Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

Big Davie interview

http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianf...n-a.6478573.jp

"There was a wee worry at the back of my mind that going away with Wales might push me out of the manager's thoughts as I missed the trip to Blackpool because of it.

But he has faith in me and it completed the biggest week of my career so far, my first cap for Wales Under-21s, my SPL debut and a win - it was as good as it gets.

I'd been on stand-by for the Welsh Under-21 squad in the past but it was great to get a start and I feel I did well. However, I'm someone who sets high standards for himself and although it's been a week to remember I'm well aware that I am a very young player who is far removed from the finished article, someone with a lot of hard work in front of him."

I like this lad.

So is he the first Welshman to play for Hibs? I vaguely remember a thread way back about players' nationalities.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    So is he the first Welshman to play for Hibs? I vaguely remember a thread way back about players' nationalities.
    I'm fairly sure he isn't.

But don't ask me who the others were.

For a young lad he seems to have a very mature attitude. If we played him alongside Bamba, do you think he'd have a steadying influence on Big Sol?

First Team Breakthrough cockneymike's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post

If we played him alongside Bamba, do you think he'd have a steadying influence on Big Sol?
    I don't know about that, but I'm sure that he'd have an intimidating influence on opposition strikers!

I like the look of him too, but did Wales U21s not get stuffed????

If Big Sol stays for the season ahead this young lad could be in the mold.

Succession planning, I love it!
    Space to let

I had always thought / assumed that Gareth Evans was Welsh.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Mervyn Jones sounds like he should have been Welsh.

Bobby Atherton, back in the days when I don't even think the Asbo stand was around.

Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
    Naw - born in Coventry

Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    I thought he was when he was playing for us - only found out the truth later. He was nicknamed Taff by the coaching staff too.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Naw - born in Coventry

I thought he was when he was playing for us - only found out the truth later. He was nicknamed Taff by the coaching staff too.
    Aye me too.......We are of a similar vintage.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    It may be a total figment of my imagination but for some reason I've a feeling that Mervyn Jones was a nephew of John Greig?

In fact - how could I possibly think that if it was not true?

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    It may be a total figment of my imagination but for some reason I've a feeling that Mervyn Jones was a nephew of John Greig?

It is indeed true. I checked through Jim Jeffrey's book Hibernian - The Players and Managers 1946-2009 and it appears that we've had no Welsh-born players since the end of the Second World War.

Bobby Atherton's the only Welsh international to play for us - I'm sure of that. (Checked it round the websites.)
    Last edited by --------; 17-08-2010 at 12:00 PM.

Was Bobby Atherton the captain when we last won the Scottish cup?
    Could be a good omen

He is from Coventry!

Born in Coventry as other have mentioned.

Always remember Gareth was actually very homesick after a few months at ER , More than 20 years later he is still with the Hibees

Quote Originally Posted by calumb View Post
    Was Bobby Atherton the captain when we last won the Scottish cup?
    Could be a good omen
    Jeez starting to think ma posts are invisible

Posted this fact twice on two different threads.

...and no. I wisnae there'

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CapitalHibs View Post

Bobby Atherton was Welsh, wasn't he?

Can anyone clarify?

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post

Can anyone clarify?
    I'm glad you mentioned that. I'd forgotten about him, and nobody else on the board seems to have mentioned him either.

Nope

Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    Nope

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Bobby Atherton, back in the days when I don't even think the Asbo stand was around.
    Yep

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post

Yep

:notworthy:
    This is how it feels

Can anyone clarify?
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    I'm glad you mentioned that. I'd forgotten about him, and nobody else on the board seems to have mentioned him either.

Well, that clears that up then

OOPS - sorry - i dinnae read half the stuff put on here --
    so i take it he was a cup winning captain and he was also welsh

Well, that clears that up then
    Who's there?

Did somebody speak?

Yes he was 1902 was a great year for the Hibbie Welsh

ps thank you for confirming my posts are not invisible.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    It's a disgrace that CapitalHibs hasn't posted some sort of thank you for reading his posts after all the whinging he was doing.

I agree. Who does he think he is?