A Song For Sodje!

I enjoyed the rendition of "There's Only One Sodje" at the St. Mirren game, but to make Akpo feel right at home, I've come up with the following - I'm happy with the lyrics, but I need some help with the tune! ;o)

Idoro Akpoeyere Ujoma Sodje - oh he hates the Jambo ****!

He's Number 18! He wears White and Green! Oh, Idoro Akpoeyere Ujoma Sodje - he HATES the Jambo ****!

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 7 Hills View Post
    I enjoyed the rendition of "There's Only One Sodje" at the St. Mirren game, but to make Akpo feel right at home, I've come up with the following - I'm happy with the lyrics, but I need some help with the tune! ;o)

He's Number 18! He wears White and Green! Oh, Idoro Akpoeyere Ujoma Sodje - he HATES the Jambo ****!
    Not being a kiljoy and he should have his own song, but I cringed at that and found it blasphemous, no one else should ever have that song sung about them, it should be retired out of respect for the great man

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Not being a kiljoy and he should have his own song, but I cringed at that and found it blasphemous, no one else should ever have that song sung about them, it should be retired out of respect for the great man
    Tend to agree.

Well i for one can't say his name so i'll no be joining in!

Indeed - which is why I tried to find an original song for Sodje! But there are those of us of a certain vintage who can testify to the fact, that there's only One Chico! Loved Sauzee, but that tune belonged to Chic Charnley first! ;o)

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 7 Hills View Post

Indeed - which is why I tried to find an original song for Sodje! But there are those of us of a certain vintage who can testify to the fact, that there's only One Chico! Loved Sauzee, but that tune belonged to Chic Charnley first! ;o)
    I was talking about Chico, I loved the mad bassa

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Perhaps there's a case for making something of the auld Andy Stewart tune There was a Sodje, a Hibee Sodje, who etc

being honest i find it pish almost as bad as the other one that was on here a few weeks ago....just my thoughts though......surely a wee rendition of "Theres only one sodje" would do the trick

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Perhaps there's a case for making something of the auld Andy Stewart tune There was a Sodje, a Hibee Sodje, who etc
    I thought of that too, lapsed yin! I got as far as - There was a Sodje! A Hibee Sodje! Who wandered far from Home - to Easter Road he roamed! He's built like Rambo! He hates the Jambos! Na na na na na! Help!

Any song except the one being sung on Wednesday

I'm sure the new singing section can do better than rehashing songs for other players. They've been belting out quite a few new ones recently.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Simple and usable

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    Simple and usable
    Naw, she's infected with Chicdungitis. Nae place for that at ER.
    Last edited by snooky; 03-02-2011 at 11:16 PM.

song

Nicked from Hibs 12th Man fb site

Have you heard all the rumors
    Sodje plays like zoomer
    with passion and flair
    but without the hair
    walking in a Sodje wonderland.

Or...from the Killers' "All these things that I've done"...

"We've sold Sol, but now we've got Sodje..."

Someone else will need to put meat onto those bones :o)

Dave
    (Apologies if it's been done already....)

Quote Originally Posted by Disc O'Dave View Post
    Or...from the Killers' "All these things that I've done"...

"We've sold Sol, but now we've got Sodje..."

Someone else will need to put meat onto those bones :o)

Dave
    (Apologies if it's been done already....)
    That's great we need to develop that one. will bring up songs etc at 12th man meeting on Saturday

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    These must take hours to make up.

scottish sodje sounds good, only one sodjur thou, Alex cropley.

Hearing the "Sauzee" song being belted out for Sodje made me think about the fans favourite Mickey Weir / Ivan Sproule song - adapted for Nish.

He's here,
    He's here,
    He's standing very still,
    Colin Nish, Colin Nish

Okay, timing not quite right as he did move better against the Saints

A Sodjers song?

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    A Sodjers song?

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Blasphemous now that's not a word you hear many times on the Hibs.net! I getche tho!

I'll take you home with me Sodje

But first you have to score a goal

And when you do that very soon

My sister etc. etc.for those with more fertile imagination than me.

To the tune of I'll take you home Kathleen.

First Team Breakthrough SmithyHibee's Avatar

PSN ID: SmithyNYG

Quote Originally Posted by SmithyHibee View Post
    I think this song should come on when Deek scores and everyone sing 'Derek Riordan' instead of 'Barbra Streisand' definitely gonna get shot down for this but iv said it a few times and would like to see it happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunbar Hibee View Post
    I think this song should come on when Deek scores and everyone sing 'Derek Riordan' instead of 'Barbra Streisand' definitely gonna get shot down for this but iv said it a few times and would like to see it happen.
    No songs at goals...for anyone. Please Hibs don't. Classless imo.

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post

The only time I have enjoyed a ''goal'' song being played over the PA was at Pittodrie two or three seasons back when a near miss by the sheep had somebody getting over excited and pushing the play button. Most amusing. (Although you probably had to be there. )

Perfect.

Ohhhhhhh Sodje Sodje....

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    Fair enough.

http://gobarbra.com/hit/new-1b433445...7b9538d6cb4086

This version better?

We have a winner by a country mile.

I would have no problem singing it.