont get offers this summer already for him.

Was not so long ago CC and Petrie were being slated for shopping at Lidl.

ps. Thornhill looks very good too

good stuff then!

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    He's something else

He slotted back into defence with such ease after Dickoh got sent off.

Also loved his geeing up the East Stand

Quote Originally Posted by jackhfc View Post
    It really does annoy me that the guys played three games for us and already we're talking about him leaving, don't just see why we can offer these players better wages and make them stay
    No way can we compete with what he would be offered by a premiership or championship side. We need to enjoy his time here and get as much as we can for him when the time comes for him to move on.

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    I missed the St Mirren game due to work so today was the first time I saw the new guys, and VP was the standout by a mile.

Different class

Clearly has it upstairs!

Getting the East going too - quality!

Pity he couldn't bring a few of his mates from the Iceland under 21s with him.
    Another couple from Liverpool might help as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Badge the Hibee View Post
    No way can we compete with what he would be offered by a premiership or championship side. We need to enjoy his time here and get as much as we can for him when the time comes for him to move on.
    Agree if he gets an offer from a Premiership club then he'll be offski, but if the yams can offer more than championship clubs for Andy Webster, why can't we offer more for Palsson

good stuff then!
    Talking to yersel.
    You'll get taken away!

We need to accept that as our lot. He's a class act though.

However, IMHO Murray was MoM today.

Agree if he gets an offer from a Premiership club then he'll be offski, but if the yams can offer more than championship clubs for Andy Webster, why can't we offer more for Palsson
    What did they offer webster. Can't believe it would be more than a championship side.

Not sure on the exact figures, but at the time he had recieved offers from Hearts, Hibs and a few Championship clubs

Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
    We need to accept that as our lot. He's a class act though.

However, IMHO Murray was MoM today.
    Eh? Murray is finished and looked miles off the pace today. Some nifty footwork in one run second half but he was murder otherwise.

Not sure on the exact figures, but at the time he had recieved offers from Hearts, Hibs and a few Championship clubs
    There might have been clauses in the deals offered by other sides. Pay if you play, length of contract? Who knows. He will have taken the deal he thinks is best for him. If they have offered silly money then he will have taken it. Did he play today?

Aye but as soon as it got out that we wanted him, then they just had to have him didn't they? - and are probably paying him silly money in the process.

You can only hope it bites them on the @rse one of these days.

Up the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Arch Stanton's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    He's something else

He slotted back into defence with such ease after Dickoh got sent off.

Also loved his geeing up the East Stand
    Totally looked the part taking the penalty and ditto when he lined up as Centre Back in a ten man formation - I was surprised at the time that Murray wasn't put there but in the event it was clearly the right move.

So his agent told us all

Quote Originally Posted by new malkyhib View Post

Well done son
    Scouser mate of mine who lives in Edinburgh reckons he was their reserve Captain....anyone else here this He certainly does not suffer from a lack of confidence in his ability...and so far has been able to back it up

Because Hearts don't care how much debt they rack up. Just because they are happy to chuck ludicrous amounts of money around doesn't mean we should.

Besides, it assumes that the sole motivation for any player is cash, which as much as some like to think it is, isn't necessarily true. A player of Palsson's apparent class isn't going to spend his time in the SPL when bigger clubs in better leagues come calling, regardless of how much cash we offer him.

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post
    Scouser mate of mine who lives in Edinburgh reckons he was their reserve Captain....anyone else here this He certainly does not suffer from a lack of confidence in his ability...and so far has been able to back it up
    Palsson was Liverpool's reserve captain. There was an article in the paper last week where he said he captained the reserve side and Gerrard was playing in the same team. Tremendous player, a real find by Calderwood.

Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post
    http://www.givemefootball.com/premie...-captain-leave

the lad has more confidence on and off the park than guys who have been playing the game professionally for years!

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Eh? Murray is finished and looked miles off the pace today. Some nifty footwork in one run second half but he was murder otherwise.
    I was thinking more about his tackling and intervention play than his forward attacking movements. He was labouring early in the second half but seemed to get his second wind when we went down to ten men.

Thought he was immense defensively.