Carlisle v Hibs Pre -season, confirmed 1/8 (a Sunday)

should be a topper of a day out! Carlisle is magic.

http://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/page...058358,00.html

Looking forward to it already

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post

Ya beauty, should be a great trip.

Baring in mind though they'll probably put out a weak line-up cause it's inbetween our two Europa League games and they won't want any injuries.

Hmm. Mid way between the two legs of the Third Round of the Europa League (29/7 and 5/8).
    Last edited by jgl07; 24-05-2010 at 02:25 PM.

First Team Breakthrough persevere1875's Avatar
    Has this been organised as part of a transfer sweetener bearing in mind the rumours that have been circulating ????

First Team Breakthrough paxtonhibby's Avatar
    Its the 1st of August not the 2nd.

http://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10361~2058358,00.html

Believe me mate Carlisle ain't magic it's full of bams and anyone travelling there for the game should take extra care especially in the town centre at night, please take this warning seriously as I've been there numerous times in past few years and they have a tasty mob of fans who are pretty wild as well.

Quote Originally Posted by paxtonhibby View Post
    Its the 1st of August not the 2nd.
    Title amended.

We haven't planned any summer holidays - so we will be there :notworthy:

Very disappointed with so fars friendlies.....no big games at all!

Usually we play a couple of premiership teams! So far Carlisle is the furthest were going!

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Believe me mate Carlisle ain't magic it's full of bams and anyone travelling there for the game should take extra care especially in the town centre at night, please take this warning seriously as I've been there numerous times in past few years and they have a tasty mob of fans who are pretty wild as well.

Carlisle town centre on the weekend is full of nutcases. Very cheap drink and loads of groups who have been out on the peeve all day is not a good combination.

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post

Carlisle town centre on the weekend is full of nutcases. Very cheap drink and loads of groups who have been out on the peeve all day is not a good combination.
    Agree and they have a very decent mob that has a bit of previous with Hibs through the years.

Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    Agree and they have a very decent mob that has a bit of previous with Hibs through the years.
    http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?1...09#post2477109

Not too sure about that - it's up there with Glasgow being a hole!

For years I've traveled all the way from Carlisle to Edinburgh to watch Hibs every week, and now I've actually moved up here, they go and bloody arrange a match in Carlisle!!

Typical!

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Cannae wait. Should be a cracker!!

Doubt it'll be as good as Bolton last year, though. What a day out that was

PSN ID: Euphoria1875

Returns from as little as £21.00 on trainline

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    Any idea/rumours of hibs going to play any premiership opposition, would rather see some english bigger teams?

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post

i'd probably agree with that although the same can be said for most smaller English towns (Luton and Northampton spring to mind).

But ive been down loads and it is a good place for a beer. The Botchergate is right beside the station and there's pubs a plenty (Walkabouts, Lloyds etc) but i fear Hibs will get shunted straight to BP. There are a few pubs beside the ground too. Carlisle's mob are almost all banned from BP and half of them are junkies now anyway, although i'd imagine they will be getting all Leeds united the fact Hibs are coming to town.

Its a shame, but Carlisle IS a damn good place to visit. But you can probably already sniff the scent of hoolies cashing in on this game....

Still, its only 1hr 20mins from Waverley and around £20 return and the pubs are cheaper down there. Surely worth a wee visit (just watch the local neds, some dont like us jocks!)

Went down a few years ago when they were playing Millwall and had a great time. The locals are good crack, and if you want to avoid bother you will.

Quote Originally Posted by Vlad_adora_el_gallo View Post
    Went down a few years ago when they were playing Millwall and had a great time. The locals are good crack, and if you want to avoid bother you will.
    i was at same game.

Always had a good rappor with the local lads.

Bit odd with the game being a Sunday, but pubs open bit earlier down there than they do here (around 10am), so we can enjoy a refreshment earlier than normal

One wee tip though, i'd probably avoid the Beehive pub (on Warwick Rd near ground) as its strictly a CUFC bar match days, dont think a 000's of screaming jocks would be made too welcome in there

Hibs may take over the town though
    Last edited by Hibernia Na Eir; 24-05-2010 at 07:27 PM.

Im surprised at the timing of this friendly, given we have UEFA ties on 29th July and 5th August.......

Quote Originally Posted by Delabooze View Post
    Im surprised at the timing of this friendly, given we have UEFA ties on 29th July and 5th August.......
    It might have something to do with getting match practice for the fringe players who did not feature in the 1st Europa cup game.

i was at same game.

Always had a good rappor with the local lads.
    Paul Dodd was trying to get the lads in the boozer to buy him a pint in exchange for some "war stories", the man is just a skag head now.

Quote Originally Posted by Vlad_adora_el_gallo View Post
    Paul Dodd was trying to get the lads in the boozer to buy him a pint in exchange for some "war stories", the man is just a skag head now.
    aye, seen him and his pals down at Carlisle Rugby club before game, all out their faces and im not sure it was just coke they'd been taking!

BUT they do have other genuine fans who are a good bunch. Trust me!

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    Hmm. Mid way between the two legs of the Third Round of the Europa League (29/7 and 5/8).
    exactly. bad timing if u ask me.

First team breakthrough HIBERNIAN 1875's Avatar
    Been told the Cumbrian Police didnt want the game to be on the saturday as they feared there would be too much trouble between the fans in the town centre at night, so thats why its being played on the sunday.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN 1875 View Post
    Been told the Cumbrian Police didnt want the game to be on the saturday as they feared there would be too much trouble between the fans in the town centre at night, so thats why its being played on the sunday.
    first thing i thought when i saw day and KO time. I reckon the difference between a Sat and a Sun game for Hibs numbers would be pretty big. Still, i think we will take a good 500-700 for this one. Worth taking the Monday off work and making a good day of it

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan69 View Post
    Very disappointed with so fars friendlies.....no big games at all!

Usually we play a couple of premiership teams! So far Carlisle is the furthest were going!
    hope the first euro tie isnt our first game