Some Hibs vintage here

Those of a certain vintage will recall some of these games .. Old British Pathe footage of the Hibees - enjoy!

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    quality mate nothing wrong wi our goal v clyde [just ask diego]

Quote Originally Posted by The_Quiet_Man View Post
    Those of a certain vintage will recall some of these games .. Old British Pathe footage of the Hibees - enjoy!
    http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=29657

Think I've just spotted Doddie at 1 min 24 seconds.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=29657

Think I've just spotted Doddie at 1 min 24 seconds.

That's me right enough, guys - a right wee sunbeam I was too.

It's being so cheerful that keeps me going, you know.....

First Team Breakthrough Oscar Lomax's Avatar
    Great post mate....My Dad is loving this, as he was at all these games....

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Lomax View Post
    Aye - he was the guy who stole my lollipop at Stark's Park.

That was why I was so grumpy.

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Lomax View Post
    The days of when men were men.

Can you imagine some of those modern day nancy boys running about with boots as heavy as hoose and a ball heavier than the wife.

Easter Road of old in this one.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=40292

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Quiet_Man View Post
    Quality find TQM, that put a proper smile on ma coupon, watching them training at ER with Tam McCourt flying up and down the park in his ride on mower was a sight to behold !
    Never one to laugh at others misfortune but today could only have been improved by rangers getting horsed and God pissing down a meteor shower of fifty pound notes on Edinburgh

Copyright BadMartini Wed 27th Jan 2010

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=13552

2mins 15secs to 3mins 04 secs The Cabbage pumping the Huns 2-0 at Easter Road in 3rd round replay of Scottish Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by wazoo1875 View Post
    Quality find TQM, that put a proper smile on ma coupon, watching them training at ER with Tam McCourt flying up and down the park in his ride on mower was a sight to behold !
    just watched that one......black and white......nae sound.........and Jonnyboy STILL thinks it's the cutting edge of technology

as an aside,could anybody put a rough approximisation,of what is being said(or thought),in subtitles to that clip

Quote Originally Posted by jabis View Post
    just watched that one......black and white......nae sound.........and Jonnyboy STILL thinks it's the cutting edge of technology

as an aside,could anybody put a rough approximisation,of what is being said(or thought),in subtitles to that clip
    Which of course it was/is

Black and white so no need for away strips and nae sound means you don't have to listen to the drivel coming out of BBC?ITV?SKY/ESPN commentators' gobs
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Which of course it was/is

Black and white so no need for away strips and nae sound means you don't have to listen to the drivel coming out of BBC?ITV?SKY/ESPN commentators' gobs

Absolutely right, John.

This is a nice one I found on the same site:

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=39372

Tommy Younger in goal, and a couple of sprightly young Hibees scoring, one in each half - even if the Austrian cameraman almost manages to miss the header at the end....

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Absolutely right, John.

This is a nice one I found on the same site:

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=39372

Tommy Younger in goal, and a couple of sprightly young Hibees scoring, one in each half - even if the Austrian cameraman almost manages to miss the header at the end....
    Fabulous stuff
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Fabulous stuff

Commentaries were different class in those days: "It seemed as if the Scotland players themselves were about to be attacked as the crowd turns ugly..."

Pardon me, mate, but from what I could see the crowd was pretty ugly to start with...

Really convincing bit of simulation from the Austrian inside-forward, too.

Gordon Smith (7) captaining Scotland, too.