Thread: Stokes

Stokes

Heard a wee rumour that stokes will be leaving celtic in january.... due to off field problems

has so much talent you think he would just screw the nut and get on with it. can see him playing for a first division team or lower if he does not get his act together

if true it would only confirm what we already know that hibs were right to sell him so cheap

Quote Originally Posted by dp00 View Post
    Heard a wee rumour that stokes will be leaving celtic in january.... due to off field problems

has so much talent you think he would just screw the nut and get on with it. can see him playing for a first division team or lower if he does not get his act together

if true it would only confirm what we already know that hibs were right to sell him so cheap
    How much does the rumour mill say they'll be selling for? How would it justify the price we got?

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dp00 View Post

Not heard anything but I wouldn't be surprised.

The guy is trouble and will cause it wherever he goes.

It will eventually end up that the price we got for him will be a good bit of business.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post

It will eventually end up that the price we got for him will be a good bit of business.
    What exactly did Stokes do while he was at Hibs e.g what kind of trouble did he cause ? (Not doubting you, but there is so much rumour I would like to know the facts !)

Cheers.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar

I hope Rod negotiated an appropriate sell on clause.

Quote Originally Posted by The Voice Of Reason View Post
    What exactly did Stokes do while he was at Hibs e.g what kind of trouble did he cause ? (Not doubting you, but there is so much rumour I would like to know the facts !)

Cheers.
    One thing I know he done while he was here was score rakes of goals. Important goals as well. Something we desperately need just now.

Cheers.
    i was told he was borrowing money off under 19 players to pay off gambling debts
    either way he did a good job here and won a good few points for us but if his off the field problems are as bad as some are saying good job he's left. no room for that kind of person in the dressing room IMO

Cheers.
    Sponging money off players for gambling and not repaying, including young laddies who don't earn a lot.

Phoning in sick for days in a row and being up the town on the bevvy.

Not trying a leg in training.

Breaking club rules in regards to being out before a game.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I hope Rod negotiated an appropriate sell on clause.

I think that clause may have included the words... wash, hands, darken, door and taxi.

Sponging money off players for gambling and not repaying, including young laddies who don't earn a lot.

Phoning in sick for days in a row and being up the town on the bevvy.

Not trying a leg in training.

Breaking club rules in regards to being out before a game.
    Plus he didnae tip the London tax driver when he got dropped off in Glasgow.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    maybe trouble off the park but on the park he done the buisness and without him in our side is a big part of the problem were in . i would take him back in a heartbeat.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I think that clause may have included the words... wash, hands, darken, door and taxi.
    and if there was a sell on its normal for % of increase......i.e. there will be none in this situation

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    maybe trouble off the park but on the park he done the buisness and without him in our side is a big part of the problem were in . i would take him back in a heartbeat.
    Getting rid off him doesn't seem to have done anything for team spirit either - they're still churning out insipid performance after insipid performance nearly 6 months after the "problem" was sold.

I thought a player could only play for 2 teams in a season, so I'm sceptical about him moving again in January.

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    I thought a player could only play for 2 teams in a season, so I'm sceptical about him moving again in January.
    good shout! i recall a problem with this when rangers tried to sell daniel cousin to hull i think

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I'm not surprised. I know a lad at Falkirk who was a young lad when Stokes was there. Back then he was bother, but no so much the gambling. I've heard numerous stories from numerous folk and if there is truth in them, he's a real mess. Good player but I believe the club are well rid.

First Team Regular muirhousehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    yip its a Fifa Ruling too, even loan signings are included. Stokes won't be moving anywhere untill the summer at the earliest...

Couldnt give a toss about the laddies personal life, The fact of the matter is (Like Riordan ) He scored goals for Hibs more often than not.

Now we dont have the benefit of Stokesys goals, Pish head? Trouble maker? etc etc.. Really couldnt give a Monkeys, The boy scored goals for hibs and now he doesnt, Thats the hard facts.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Couldnt give a toss about the laddies personal life, The fact of the matter is (Like Riordan ) He scored goals for Hibs more often than not.

Now we dont have the benefit of Stokesys goals, Pish head? Trouble maker? etc etc.. Really couldnt give a Monkeys, The boy scored goals for hibs and now he doesnt, Thats the hard facts.
    Very short sighted.

He was creating hell at the club, he had to go.

Very short sighted.

Short sighted? How am i ment to know he was creating hell? Im looking as an outsider..We miss his goals and the table reflects that.

Very short sighted.

Why has nothing improved since he left then? If anything it's got worse.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Short sighted? How am i ment to know he was creating hell? Im looking as an outsider..We miss his goals and the table reflects that.
    Cos I told you......lol.

No argument we miss his goals.

IMO he will end up like Paul Gascoigne, only he won't have achieved anything. All very sad really.

Cos I told you......lol.

No argument we miss his goals.

IMO he will end up like Paul Gascoigne, only he won't have achieved anything. All very sad really.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Why has nothing improved since he left then? If anything it's got worse.
    I don't have the answer to that DH, I along with many others wish we had.

There are so many similar rumours going around about him that I believe them, all I'm saying is how come if he was causing so much disharmony and that are the players still performing as pishly?

Unless the players aren't good enough and we punted the one that could do the damage just to keep the under performers happy?

Very short sighted.

I heard he wasn't the only one though

Getting rid off him doesn't seem to have done anything for team spirit either - they're still churning out insipid performance after insipid performance nearly 6 months after the "problem" was sold.

The board just got rid of him to weaken the team. FACT. They hate Hibs.

There are so many similar rumours going around about him that I believe them, all I'm saying is how come if he was causing so much disharmony and that are the players still performing as pishly?

Unless the players aren't good enough and we punted the one that could do the damage just to keep the under performers happy?
    I personally don't think our squad of players are good enough.

Not so much pleasing under performers but not setting good example to youngsters is my take.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post

It does look like a mistake now though.

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    At last, someone comes out with facts and not vicious rumours.