Maribor - Planes, Trains, Automobiles & Hotels

Thought it would be handy/interesting to consolidate in one thread showing how everyone is getting there, and where they are staying. I'll start:

Flying to/from Vienna with KLM via Amsterdam (going out at a 1250 Wed/returning 1750)
    Wednesday Night - Vienna in Hotel Atlantis
    Thursday - train from Vienna to Maribor (1003/1338)
    Thursday night - Maribor in Hotel Vila Emei
    Friday - Train back to Vienna (1022/1358) for 1750 flight

Cannae wait!!

Coaching Staff scott7_0(Prague)'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Zondervan View Post
    Thought it would be handy/interesting to consolidate in one thread showing how everyone is getting there, and where they are staying. I'll start:

Flying to/from Vienna with KLM via Amsterdam (going out at a 1250 Wed/returning 1750)

Cannae wait!!
    If i can get the time off and permission from the other half this is my plan.

Thursday,6 hour drive from Prague
    Hotel - Grand Hotel Ocean
    Friday return to Prague

Drive to East Midlands
    16.50 Ryanair flight to Treviso Wed
    Car hire at Treviso to Maribor
    Staying at Uni Hotel
    Return to Treviso for 20.30 or something flight back to East Midlands on Sat
    Drive home for about 3am Sunday

Total cost seems to be about £270

Costs

Cannae wait!!
    Have you got costings? I had a look and the best flights were £463, add train £104 return, add hotels £106! Total£673!!!!

If you can provide lower costs I'd be interested.

Tuesday:
    Evening Edinburgh - Munich Easyjet
    Stay in Eurostars Hotel Munich
    Wednesday:
    Train from Munich to Graz - Maribor
    Stay in Hotel Parimida
    Thursday:
    All day session - game at night, Hotel Paramida again.
    Friday:
    Train Maribor - Graz - Munich
    Late flight Munich - Edinburgh Easyjet.

TOTAL COST = £340 ish

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    HI Alan, It's Bomber BTW.

Posted this on a earlier thread - flying out weds, hiring a car on Thursday staying one night in Maribor, back up to Bratislava Friday Lunch time for 3 more nights and plane back early Monday evening.

My itinerary is, Edinburgh to Bratislava at £160.00 rtn and 4 nights B&B at £18.00 pp is looking like a snip. (still to book our hotel for the game) will do that tonight.

Also, just confirmed is our 7 seater car hire for 200 euros split between 6 with petrol will work out something in the region of £250.00.

The total package for a 5 night holiday should work out at around £300.00 pp.

First Team Regular erin-go-bragh87's Avatar
    Need help. Whats the airport that you would fly into if you flew from edinburgh? Am I right in thinking it would be Ljubljana? And that you can fly there from edinburgh on KLM??

Mon & Fri night - Ljubljana
    Tues & Wed night - Zagreb
    Thurs night - Hotel Uni
    Cannae wait!

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Mon & Fri night - Ljubljana
    Tues & Wed night - Zagreb
    Thurs night - Hotel Uni
    Cannae wait!
    Also 6 of us staying at the hotel Uni on the Thursday.

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    does anyone know if inter rail passes are ok to buy at the station. notice on the website that you can only purchase a week in advance. dont fancy being stranded in munich!

This morning - drove from London to Arnhem via the Eurotunnel.

Currently in Best Western Haarhuis in Arnhem until Sunday.

Between Sunday and Wednesday - somewhere in Europe

Wednesday and Thursday nights - Hotel Orel in Maribor

Friday - Verona I think

Sat/Sunday - somewhere in France

Sun - Eurotunnel back to London.

as above, but i've no got a chauffeur

i just get the pleasure off racing subaru imprezas

First Team Breakthrough aazza91's Avatar

Gamertag: azmo14
    Bus to London on tuesday night,
    Flying to Zagreb from Luton on wed morning
    Train from Zagreb to Maribor. Not sure what hotels called.
    Total cost for travel and 2 nights stay = £350ish

Im booked up in Villa Mira in Maribor but interesting tidbit - there is a hostel in Lake Bled called 'The George Best Hostel'

Im viewing that as a sign!

Im gutted & jealous...i will just have tae make do wi Blackpool ..may stop off at Porty for a candy floss & donkey ride on the way back ...

Promising Youngster STRAIGHT 2 HELL's Avatar
    wed: edin-heathrow-budapest-maribor(car hire)
    wed and thurs night: hotel uni
    friday: maribor-budapest-heathrow-edinburgh

Cannae wait!!

