@hibs.net private member Tricla's Avatar

Next game in Holland

When is it and who is it against?

Can't find a reference on the fishy site.

Cheers.

19/7 v NEC Nijmegen (19.00)

should we fair better against this team than we did against heracles?

We should get wee fat Joe Harper out of retirement for this game, last time we played Nijmegen in a friendly we beat them 5-0 and Joe scored the lot !

Quote Originally Posted by the stig View Post
    should we fair better against this team than we did against heracles?
    http://www.wsn.com/football/dutch-er...ble-2009-2010/

We should beat Nijmegen and ADO, if we dont then there is something seriously wrong.Even in a friendly, remember they are also playing a friendly.For ADO this is ADO,s first big test this pre season.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    We should beat Nijmegen and ADO, if we dont then there is something seriously wrong.Even in a friendly, remember they are also playing a friendly.For ADO this is ADO,s first big test this pre season.
    Totally disagree, the result doesn't matter at all, if it gets the players a bit fitter and we find out if something does or doesn't work then that's what it's all about.

I remember an ex manager, sorry, can't remember who, explaining that a lot of the time in pre-season, the players will have a full training session on the day of the game so thats why a lot of pre-season games produce strange results.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Whats the standard in the dutch league?? we all know about Ajax and Feyenoord etc what about the teams we are playing?

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Euphoria1875 View Post
    Whats the standard in the dutch league?? we all know about Ajax and Feyenoord etc what about the teams we are playing?
    vitesse are a semi decent team! should be a good game against them!

stadium is quite smart too! i was at a dance event in october last year there!

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Ajax scored 106 goals and still didn't win the league...that's amazing.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Totally disagree, the result doesn't matter at all, if it gets the players a bit fitter and we find out if something does or doesn't work then that's what it's all about.

I remember an ex manager, sorry, can't remember who, explaining that a lot of the time in pre-season, the players will have a full training session on the day of the game so thats why a lot of pre-season games produce strange results.
    I think the result does matter in one or two of our friendlies (not all of course), it cant help the team if they keep losing,even if they are getting fit.
    Euphoria 1875
    The standard of football in the Dutch League is very high, although the teams in the lower half of the lleague struggle for points they still try to play fitba, all these teams would beat hertz(if that helps) the same with ADO whom we play on wednesday not the best team but their fitba at times was great to watch,they have an organisation, fight and a spirit that some Scottish teams cant match.

@hibs.net private member Tricla's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by FT'J'Bo's View Post
    Ta. Couldnae see that for looking at it!

Tonights game against NEC Nijmegen is being played in the wee town of Herpen 7pm ko so thats 6pm sunny Leith time. NEC finished 13th in last season's Dutch League so the assumption is that this should be less of a test than Friday's game where opponents Heracles Almelo finished 6th, just missing out on European qualification.

At the end of the day, these results mean little really. They're what I call "lungbusters'' - just all about getting the fitness & match fitness levels up to scratch. On the other hand of course we're only now 3 friendly games away from a Europa League qualifier so you would expect the last couple of games of the tour to feature our strongest line-up to let the new additions build up an understanding with the other players before the real games beginn.