Who signed Ray Wilkins?

Anyone able to settle a bet between a mate and me please....

Which Hibs manager signed Ray Wilkins as a player (in 1997 I think)?

I reckon it's Duff Jimmy, my mate says Lex Miller.

Jim

Miller.
    Last edited by HibbyAndy; 01-12-2010 at 12:38 PM.

I think Duff Jimmy was to blame for that yin

Pretty sure it was Lexo.

Miller.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Defo Lexo, it was his final signing.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    Defo Lexo, it was his final signing.

Sorry mate, it was defo Miller and Crombe was still chairman.

Cheers Lad. I guess my mate's got to be right on something just once in his life...clearly he's a big Wilkins/Miller fan ;-)

No surprised it was Miller's last signing....it's a sackable offence alone! Desperate measure.

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    I remember a 4-0 League Cup defeat at Ibrox where Wilkins applauded the huns while being substituted, completely ignoring the Miller Must Go chants from the small band of Hibs fans!

Gamertag: WalterSobzcek
    I thought it was jocky scott

Gamertag: HFC Owain
    I thought it was Jim Duffy also am going have to find out now. Still not really sure who signed him but guess it was maybe Duffy who got rid of him which is my I am thinking it was Duffy who signed him. In another note I see Alex Miller was manger in Sweden this year for a whole four mouths at AIK he must of done a great job!
    Last edited by Owain_1987; 01-12-2010 at 02:15 PM. Reason: Found some more info

Im pretty sure it was miller

Infact i'm sure a few weeks before he signed he was quoted saying

" we could do with a ray wilkins style player "

roll forward a few weeks and wilkins was sporting his dads calor sponsored hibs top with the stripey sleeves in the evening news

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Definitely Alex Miller.

Wilkins made his debut on my Wedding day and got man of the match. Hearts got beat at Ibrox same day and had 4 men sent off, both these things got mentioned in wedding speech especially for my Jambo best man

Quote Originally Posted by scotiaf View Post
    Im pretty sure it was miller

Infact i'm sure a few weeks before he signed he was quoted saying

" we could do with a ray wilkins style player "

roll forward a few weeks and wilkins was sporting his dads calor sponsored hibs top with the stripey sleeves in the evening news
    Given his history easier say who hasn't signed him!
    tWas lexo in above known in the US as "jumping the shark"

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    I honestly couldn't see what Wilkins brought to Hibs certainly not as a player, perhaps if we'd signed him 20 years earlier than we did. Pretty obvious he still considered himself a Hun too could never forgive him for that applause.

As an aside apart from Andy Millen would Wilkins have been the oldest outfield player to play in the Scottish Premier League?
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ginger_rice View Post

As an aside apart from Andy Millen would Wilkins have been the oldest outfield player to play in the Scottish Premier League?
    Brewster mibbe?

100% sure it was Auld Lexo - don't think Wilkins even played under Duffy IIRC.

Sure it was Miller. Did we have a sell on clause? Look where he ended up

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07
    Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    I remember a 4-0 League Cup defeat at Ibrox where Wilkins applauded the huns while being substituted, completely ignoring the Miller Must Go chants from the small band of Hibs fans!
    i thought that was ER ?
    i think i have a faint memory of him clapping the dunbar end

Definately Miller.

Terrible signing too - he was woeful.

Wee bald overweight 40 year old playing for Hibs - embarressing!

Quote Originally Posted by Owain_1987 View Post
    I thought it was Jim Duffy also am going have to find out now. Still not really sure who signed him but guess it was maybe Duffy who got rid of him which is my I am thinking it was Duffy who signed him. In another note I see Alex Miller was manger in Sweden this year for a whole four mouths at AIK he must of done a great job!

This should clear it up, if you can read the text it says Miller.

Did he not applaud them in what (I think) was his last game for us against Rangers at ER?

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Absolutely correct. We were all going daft at Wilkins for that. Joke of a signing from Mogadon who was a busted flush by then.

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    Absolutely correct. We were all going daft at Wilkins for that. Joke of a signing from Mogadon who was a busted flush by then.
    sure it was easter road ?

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Miller signed and did Scott not empty him as soon as he temperarily took over?

miller. I mind we lost the week before or something and Miller was in the paper quoted as saying we need an old head in midfield "like Ray Wilkins was". All of a sudden it was announced a few days later that the geriatric ex hun had actually signed!!! It was the last act of a desperate man who knew his time at Hibs was coming to an end, I was still absolutely raging at the time mind.

@hibs.net private member BigKev's Avatar
    I'm with you. Was definitely Ibrox. We beat them at ER a couple of weeks later IIRC. He might have done it then as well though.

Quote Originally Posted by BigKev View Post
    I'm with you. Was definitely Ibrox. We beat them at ER a couple of weeks later IIRC. He might have done it then as well though.
    Think that might have been Jocky the Jannys first game in charge (the one at ER)..Laudrop miseed a pen I think.

Quote Originally Posted by BigKev View Post

Two hun applauding episodes from the hairless & hopeless one, one at Ibrox and one at Easter Road.