Scotland team to play the Faroes

Scotland team to face Faroe Islands: Gordon, Bardsley, S Caldwell, Wilson, Crainey, Commons, D Fletcher, Adam, Bannan, Maloney, Mackie

Another 4-6-0 then

Mackie is a striker.

My God, I hope they don't come a cropper. Opps, forgot my 'Liar' smilie

Mackie will start up top. Even then though, how can you justify playing a 4-5-1 at home to the Faroe Islands in a friendly?

Quote Originally Posted by Wotherspiniesta View Post
    Mackie will start up top. Even then though, how can you justify playing a 4-5-1 at home to the Faroe Islands in a friendly?
    Bannan or Maloney will be in just behind so it won't be 4-5-1.
    When you play 4-3-3 do you play three strikers up front?

I hope this is the famous 4-6-0 formation. We need to take something from this game.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Faroe Islands 15/1

What do we gain from Crainey being in there? Surely theres better options, with more potential, Dixon? Or against the FI, put Robson there?

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Bannan or Maloney will be in just behind so it won't be 4-5-1.
    When you play 4-3-3 do you play three strikers up front?
    Are Bannan and Maloney not wingers?

Which would make it a 4-5-1. Either way, we only have one striker starting against the Faroe Islands. At home. In a friendly.

How inspiring.

Are Bannan and Maloney not wingers?

Which would make it a 4-5-1. Either way, we only have one striker starting against the Faroe Islands. At home. In a friendly.

How inspiring.
    They're not strikers. I think Bannan played CM vs Man Utd on Saturday.

Gamertag: Japhakayk
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    They're not strikers. I think Bannan played CM vs Man Utd on Saturday.
    Bannan was the wee standout winger from the U21's game against Iceland. Brilliant first touch, pace and tricks.

Personally I would rather see more of the U21's playing than B internationals who will never make the step up (Mackie = a waste of everyone's time).

Quote Originally Posted by TheBall'sRound View Post
    Personally I would rather see more of the U21's playing than B internationals who will never make the step up (Mackie = a waste of everyone's time).
    England B at that: Gilks, Kommons, McLevely, Morrison, Bardlsey, Mackie, etc

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhys89 View Post
    England B at that: Gilks, Kommons, McLevely, Morrison, Bardlsey, Mackie, etc
    Gilks is awesome.

STV said less than 8,000 tickets sold.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    I hope we get pumped.

Mon the faroes!!!

Whilst i agree its a pointless game, is there really any need for these anti-scotland team threads before each game?

Quote Originally Posted by Toaods View Post
    STV said less than 8,000 tickets sold.
    Doesn't say much about Levein's scotland if even the North East public are not going to pack Pittodrie tonight.

Who in their right mind would want to go see the most pish Scotland starting 11 I think I've ever seen, versus a bunch of fisherman, who will probably beat us, and who we play almost every year, in a friendly??

Whoever decided on this fixture is a fud.

And where is Steven Fletcher??

Mackie played wide right against the Czechs in a 4-6-0 formation any way got to rush as my train to Abersheepland leaves in a couple of hours

I would say I hope the Faroes win but Levein will not quit. He is showing himself to be massively out of his depth and a vindictive hun licking twat.

Sadly I think were stuck with him until after next campaign by which time well be in pot 5 and football obscurity despite imho having a bunch of players who are capable of qualification.

Kevin Kyle and Steven Caldwell says it all.

I wish he was L(eaving)evein

Quote Originally Posted by pacorosssco View Post
    I would say I hope the Faroes win but Levein will not quit. He is showing himself to be massively out of his depth and a vindictive hun licking twat.

Sadly I think were stuck with him until after next campaign by which time well be in pot 5 and football obscurity despite imho having a bunch of players who are capable of qualification.

Kevin Kyle and Steven Caldwell says it all.

I wish he was L(eaving)evein
    Lose to the Faroes, and surely there is no way back? Surely?

It is a strange friendly to arrange.It obviously wasnt done to bring in the crowds and its difficult to see the team emerging with any credit other than giving them a right gubbing.
    In saying that I think its a decent team.There are a few talented young guys and despite only 1 up top it still looks like it could be a good attacking team.All the midfield have creative qualities.I dont really know much about Mackie but if he can link up well with the midfield it will cause them lots of problems.Their defence, rather than marking strikers, will have to pick up midfielders coming at them at pace which is very difficult to deal with.With so many in midfield we should dominate possesion and if we use it well and at the right times then it should be a decent scoreline.At least thats my thinking as to how HP wants them to play judging by the team selected.It certainly doesnt look like a team set up to defend and lets hope not considering the opposition.
    We have traditionally struggled against this type of team so it will be interesting to see how a different approach works.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Lose to the Faroes, and surely there is no way back? Surely?
    You would hope so but I think SFA will give him campaign and next. They wont want another payout and Levein wont quit. Pig headed individual if ever there's been one

Its sad but I hope the Scotland fans turn on him tonight as no game after this for ages will see him ride out this campaign and hes role in Barry Ferguson return and Fletcher treatment a disgrace.

Riorden is also worth a shout to see how he can play with better players especially ahead of Kyle who should be nowhere near a Scotland team

Testimonial Due Tha Cabbage Kid's Avatar
    its getting farsical and Riordan or Murray havent been brought in.

i dont understand it!!!!!

@hibs.net private member johnrebus's Avatar

Gamertag: Eh ? Wii Code: What ?
    Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    Mackie played wide right against the Czechs in a 4-6-0 formation any way got to rush as my train to Abersheepland leaves in a couple of hours

James Mackie has'nt scored since the middle of September - two months ago.

The perfect striker for any team of Levein's

Levein's a joke, only keeping the seat warm for Uncle Walt to take over after his final spell at the Huns.

Quote Originally Posted by johnrebus View Post
    James Mackie has'nt scored since the middle of September - two months ago.

The perfect striker for any team of Levein's

According to TalkSport Mackie played at right-back for QPR last weekend!

Left by mutual consent! Ed De Gramo's Avatar

PSN ID: Gramo

I shouldn't laugh but Scotland should not be playing dross like Faroe Islands. In the past Scotland could get the likes of Portugal, Holland, Denmark etc...(fair enough they teams could be in action tonight but there must be other big teams that have a free week from the qualifiers...)

If Scotland don't win comfortably tonight....Potter will get it tight )

So for that reason....i'm gonna see what the odds are on a 0-0

Left by mutual consent! Ed De Gramo's Avatar

PSN ID: Gramo
    Quote Originally Posted by Tha Cabbage Kid View Post
    its getting farsical and Riordan or Murray havent been brought in.

i dont understand it!!!!!
    Deek I agree with but Ian is only 2 games back and is still getting back to his best...would rather see him fully focused on Hibs than get associated with the shambles that is Scotland