Calderwood in the Transfer Market

It's obvious that one of the main reasons CC was appointed to preside over the rebuilding of Hibs was a) his penchant for giving young players a chance, and b) his knowledge of players in England.

It seems he likes his teams to be organised and aggressive - neither of which can apply to Hibs in recent years.

I think we'll see Booth and Byrne given their chances in the New Year, and I fancy him to bring a couple of seasoned pro's and maybe a bit of youthful quality on an extended loan.

Take this with a pinch of salt but I got a text from a Newcastle fan that a fringe player there is on his way to ER. Don't know who, but its meant to be done and dusted.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    It's obvious that one of the main reasons CC was appointed to preside over the rebuilding of Hibs was a) his penchant for giving young players a chance, and b) his knowledge of players in England.

It seems he likes his teams to be organised and aggressive - neither of which can apply to Hibs in recent years.

I think we'll see Booth and Byrne given their chances in the New Year, and I fancy him to bring a couple of seasoned pro's and maybe a bit of youthful quality on an extended loan.

Take this with a pinch of salt but I got a text from a Newcastle fan that a fringe player there is on his way to ER. Don't know who, but its meant to be done and dusted.
    Alan Smith ?

Good...fingers crossed he has more impact than our last signing from the Toon

Some new blood in this team may work wonders as the current lot are stale with no inspiration. Couple of wide player in the FB or RM,LM positions could make the difference between us being relegated or finishing top 6 I reckon.

Sol Campbell , anyone ?

More likely to be Jóan Símun Edmundsson, Bradden Inman or Nile Ranger

Quote Originally Posted by McIntosh View Post

That exactly what I was thinking as well...

PSN ID: pesus-ab

Ryan Donaldson has been banded about a few times on here also !

@hibs.net private member Hibby Kay-Yay's Avatar

Gamertag: ps3 - hibby kay-yay
    I hear he's not a team player and prefers to work alone

He is in and about the 1st team squad. Been on the bench for the last few games and brought on.

Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post
    Ryan Donaldson has been banded about a few times on here also !
    True, virtually camped in our training ground with the amount of friendlies Newcastle play against Hibs.

First Team Breakthrough Ernie Cobra's Avatar
    http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news...cle252645.html

Yes this young lad can fill the boots left by many a first team headbanger, a wee night out with deeks should be lively

at least he was hionest about his past and ther was no de nile

I'd be pleased with the Faroese player, saw him play at Pittodrie and was definitely their bright spark. Would be shocked to see Nile Ranger come seems to be getting a fair slice of first team action

lovenkrands ? ................

Quote Originally Posted by jst_5 View Post
    lovenkrands ? ................

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PISTOL1875 View Post
    That exactly what I was thinking as well...
    Yes Please!!!

who's nile ranger? sounds like a crocodile hunter wi' a name like that

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    who's nile ranger? sounds like a crocodile hunter wi' a name like that
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nile_Ranger

Only way Ranger will be going out on loan is if Newcastle can bring in another front man. They have been linked with Robbie Keane so who knows? Doubt it'll be Hibs tho.

More likely to be Ryan Donaldson, or hopefully Shane Ferguson whos a leftsided player and a great prospect.

COuld also be some genuine ***** like Leon Best.

Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post
    Only way Ranger will be going out on loan is if Newcastle can bring in another front man. They have been linked with Robbie Keane so who knows? Doubt it'll be Hibs tho.

More likely to be Ryan Donaldson, or hopefully Shane Ferguson whos a leftsided player and a great prospect.

COuld also be some genuine ***** like Leon Best.

best played at the weekend, off the bench, I'd like a defensive midfielder to break up attacks.

Ccs comments this morning in the papers are a wee bit worrying where he says that there have been stumbling blocks at getting players in and out and i hope we are not left with the usual end of january dash to get playeers and the ones we want slip away.I dont think bamba should have gone unless we were confident of getting a couple of players in.I may be fretting over nothing but his comments are eerily like those we have had the last few transfer windows.better to say nowt and announce something when it happens.Imho of course.

Quote Originally Posted by mjhibby View Post
    Ccs comments this morning in the papers are a wee bit worrying where he says that there have been stumbling blocks at getting players in and out and i hope we are not left with the usual end of january dash to get playeers and the ones we want slip away.I dont think bamba should have gone unless we were confident of getting a couple of players in.I may be fretting over nothing but his comments are eerily like those we have had the last few transfer windows.better to say nowt and announce something when it happens.Imho of course.
    I think the fact is the crap we have no-one would want and the money we pay is not very good, so players we're after probably laugh at us.

True, other clubs in the league face the same problems, but I really fear we'll not see much improvement to the squad in Jan...... in fact if Deek follows Sol out the door, we're much worse off.
    CC seems to like Hanlon so I'm not holding my breathe on replacing Sol.

Like I've said for a week or so now, we just have to hope Zouma and Duffy both returning see us stay up, then the summer is the time we'll see a big change in the squad.

A major stumbling block is going to be the fact we play in a deeply unattractive league. In previous years players may have been sold on a move to Scotland as a means of placing themselves in the shop window. With the Old Firm having less financial muscle than before a move to them after a decent season isn't a given either. Just look at Chelsea recalling the lad Gordon from Killie because they want to see him perform at a decent level down South. That probably means him going on loan to a Championship or League1 side. That says it all about how far standards are perceived to have dropped up here. I will be very surprised if we get any real quality players in on anything other than a loan until the end of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    A major stumbling block is going to be the fact we play in a deeply unattractive league. In previous years players may have been sold on a move to Scotland as a means of placing themselves in the shop window. With the Old Firm having less financial muscle than before a move to them after a decent season isn't a given either. Just look at Chelsea recalling the lad Gordon from Killie because they want to see him perform at a decent level down South. That probably means him going on loan to a Championship or League1 side. That says it all about how far standards are perceived to have dropped up here. I will be very surprised if we get any real quality players in on anything other than a loan until the end of the season.
    That's true to an extent however, for the right kind of player, its a stepping stone to other things or its a place to earn a few quid in the twilight of their careers.

What is quite good to see recently - in the past 2/3 years or so - is the number of young Scottish players going south to play in the Premiership or Championship. So it's not as if we are totally useless and do not produce anything of interest.

As far as I can see it, Hibs are well positioned to bring through young players to a point when they can get their next move to a bigger league. This is where we can make a decent amount of money for the club to reinvest, either in an enhanced salary scale, new players or filling in the corners at ER (joking on the last one).

However, it's a long term project but looking at the way we brought through O'Connor, Riordan, Brown, Thomson, Whittaker etc gives you some hope for the future. It would be great if we could see a new wave of youngsters coming through.

Before anyone moans that they'd get sold off like the family silver, then yes, of course they will. Such is football and such is our position in the footballing world.

Quote Originally Posted by mjhibby View Post
    same song, different singer

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Bit like 'Evergreen' ?.. Westlife and Will Young both sang it

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    well you'd ken mair about that than me.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Are you in the right thread

They sang it but who wrote it

well you'd ken mair about that than me.

Nae chance

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    Are you in the right thread

They sang it but who wrote it

Now am hinking

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post

That's a really cup half empty post is it not? You could say that Chelski want him playing in the fourth richest league...which is the Championship, and how many other leagues in Europe would that step over apart from us? Also for Gordon in particular, Chelski could have him playing more or less on their door-step at Reading, QPR, Crystal Palace or Millwall and even have him still train with the first team if required. Not out of the question that we could get fringe Newcastle players that could come up on the train everyday.

The public gets what the public wants.