Kurtis Byrne - "Star in the making"

So says Stevie Crawford

ps - Apologies if already posted

Not if you ask me.

It takes billions of years for molecules of Hydrogen, floating around in space, to come together in sufficient mass to eventually coalesce into a protostar (the first stage)--it usually takes another event, such as the shockwave from a supernova, allowing gravity to come into play, for this to happen.

But that's only the beginning. Another 100,000 years or so later, when the protostar has gathered all the gas that it can, it becomes a very hot ball of gas called a T Tauri star. It still doesn't have enough mass, and hence pressure, to begin internal nuclear fusion, even though it can appear as bright as a regular star.

It's going to take gravity around another 100 million years to collapse the T Tauri to the point where it's core can begin nuclear fusion. This is the point at which you can say that the star is 'born'.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle A View Post
    It takes billions of years for molecules of Hydrogen, floating around in space, to come together in sufficient mass to eventually coalesce into a protostar (the first stage)--it usually takes another event, such as the shockwave from a supernova, allowing gravity to come into play, for this to happen.

But that's only the beginning. Another 100,000 years or so later, when the protostar has gathered all the gas that it can, it becomes a very hot ball of gas called a T Tauri star. It still doesn't have enough mass, and hence pressure, to begin internal nuclear fusion, even though it can appear as bright as a regular star.

It's going to take gravity around another 100 million years to collapse the T Tauri to the point where it's core can begin nuclear fusion. This is the point at which you can say that the star is 'born'.
    Should you not be out watching those meteors?

Byrne better get a move on then or the season'll be over before he can say 'Bayview'.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Milky View Post

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Not if you ask me.
    Who asked you?

He could do worse than learn from Crawford....as I said previously hope he does a Kenny Miller...who went to Stenny banging them in playing against men in tough league and came back and just carried on in top league

Can u please start up ur own thread where u explain all of the things that dudes like me have no scooby about..........

Quote Originally Posted by Delboy* View Post

Can u please start up ur own thread where u explain all of the things that dudes like me have no scooby about..........

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

there ya go

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar

move over patrick moore

id love to see byrne do well, heres hoping he comes back a better player, defo think the loan move will do him good

by the time Byrne becomes a star his contract with Hibs will be up

Kurtis Byrne, is that Johns brother?

Quote Originally Posted by random sub View Post
    by the time Byrne becomes a star his contract with Hibs will be up
    Aye and then Sellick come along and take him away from this hell that is Hibs

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I like Kurtis. Nice laddie who seemed chuffed that i'd asked him to sign my boys top at a hibs kids thing at east mains

Hope he bangs a few in over the next few months.

Did Deek get recalled from loan when he was younger ? Scored a bucket load IIRC.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar

Which is what yer East Mains was built to do, just a bit faster

I mean c'mon - all those unexplained additional hectares??? Perfect for constructing some sort of nuclear fusion 'hothouse' that rapidly progresses the likes of Byrne from promising youngster to genuine celestial body.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Kurtis

Good to hear something positive being said about Kurtis. He is a smashing laddie and has his feet on the ground. This loan spell will hopefully help bring him to Yogis attention again.
    Like all youngsters he is desperate to play football. He is loving being on the park again and scoring the goals.
    He will do well to heed what Stevie tells him as he too was a tremendous striker.

Good luck Kurtis and keep banging them in!

If i remember correctly Derek was recalled from Cowdenbeath where Keith and Mickey were in charge, by Alex Miller. He had just started banging in the goals for them when Miller decided it was time for him to do it for Hibs.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stantons Angel View Post
    Good to hear something positive being said about Kurtis. He is a smashing laddie and has his feet on the ground. This loan spell will hopefully help bring him to Yogis attention again.
    Like all youngsters he is desperate to play football. He is loving being on the park again and scoring the goals.
    He will do well to heed what Stevie tells him as he too was a tremendous striker.

If i remember correctly Derek was recalled from Cowdenbeath where Keith and Mickey were in charge, by Alex Miller. He had just started banging in the goals for them when Miller decided it was time for him to do it for Hibs.
    Couldny have been Alex Miller shirly ??? Deeks no that auld
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Couldny have been Alex Miller shirly ??? Deeks no that auld
    made his debut in 2001 so it was under Mcleish or Sauzee.

went to cowdenbeath in 2003 scoring 3 goals in 2 games so it was Williamson who recalled him

made his debut in 2001 so it was under Mcleish or Sauzee.

went to cowdenbeath in 2003 scoring 3 goals in 2 games so it was Williamson who recalled him
    McLeish.

He was re-called because Luna was sold and we were short ostrikers.

Now that I think about it, it could've been Sauzee.

Or Blobby.

Quote Originally Posted by Stantons Angel View Post

Alex Miller left Hibs in 1996, Derek Riordan is 27 years old, if Deek was recalled by Miller it would have to have been prior to the 30th of September 1996 (the date Miller left), at which point Deek was 13 years old.

That was SOME effort for him to have made a success of his loan move at such a tender age.

Kurtis

Thanks for the History lesson boys... think it was Williamson who recalled him.
    So many posts correcting me and yet not agreeing with each other. It goes to show we were all a bit confused on that one.

However the post was about Kurtis, who will also be a top class player for Hibs if given the chance.

Enjoy the season ahead and keep smiling all of you!

I always thought Kurtis had the potential to make it at Hibs, and the loan move might work out great for him. He's a very talented player, with a great 'football brain', and is a really nice, down to earth guy as well.

I hope he gets the break he deserves at Hibs and proves himself at this level, because he certainly deserves it.

With the scrapping of the reserve league sending players older than 19 out on loan is the only way for clubs these days to give them any sort of competitive football if they're not first choice. I'm sure any sort of semi-serious injury between now and january to any striker he'll be recalled.

I don't really see it with Byrne but hope to be proved wrong.

I think he has enough skill and ability to be a Hibs player. He is also more intelligent than your average striker which in my book coupled with the skill he has makes him a valuable asset. It is all about getting the break though at his age and you wonder with the likes of Kenny Miller and others breaking in to the first team at around the age of 17 years, well you just wonder.

Saw him [and the rest of the team] play in the U19 cup game the year before last in Dingwall. He was a stand out - along with Currie and Spoony IIRC. Didn't score that night [was one of the few who didn't LOL] but did everything but - bar, post, just over, just wide, plenty of good saves from keeper. Important part was that he didn't stop trying or believing he would score. He returned home still pissed off he hadn't scored which for me is a great trait for a striker to have. They all need that wee bit of selfishness and arrogance - the latter he showed also at the U19 cup final that year after scoring the winner when he ran to the Hibs fans and bowed!

Definitely knows the way to goal and if he gets a chance he can hopefully prove it. Agree with the other poster that getting the young lads out into a tough league to bulk up and get used to a higher level is required in most cases before hitting our first team.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs2006 View Post
    Kurtis Byrne, is that Johns brother?

Nah, the son of Jason Byrne but not as funny, unless you like to laugh at the fact that he, his dad and Steve Crawford thinks he's a star.