Motherwell fans want an apology from Colin Calderwood...

This was on the BBC gossip column.

Motherwell fans want Colin Calderwood to apologise for not having a minute's silence following the death of Phil O'Donnell in 2007 when the Hibernian manager was in charge of Nottingham Forest. (Daily Record)

Thoughts?

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post

Motherwell fans want Colin Calderwood to apologise for not having a minute's silence following the death of Phil O'Donnell in 2007 when the Hibernian manager was in charge of Nottingham Forest. (Daily Record)

Thoughts?
    motherwell fans are starting to sound like celtic fans.

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar

Thoughts?
    Was it a nationwide minutes silence??

If it wasn't, why are they moaning???

Calderwood questioned why there should be a minutes silence in England when it was a Scottish player who died in Scotland.

He pointed out there had been no minutes silence for Marc Vivien Foe (with the exception of the clubs he played for) or Miklos Fehrer.

He was widely criticised in the press at the time, it probably wasn't the smartest thing to say (even if he did have a point). I'm not sure an apology is necessary.

Did Neil Lennon not ask for it?

Motherwell - part time celtc afflicted drama queens.

They piss me off. Not as much as celtc or rangers, but they DO piss me off.

That said, they are insignificant in the world today. Let's hope we stick 3 past them anaw.

Note: that doesn't mean I think any less of the minutes silence for O'Donnell to be observed in Scotland, by his colleagues and opposition. That, was the right thing to do. And indeed, a mark of respect given the man died playing fitba.

**** them

Hope we pump the **** out of them on Saturday..

*This is in no way aimed at or meant to offend PO'D, his family, friends etc etc...

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sprouleflyer View Post
    Was it a nationwide minutes silence??

If it wasn't, why are they moaning???
    according to calderwood there was nothing from the football league on it.

actually i agree with him on this one. whilst common decency alone dictates that in scotland we adhere to a minutes silence for a scottish player it becomes a bit silly when it is expected by supporters that this is done in other countries too.

if we want to carry on like that it won't be too long before we are having minutes silence at games for peoples pets.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Calderwood questioned why there should be a minutes silence in England when it was a Scottish player who died in Scotland.

He pointed out there had been no minutes silence for Marc Vivien Foe (with the exception of the clubs he played for) or Miklos Fehrer.

He was widely criticised in the press at the time, it probably wasn't the smartest thing to say (even if he did have a point). I'm not sure an apology is necessary.
    Ok I might have my Hibs tinted specs on but imo CC was spot on in what he said. It was fair enough for all Scottish Clubs to stage & respect a minutes silence but where do you stop after that? (England, Wales, France, Lithuania etc etc)

Maybe it was an unnecessary remark but that doesn't make it a wrong one.

@hibs.net private member Green_one's Avatar
    For something in 2007!! God these guys have good memories

Though they do call themselves the Steelmen and they have not made that in Motherwell for a long long time. More like the Dolemen.

The whole thing was overplayed at the time, as it always is with ex OF players. I can remember when Davie Cooper died you would have thought the guy was the white Pele.

No Hibs manager is apologising to that bunch for something that happened at Nottingham three years ago. If they want to raise the temperature of the game, then great!! Perhaps they will apologise to all the creditors they cost millions to.

Thoughts?

Why apologise for something you think that what you have done is right

Do these Lanarkshire tosspots think that CC is gonna change his mind because they think he's wrong

No doubt we'll see a banner from the travelling masses on Saturday

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    Why apologise for something you think that what you have done is right

Do these Lanarkshire tosspots think that CC is gonna change his mind because they think he's wrong

No doubt we'll see a banner from the travelling masses on Saturday
    Motherwell say they dont want to be disrespectful to hibs or O'Donnell's family ..if so they should just back off & let it go ...regurgitating this old news imo is being disrespectful ..

Its about time those ****ers moved wi the times !!

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Ok I might have my Hibs tinted specs on but imo CC was spot on in what he said. It was fair enough for all Scottish Clubs to stage & respect a minutes silence but where do you stop after that? (England, Wales, France, Lithuania etc etc)

Maybe it was an unnecessary remark but that doesn't make it a wrong one.
    Agree no case to answer and no need for apology

I remember Calderwood making those comments at the time and I did think it was a bit of a crass thing to come out with, if I'm being perfectly honest.

After all, O'Donnell did play in England with Sheffield Wednesday so it's not as if he had no connections with English football at all and also, I realise that in football terms Scotland and England are separate but it was still a British football player who had just lost his life on the pitch so I don't think it was asking too much for there to be a minute's silence at all British games that weekend.

Having said that, it was almost three years ago now and I don't think the Motherwell fans should really be dragging up the past.

Hopefully this won't be the talking point at Saturday's match.

Surely something like this would be organised by the club secretary anyway? I would doubt that the role of Forest manager would entail organising tributes regardless of where the person has died

Storm in a tea-pot.

IIRC Dundee United were forced to play their next fixture, despite having watched a man collapse and die on the pitch.

Personally I'm not sure that had an English Notts Forest player died in the same way, we'd have been having a minutes silence at Fir Park or Easter Road.

Quote Originally Posted by Cropley10 View Post
    Storm in a tea-pot.

IIRC Dundee United were forced to play their next fixture, despite having watched a man collapse and die on the pitch.

Personally I'm not sure that had an English Notts Forest player died in the same way, we'd have been having a minutes silence at Fir Park or Easter Road.
    I agree there wasnt a minutes silence in Scotland when an Exeter player died recently from a very swift bout of cancer.

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07

Quote Originally Posted by skipster7 View Post

I don't think he was obliged to apologise, but he has chosen to do so. I think they were looking to go into the game at the weekend perched on some sort of moral high ground. He's unexpectedly taken the wind out of their sails and I hope we go on to stuff them.

Motherwell fans want an apology from Colin Calderwood...

and he should tell the tae bolt

@hibs.net private member St.Kristopher's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    and he should tell the tae bolt
    Well thats one approach. The other is to be more civilised - say sorry no offence meant and we can all get back to talking about the football. I just wish CC would do that instead...oh wait what's this?
    Last edited by St.Kristopher; 11-11-2010 at 02:42 PM.

First Team Breakthrough persevere1875's Avatar

" Motherwell fans had demanded such an apology ahead of their sides Scottish Premier league visit to Easter Rd on Sunday "

Or What ??!!, Yer No coming if you don't get what you want ?? Sort yourselves out and grow up, muppett's

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

That should surely be the end of the matter.

Class from Coco! Spot on (again...)

Left by mutual consent! New Corrie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by McVey View Post
    Well thats one approach. The other is to be more civilised - say sorry no offence meant and we can all get back to talking about the football. I just wish CC would do that instead...oh wait what's this?

Quite right, glad CC has adressed this and we can now move on.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar

CC apologises to Well fans over O'Donnell comments.

A classic 'non apology' apology from Calderwood there, like it.

No point making a big deal out of it, but a very responsible and tactful apology from Calderwood there.

He's handled that situation very well, IMHO.

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    CC handled that very well, however motherwell are at it and have to say if he had told them to bolt I wouldn't have cared less, in fact if he chose to take a dump on pa broons lawn I'd buy him a pint