Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

John Rankin in The Sun (and other papers)

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...ose-ranks.html

Can someone tell me why Hibs would get John Rankin to promote half season tickets

Rankin can talk a good game, all this stuff about stepping up and he quoted We all need to step forward and say 'No one else is going to do it, it needs to be ME', and deal with it from there well no s##t sherlock its been like this for months now and you are one of the main culprits

This guy has had too many chances and should never wear a Hibs jersey again along with many others.

His derby performance was one of the worst I have seen in a long time hence why he got taken off at half time.
    Last edited by KiddA; 10-11-2010 at 05:21 AM.

Diddy should be on page 3 with Nishy

True TQM......if that happened a bigger pair of t**s that paper wouldn't have seen since Sam Fox.

Rent a quote is also in the Metro spouting nonsense..

What happened to doing your talking on the park

Quote Originally Posted by Newhaven View Post

Deary me

When he does his talkin' on the park, it's mair *****e than is in that article. I'd prefer he was never on the park ever again tae be able tae do anything. He's one of the worst players we have and one of many who simply isnae good enough.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 10-11-2010 at 06:45 AM.

Rankin will be one if the players CC keeps get used to it.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by Newhaven View Post

I've just read that. I found myself getting angry as I read it. Does he not understand he is one of the weakest links. He's horrible. SFL material (a bit like Hibs at the moment)

Player gets asked to speak to press and says the things that CC wants us to hear. Hardly a shock or an excuse for further venting of the spleen is it?
    Should Ranks should have refused to carry out his contractual duties? Or just said, ' The team is crap, I am totally pish and we are all doomed. '

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Dinnae see him being long in the job if he cannae improve on the likes of Rankin, poor (and that's being kind) quality players like him are one of the reasons we cannae win.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Player gets asked to speak to press and says the things that CC wants us to hear. Hardly a shock or an excuse for further venting of the spleen is it?
    Should Ranks should have refused to carry out his contractual duties? Or just said, ' The team is crap, I am totally pish and we are all doomed. '
    Would just be the truth, we can all see it anyway so it's hardly fooling anybody.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Would just be the truth, we can all see it anyway so it's hardly fooling anybody.
    Possibly. But that's not how the media game works. We shouldn't be shocked or wound up when we get the same old stuff rolled out again. Maybe old age has just mellowed me.

Quote Originally Posted by KiddA View Post

Can someone tell me why Hibs would get John Rankin to promote half season tickets

Rankin can talk a good game, all this stuff about stepping up and he quoted We all need to step forward and say 'No one else is going to do it, it needs to be ME', and deal with it from there well no s##t sherlock its been like this for months now and you are one of the main culprits

This guy has had too many chances and should never wear a Hibs jersey again along with many others.

His derby performance was one of the worst I have seen in a long time hence why he got taken off at half time.
    Unbelievable.

Quote Originally Posted by KiddA View Post

Murray would have been a better choice as his injuries have distanced himself from the team's recent dismal performances.

The club is not doing Rankin any favours.

You're just saying that to be mean. A fiver to Dnipro says he doesn't?

Player gets asked to speak to press and says the things that CC wants us to hear. Hardly a shock or an excuse for further venting of the spleen is it? Should Ranks should have refused to carry out his contractual duties? Or just said, ' The team is crap, I am totally pish and we are all doomed. '
    Quite so. Of course it may have been better had the captain spoken to the press & explained the situation & the possible remedies.

Maybe not.

Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
    Murray would have been a better choice as his injuries have distanced himself from the team's recent dismal performances.

The club is not doing Rankin any favours.
    i would have gave Zemmama the job of promoting the half season tickets... would have gave him a chance to report on his injury and his impending return... he's the only player that would excite the fans and is a tiny tiny tiny ray of hope..... that is aslong as he stays fit!!

well. were in deep doo doo then and that article by lois stevenson last week? he should be binned as well

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post
    i would have gave Zemmama the job of promoting the half season tickets... would have gave him a chance to report on his injury and his impending return... he's the only player that would excite the fans and is a tiny tiny tiny ray of hope..... that is aslong as he stays fit!!
    Then cue all the angst ridden posts about Hibs being cynical, glossing over the issues, and trying to pull the wool over our eyes that there is a problem, and allowing the current players to "hide" - whilst shamelessly exploiting Zemmama.

