New Lansdowne Road / Aviva Stadium

3 sides look great - behind the Wales goal looks a bit mickey mouse though, take it they ran out of space

i do believe the railways behind that end

First Team Regular steviecarnie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gala Foxes View Post
    3 sides look great - behind the Wales goal looks a bit mickey mouse though, take it they ran out of space
    houses right behind

Quote Originally Posted by steviecarnie View Post
    houses right behind
    That's exactly why. They were only allowed to build it up this height, with the glass walls.
    Does look a bit odd, but it is pretty nice inside.

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    Think it looks a bit radge tbh. Don't understand to move Irish rugby to the Aviva when they were selling out croke park and still had demand. Ground had much the better atmosphere.

First Team Breakthrough Ernie Cobra's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gala Foxes View Post
    planning!!

the stadium is fantastic, have been to every game played there so far, but gave it a body swerve tonight.......tomorrow is a different story though

I think it looks a bit naff, actually. Just my opinion, but Murrayfield still looks better.

I'm quite sure loads of people will disagree with me on that, though.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    I think it looks a bit naff, actually. Just my opinion, but Murrayfield still looks better.

I'm quite sure loads of people will disagree with me on that, though.
    I agree, looks smart on 3 sides but the small bit totally ruins the ground for me. Murrayfield is much better imo.

i think it looks pretty good.

better than hampden anyway.

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    Well the 3 sides defo give it a bit a character..Looks cool when lit up at night..Dunno how the houses beside it cope with that..

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Looks great. Especially given it's all green!

Love the light inside.

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    This will give you a better idea of the finished ground and see the problems they had with the lack of space ...

http://www.youtube.com/user/AvivaStadium

I think the one small side makes the stadium look really daft.

I agree with whoever it was that said it's miles better than Hampden, though.

It looks ok as a stadium but i can't help thinking that a 50 000 capacity seems a bit small considering Croke Park with an 80 000+ capacity was being easily sold out for rugby matches.

It also looks a bit soulless like a lot of modern stadiums. Give me Croke Park with the preserved Hill 16 over the Aviva any day of the week.

http://www.avivastadium.ie/

Don't know if the website's meant to be stereotypical Irish but

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I quite like it, very smart. The wee stand is excellent, the glass really adds a touch of class. As has been mentiond, a far superior arena to the below-par Hampden Park. Who actually likes Hampden?

Gamertag: Cod Flanders
    Quote Originally Posted by libernian View Post
    i think it looks pretty good.

better than hampden anyway.
    I could make a better Hampden in my back garden. Seriously though its pish, should have built something along the lines of Murrayfield or Ibrox.

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    I'm sure I read somewhere once that Hampden cost the same as the Millennium Stadium.

Hampden is woeful, its only good aspect is that because it's only the one tier you get great expansive crowd shots.

Hampden atmospheres are good but would be much better in a ground like Ibrox.

First Team Breakthrough Hibee_Dave's Avatar
    Aviva Stadium?

Looks like a poor man's Easter Road.....

Gamertag: stevenl049 PSN ID: stevenl049
    When Croke Park was first opened the organisers of the Gaelic games stipulated that no "foreign" sport was allowed to be played on it. They classed football and rugby as foreign. I believe it was only while LR was being redeveloped that they reluctantly agreed to let them use Croke Park.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalianwanda View Post
    Well the 3 sides defo give it a bit a character..Looks cool when lit up at night..Dunno how the houses beside it cope with that..
    Are curtains illegal in Irelandland then?

Quote Originally Posted by stevenhibs View Post
    When Croke Park was first opened the organisers of the Gaelic games stipulated that no "foreign" sport was allowed to be played on it. They classed football and rugby as foreign. I believe it was only while LR was being redeveloped that they reluctantly agreed to let them use Croke Park.
    This was true at the start of the agreement, but once the GAA saw the money flooding in, mostly from the 6 Nations, their attitude changed significantly.
    They would probably have been quite happy to continue on with the agreement, but it was down to the IRFU, and the FAI, and as they had spent so much on the Aviva, sold thousands of seats, and the naming rights, they couldn't exactly back out and say, 'sure we'll only have the smaller matches here!'
    Pretty sure Croke Park now holds the attendance record for a rugby match.

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Are curtains illegal in Irelandland then?
    Its pretty bright & they are pretty close...But yeah Im sure a quality set of drapes would help..

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pogo View Post
    This was true at the start of the agreement, but once the GAA saw the money flooding in, mostly from the 6 Nations, their attitude changed significantly.
    They would probably have been quite happy to continue on with the agreement, but it was down to the IRFU, and the FAI, and as they had spent so much on the Aviva, sold thousands of seats, and the naming rights, they couldn't exactly back out and say, 'sure we'll only have the smaller matches here!'
    Pretty sure Croke Park now holds the attendance record for a rugby match.
    Maybe in modern stadia, but i was at Murrayfield in 1975 for the Scotland Vs Wales match when there were 104,000 inside the ground (scotland won 12-10). That is still the largest crowd that has ever watched a rugby match. I am sure that's the game that Max Boyce used sing about "...and we all saw the game in the bar..."

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by LeithenHibby View Post
    This will give you a better idea of the finished ground and see the problems they had with the lack of space ...

http://www.youtube.com/user/AvivaStadium

Looks like it's melted and sagged all to the one end.

Come to think of it, it may be my mind, but to me it looks rather rude....

PSN ID: aberhibsfc
    Quote Originally Posted by Calvino View Post
    I'm sure I read somewhere once that Hampden cost the same as the Millennium Stadium.

Hampden is woeful, its only good aspect is that because it's only the one tier you get great expansive crowd shots.
    I preferred the old Hampden and it had better capacity for cup games and big internationals but it was tatty. The atmospehere at the Hibs v Dunfermline cup final was unbelievable.

Having said that, despite it's size etc, when the England games were on or the Belgium 2-2 WC qualifier when we went 2 up, the atmosphere was elecrtic. I think the atmosphere their has more to do with lack of attendance as the design.

I remember a couple of games at the infirm while Hampden was being rebuilt, Celtic park was amazing, Ibrox not so much.

Quote Originally Posted by proud_and_green View Post
    Maybe in modern stadia, but i was at Murrayfield in 1975 for the Scotland Vs Wales match when there were 104,000 inside the ground (scotland won 12-10). That is still the largest crowd that has ever watched a rugby match. I am sure that's the game that Max Boyce used sing about "...and we all saw the game in the bar..."
    Not strictly true, as the Telstra Stadium in Sydney held 107,558 for the 1999 NRL Grand Final between Melbourne Storm and St. George Illawarra Dragons

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LancashireHibby View Post
    Not strictly true, as the Telstra Stadium in Sydney held 107,558 for the 1999 NRL Grand Final between Melbourne Storm and St. George Illawarra Dragons
    He means Rugby of course and not Thugby you refer to

Quote Originally Posted by BoltonHibee View Post
    He means Rugby of course and not Thugby you refer to
    Never had you down as a rugger-bugger!