Thread: Alan Smith

PSN ID: N/A

Alan Smith

Heard a rumour today that Newcastle Utd's Alan Smith played in a closed doors game with us yesterday and is training with us with possibly signing as his tee is oot at Newcastle.

Can any of our 'in the know' guys confirm if this is true or is it a lot of nonsense??

I cant see it happening myself unless they free him and he really wants to play under Calderwood again for a fraction of the wages...but would obviously be delighted if i was to happen

Never going to happen. If he played yesterday it was probably CC doing him a favour.

Just wondering if anyone has anymore details of the closed doors game and if he was playing or not...I'm not sure why anyone would make it up to be honest so would be interesting if it was true...

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Whilst there was both a closed doors game and non-registered player playing for us, it was not in Smith's postion(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    Whilst there was both a closed doors game and non-registered player playing for us, it was not in Smith's postion(s)
    Calderwood playing Smith out of position already

@hibs.net private member Tricla's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by F_Sauzee_4 View Post
    Heard a rumour today that Newcastle Utd's Alan Smith played in a closed doors game with us yesterday and is training with us with possibly signing as his tee is oot at Newcastle.

Can any of our 'in the know' guys confirm if this is true or is it a lot of nonsense??

I cant see it happening myself unless they free him and he really wants to play under Calderwood again for a fraction of the wages...but would obviously be delighted if i was to happen

Gamertag: Rich Tea12

silly season has started early!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post

silly season has started early!!
    More chance of the Yam's splitting the old firm than this happening.

Just wondering if anyone has anymore details of the closed doors game and if he was playing or not...I'm not sure why anyone would make it up to be honest so would be interesting if it was true...

How long have you been reading posts on here??????

Are you sure it wasn't that boy Andy Carrol?
    The boy Smith isnt Hibs class.
    He's past it.

Quote Originally Posted by IFONLY View Post
    [/B]

How long have you been reading posts on here??????
    What I meant was - Im not sure why who told me it would make it up.

Has never scored a league goal for newcastle. Would rather have that o'brien boy

Aye, Alan Smith is signing for Hibs. We're buying him with the money I gave to Petrie after selling the diamonds my arse was lined with.

Smudger Smith.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    I don't think for one second that this is true, but Alan Smith and Liam Miller's careers and career trajectories are not a million miles away from each other.

I seen Jose Antonio Reyes on the number 26 coming back from town

@hibs.net private member Bookkeeper's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    I don't think for one second that this is true, but Alan Smith and Liam Miller's careers and career trajectories are not a million miles away from each other.
    Aye doonwards. Lets stop looking for damaged goods and concentrate on youngsters on the way up. We're a fitba club no a care home for terminal unachievers.

smith can play anywhere infront of defence, so what position was the non registered player playing.

Smith in his 30s now and not even he know's his position yet! For a lad that started his career up front you think he would've scored in 75 games for Newcastle.
    Never going to happen but if it does, pay as you play deal only please.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    I would be very surprised if Alan Smith was able to break back into the Newcastle first team.

It might suit both parties (one to reduce wage bill and the other to get regular football) if the contract was terminated come January and this may well have been discussed between the two.

This might have been Alan checking out options ahead of the January window but I suspect nothing more than that.
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Quote Originally Posted by brydekirk View Post
    smith can play anywhere infront of defence, so what position was the non registered player playing.
    Centre-half.

Would be less surprised if the non registered player was Derek Adams.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    More chance of the late, great Gordon Smith returning.

Nicky butt?

No thanks, not with his disciplinary record. 2nd most prolific fouler in the league and sent off 7 times in his career so far.

Even if there was anything in this story which I greatly doubt we'd be paying him to sit in the stand for half the season!

I got a text message confirming the same this morning!!

It said that they knew the referee who confirmed that Alan Smith was definatley playing for hibs in a closed doors game yesterday.

Cant see it if im honest, but cant see why my source would lie!

I heard that CC was trying to establish an experienced backbone through the middle of the park and that Yogi, Collins and Mixu were those 3 players on trial...

Quote Originally Posted by Markthehibee View Post
    I got a text message confirming the same this morning!!

It said that they knew the referee who confirmed that Alan Smith was definatley playing for hibs in a closed doors game yesterday.

Cant see it if im honest, but cant see why my source would lie!
    Can't see that happening unless Newcastle paid his wages from jan to may. He would then likely to go to another English team. I know Leeds fans who are desperate for him to go back there.

Would be a serious coup if it was true but more likely calderwood helping out with his fitness.

if he returned to his leeds utd form guid stuff might even forgive him for being a fan of a certain club in govan always reminds me of a certain gareth evans.