Thread: Tynecastle

Tynecastle

Does anyone else have a ritual that they do when passing the piggery??

I have done since a youngster and continue to do so, is to salute with middle finger when passing....

Reason I ask, that at nearly 38, am I a Bairn??

Anyway I drew some strange looks today from the passengers on the 33 bus.....

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post

I have done since a youngster and continue to do so, is to salute with middle finger when passing....

yes your a big bairn.

Nowt wrong with that though

I hold my nose.

Probably because you were doing it with only one hand.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Probably because you were doing it with only one hand.
    I had bags in the other, although I muttered the c word under my breath.....

I swallow hard to try to keep my latest meal down.
    Less a ritual, more an instinct.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    I will the place to fall down !

And it's working

First Team Breakthrough glenn6270's Avatar
    never usually pass on the bus .but do on the western approach road.always give it the middle finger salute .

ya big bairn .lol

simples....i never look.

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07
    i drive past their pitiful effort of a main stand at least once a day trying to contain my laughter.always tempted to shout some abuse (even at random dafties standing about) if i wasn't in my works van.

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    I hold my nose.
    so do i , between the smell of the piggery and the brewery, both rank

@hibs.net private member Groathillgrump's Avatar
    The piggery always gets the two fingered salute from me.

I lived in Stenhouse for 10 years & my Daughters since the day they could talk were trained to utter the words "Tynecastle is a piggery" every time we travelled along the Western approach road behind the ground ....

We recently went by that way & both my Daughters now 16 & 20..uttered the very same immortal words ... i hope when they are married wi kids they pass it on ...

I always start singing a Hibs song under my breath and give a one fingered salute with pride.

Childish? Most definitely but i care not a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    I lived in Stenhouse for 10 years & my Daughters since the day they could talk were trained to utter the words "Tynecastle is a piggery" every time we travelled along the Western approach road behind the ground ....
    My five year old daughter associates the smell of the brewery with it, and always says 'poo dad - can you smell Hearts?' as we drive past on the Western Approach Road.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Pedant alert.

The brewery is actually a distillery.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Pedant alert.

Or more prob the chemical factory ..the whole area at one time from Dalry to Roseburn was surrounded by breweries hence a rather rotten smell...

Wi the worst obviously emanating from Tynecastle ..

Pedant alert.

Depending on which way the wind blows, you quite often get the smell from the Caley just off Slateford Road

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Or more prob the chemical factory ..the whole area at one time from Dalry to Roseburn was surrounded by breweries hence a rather rotten smell...

Wi the worst obviously emanating from Tynecastle ..
    Definitely not the chemical factory as you call it, and one knows this for a fact.

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    Depending on which way the wind blows, you quite often get the smell from the Caley just off Slateford Road
    Not a bad kop out Barney but the wind seldom blows in that direction.

Am I right in saying the Caley brewery is the only one left in Edinburgh?

Aye, there used to be 41 breweries in Edinburgh at one point in the dim and distant past, but that's the only one left. Next nearest after that is Stewart's at Loanhead.

Sad times
    Last edited by Barney McGrew; 08-12-2010 at 05:44 PM.

Aye, there used to be 41 breweries in Edinburgh at one point in the dim and distant past, but that's the only one left. Next nearest after that is Stewart's at Loanhead.

Sad times
    I worked in the Whisky industry throughout the eighties and my base was at 84 Slateford Road. One time we lifted a carpet to get a new one fitted and there was a cracking mosaic underneath. It was of a brewery that used to manufacture from there, IIRC it might have been Bernards.

At that time it belonged to the North British Distillery and they had warehouses virtually all the way down to Gorgie Road, I think it was maltings prior to being converted,

Now the warehouse have been flattened for housing.

Biscuits Preston claimed that Kano won't drive past the stadium will detour
    Would even get out and walk if others tried to drive past

Me ? I just give it a dignified cursory glance
    Last edited by Viva_Palmeiras; 08-12-2010 at 05:59 PM.

What were they expecting you to do Stevie? I beat you by a year in the big kid stakes, but, until someone cuts my fingers off that ****hole will receive the same gesture from me!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    What were they expecting you to do Stevie? I beat you by a year in the big kid stakes, but, until someone cuts my fingers off that ****hole will receive the same gesture from me!
    Glad to hear that Colin........ Seems there are a number of us who do things to that dump when passing..........

PSN ID: Tenacious-Daz
    It's usually a two fingered salute and a mutterance of F yous ya hertz cantz from me.

I'm 35 and I've been doing this for as long as I can remember, call me childish but I aint breaking this habit of a lifetime.

First Team Breakthrough AndersonGGTTH's Avatar

PSN ID: K-ANDERSON1875
    i always stick the fingers towards the stadium on a 44 bus although i cant see stadium but if i am on the train passing i will sing a song , childish? well i am 15

When my son was a bairn my dad, who was not a football man took him out in his buggy and was passing Tyncastle with him when my son shouted out "hold your nose grandad, this place smells!" and proceeded to hold his wee nose.

My dad was black affronted and never forgot the incident. Needless to say i got the blame for teaching him this when it was his dad!!!! I did teach him to cross the road to Pat Stanton (the green man crossing lights) though!

The place is still a dump and still stinks even to this day!!!!

Sad times
    Has McGowans and Rose ST micro breweries closed aswell?

Not a bad kop out Barney but the wind seldom blows in that direction.

Sad times

I'd like to give a plug to the folks at Innis & Gunn. A fine drop of beer.....brewed in Edinburgh