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    John Rankin?

Pathetic excuse of a player and its quite laughable that he is the one doing the talking.

I agree with the above post of getting Zouma to do it, at least he has the ability to back up the talk. Classy act he is my favourite player IMO.
    ​​
    Scottish Cup Winners 2016 - The Immortals

Quote Originally Posted by Disc O'Dave View Post
    Then cue all the angst ridden posts about Hibs being cynical, glossing over the issues, and trying to pull the wool over our eyes that there is a problem, and allowing the current players to "hide" - whilst shamelessly exploiting Zemmama.

us hibs fans are horrible eh!!

The club should be using the Manager to push season tickets sales at the moment.

IIRC it was Rankin who pushed the excellent 10 monthly payments Season Ticket scheme.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    [QUOTE=smurf;2632360]The club should be using the Manager to push season tickets sales at the moment.
    QUOTE]

Maybe he's too busy trying to sort out the problems on the field and looking for suitable replacements come January. BTW I wouldnt be that surprised if Rankin is Captain tonight.

[QUOTE=Argylehibby;2632367]
    Quote Originally Posted by smurf View Post
    The club should be using the Manager to push season tickets sales at the moment.
    QUOTE]

Maybe he's too busy trying to sort out the problems on the field and looking for suitable replacements come January. BTW I wouldnt be that surprised if Rankin is Captain tonight.
    Make a Captain out of a player hooked on Sunday at HT for being Rafael Scheicht in an Edinburgh Derby?

Hope not.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    [QUOTE=smurf;2632386]
    Quote Originally Posted by Argylehibby View Post

Make a Captain out of a player hooked on Sunday at HT for being Rafael Scheicht in an Edinburgh Derby?

Hope not.
    I hope not too, but I could see it happening.

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar

Hibs need to stop Rankin talking to the Hootsman

I fear the worst tonight. Everytime Rankin speaks to the press we get a good hiding in the next match. It is not as if he has anything to contribute either in the papers or on the pitch.

Presumably if John Rankin were to save some children from a burning Orphanage tonight, the first thread about it would be entitled:

"Rankin touches hot kids"

® Russel Howard

Quote Originally Posted by Disc O'Dave View Post
    Presumably if John Rankin were to save some children from a burning Orphanage tonight, the first thread about it would be entitled:

"Rankin touches hot kids"

® Russel Howard
    Spot on

I think Rankin is a hopeless player and nowhere near the standard we need. I do not however, think he's the Antichrist. Imagine if it was Rankin who idiotically got himself sent off on Sunday, instead of He Who Can Do No Wrong.

Two threads about him this morning, and neither of them related to his football ability.

Burn the witch!!!

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    I have just noticed over the years, that everytime he opens his mouth in the papers, we get beat, even when we are playing well. My comments about him being crap were an afterthought. My man point was about the coincidence......

Possibly. But that's not how the media game works. We shouldn't be shocked or wound up when we get the same old stuff rolled out again. Maybe old age has just mellowed me.
    No me.
    The f'kn lot of them need to keep their trap shut. What's wrong with a polite no comment.
    There's 3 articles on EEN online, judging by the headlines they are all the same vein.
    Exactly who are they trying to kid.....no us that's for sure. Unless they think we are really that stupid.
    They are daein my heid in

Quote Originally Posted by vahibbie View Post
    No me.
    The f'kn lot of them need to keep their trap shut. What's wrong with a polite no comment.
    There's 3 articles on EEN online, judging by the headlines they are all the same vein.
    Exactly who are they trying to kid.....no us that's for sure. Unless they think we are really that stupid.
    They are daein my heid in
    I understand the sentiment but it wasn't an option. He is promoting the half season tickets as he will be contractually obliged to do. The papers aren't going to publish anything without an interview so Rankin had to give one. It's no big deal.

What happens out on the park on the other hand....................