Oh dear! What can I say except, have fun

Please, for your own sake, don't go for a drink near the hotel. Head a bit further into town. If you like non-themed Irish Pubs, try the 'Backbone' halfway down Burg-gasse. You can get the bus if you want, 48A and only 2 stops, but it's not actually that far to walk.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Please, for your own sake, don't go for a drink near the hotel.
    For the locals sake, dont go drinking beside Zondervan's mob...............

First Team Breakthrough bandylegs_jLeighton's Avatar

Gamertag: dmcattack
    Quote Originally Posted by squire View Post
    Im booked up in Villa Mira in Maribor but interesting tidbit - there is a hostel in Lake Bled called 'The George Best Hostel'

Im viewing that as a sign!

That was my snapshot prior to sinking a few pints in said establishment. I'll keep the photo's from later that evening to myself.

Lake Bled was cracking.

Has anyone looked into flying to Trieste? I got the bus to from there into Slovenia. It cost pennies and did not take long at all. You could then get a one country inter-rail ticket for Slovenia which £25 for 12-25yr olds and £39 for adults and train your way across the country. In my experience it was none of these keep the windows closed for air conditioning numbers either, it's proper open the windows and get a blast of fresh air in your face and enjoy the scenery.

I don't know how that stacks up against the other options, but maybe some of you lucky folks that are going should look into that.

Flight from Gatwick to Vienna Wed 0725 2 and a bit hours
    Train from Vienna - Maribor 1403 3 1/2 hours
    Wed & Thu night at Hotel Uni

All in for £340

Absolutely buzzin'!! missed Athens due to being on tour in Kosovo, was on honeymoon for Dnipro so first 'proper' trip abroad with the Hibs

Cannae wait!!
    On the same trains thursday & friday but flying Aberdeen-Heathrow-Vienna at 14.00 on wednesday and Vienna-Heathrow-Aberdeen at 11.20 on Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Have you got costings? I had a look and the best flights were £463, add train £104 return, add hotels £106! Total£673!!!!

If you can provide lower costs I'd be interested.
    Guten Morgen from Arnhem (Tekno Kapital of Der Nederlandos).

We got lucky Dave - flight was £377, hotels £50 each, and return train £58. So all in under £500 and that was booked about 1630 on Thursday.

Train fare is based on a group of 6, which is discounted,

Anyway, gotta go as Der Tekno Musik is bleeding my brain and "The Man From Frankfurt with the Massive Schnitzel" is due to arrive at 1000 hour!

Hopefully see you in Slovenia, tag!
    Last edited by Zondervan; 24-07-2010 at 12:34 AM.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Wed - Perth-Edinburgh-Luton-Budapest
    Thur - Budapest-Maribor
    Fri - Maribor-Budapest-Luton-Edinburgh-Perth
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Wednesday Musselburgh - Manchester - Munich.
    Thursday Munich - Maribor
    Friday Maribor - Munich - Manchester - Musselburgh

Think I forgot something

Oh aye Money

First Team Breakthrough deek1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Wednesday Musselburgh - Manchester - Munich.
    Thursday Munich - Maribor
    Friday Maribor - Munich - Manchester - Musselburgh

Think I forgot something

Oh aye Money
    dito

First Team Breakthrough Josh 01's Avatar

Gamertag: josh hfc
    Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    Wed - Perth-Edinburgh-Luton-Budapest
    Thur - Budapest-Maribor
    Fri - Maribor-Budapest-Luton-Edinburgh-Perth

same way as me, my old boy and my mate except we are heathrow -budapest
    Whats your plans for getting from budapest to maribor?

I hope Hibs will beat Maribor and will play against Russian or Ukranian team next round.

@hibs.net private member s2hart's Avatar
    Weds

Heathrow 7.10am - Berlin - Graz £250
    Train Graz To Maribor ???
    Hotel Orel 2 nights Maribor £86

Thursday

Match Ticket £19(including special delivery royal mail, thats if it gets to me on time!!!)

Friday

train Maribor - Ljubljana £££
    Ljubljana 19.10 - Stanstead £78

Beer Tokens ??????????

Watching Hibs in Europe for the first time, absolutely priceless!!

Wed

Glasgow - Budapest
    Train Budapest to Maribor
    Staying in Vila Pekre. Not heard of any other hibbys stayin there

Fri

Ljubljana - Stansted, Friday night
    Stay in London overnight

Sat

Stansted - Edinburgh.

Comes in at around 300ish. Sorted
    Last edited by Bobby's Cinema; 24-07-2010 at 08:15 PM.

After ITA farce...

Edin -Manchester by car
    Manchester- Lljlubljana & pick up hire car (included in cost)
    LlJubljiana- Maribor
    Hotel Piramida

Fri (Very Early) Maribor-Llubljana
    LljLubljiana- Manchester arrive back UK 13.00
    Drive to Home
    Cost £409