@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar

The World Cup and the 'Vuvuzela'

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vuvuzela

For those who don't know, the Vuvuzela is those brutally irritating horns that are blown by South African fans at football matches. They were very irritating during the Confederations Cup and I'd imagine they'll be out in force this year

There is talk of them being banned for the World Cup and I really hope they are

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Buster18 View Post

For those who don't know, the Vuvuzela is those brutally irritating horns that are blown by South African fans at football matches. They were very irritating during the Confederations Cup and I'd imagine they'll be out in force this year

Had to give up watching the confederations cup last year because of them.

Remember someone scored and there was absolutely no difference in the volume from the crowd, as much as i can't wait for the world cup i wish it wasn't being held in S.A

Are they as annoying as the ones Gretna used to use, as well as that ****ing drummer,he did my heid in big time.

I'm sure FIFA came out and said there was no chance of a ban because they're part of Africa's fitba culture or something.

Noise at a football game.... shock horror.

"Hey, mind keeping the noise down! I'm trying to concentrate on the game!"

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post

see if your still saying that at the end of the tournament

did you watch any of the confederations cup last year?

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post

You've obviously never heard them

First Team Breakthrough Simpson's Avatar
    It's the Livi drummers all over again

Hope these horns are banned though

they wont ban them. just hope that other fans dont cotton on to it. having said that i was blowing my horn non stop at the scottish cup final yesterday...that not an inuendo btw.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Are they as annoying as the ones Gretna used to use, as well as that ****ing drummer,he did my heid in big time.

Much, MUCH worse.

Like bingo, I gave up watching the Confederations Cup last year - the noise was utterly appalling - just went on and on and on and on....

Those things are awful.
    Last edited by --------; 16-05-2010 at 01:24 PM.

Left by mutual consent! Ed De Gramo's Avatar

PSN ID: Gramo
    Whilst they are nippy....I somehow managed to block them out.

Quote Originally Posted by Gramo View Post
    Whilst they are nippy....I somehow managed to block them out.

You still have baked beans in your ears, Gramo?

Maybe the TV companies will be able to make sure that the background noise level is low enough for us to hear the commentators without being driven mad by the horns? I hope so.

It's so stupid and mindless and pointless....

@hibs.net private member Cool_Hand_Luke's Avatar
    If you want to recreate that authentic world cup atmosphere in your own living room...you can get them here Vuvuzela

I might get one and take it along to Easter Road next season

Gamertag: mglancy23 Wii Code: 5354 5735 9094 1582

for those that missed out on listening to one

http://www.spitorswallow.co.za/blowme.php

Quote Originally Posted by Cool_Hand_Luke View Post
    If you want to recreate that authentic world cup atmosphere in your own living room...you can get them here Vuvuzela

I might get one and take it along to Easter Road next season

You'll be walking funny, then.

I don't mind noise, and I don't really mind horns or drums.

What I can't fathom is what on earth the point is of that constant, monotonous, unvarying, ear-splitting, mind-numbing, moronic drone....

@hibs.net private member Cool_Hand_Luke's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    You'll be walking funny, then.

I don't mind noise, and I don't really mind horns or drums.

What I can't fathom is what on earth the point is of that constant, monotonous, unvarying, ear-splitting, mind-numbing, moronic drone....
    It could still make a noise that way

thats the African way I'm affraid, the louder !!!! ??????????

and to make matters worse the bloody supermarkets are giving them away

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    if they are as annoying as being made out to be ill no bother watching i hate things like drummers, the pompey cow bell guy and vuvuzella load of pish bring back the SPL

Just bought mine today

No chance of them being banned and absolutely no reason for them to be banned. Football's a completely different thing here in Africa. In Britain we sing songs, In Africa they blow Vuvuzelas. Don't see the problem at all.

They are also surprisingly difficult to use

By the end of the Confederations Cup, I came to quite like them though hated them to begin with. Far better than drums I say--used to be the lower the league the louder the drum and would only find them when the late Setanta showed the Blue Square--which i miss. Now they are everywhere and very annoying. Never let there be one at ER please.

won't be quite like the Confederations Cup i'd of thought as most crowds will be non-South Africans at the WC.

either way i think we just have to accept it as something different at a World Cup in a new country.

First Team Regular steviecarnie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsdaft View Post
    won't be quite like the Confederations Cup i'd of thought as most crowds will be non-South Africans at the WC.

either way i think we just have to accept it as something different at a World Cup in a new country.
    im under the impression 40% of wc crowds are made up of locals, esp for group games.

First Team Breakthrough Supraninja's Avatar

Gamertag: liamRnumber1
    Quote Originally Posted by Storar View Post
    Just bought mine today

No chance of them being banned and absolutely no reason for them to be banned. Football's a completely different thing here in Africa. In Britain we sing songs, In Africa they blow Vuvuzelas. Don't see the problem at all.

Precisely. It's a world cup being held in Africa, I'm led to believe that in Africa they blow these horns at football matches, so why Europeanise it? Defeats the point of having the world cup in different countries if you ban the things that make each country's football experience different.

Quote Originally Posted by steviecarnie View Post
    im under the impression 40% of wc crowds are made up of locals, esp for group games.
    Good stuff, at the confederations cup it was about 100% locals and they were a pain in the erse!

@hibs.net private member Pheona's Avatar

Not a chance - they are being sold absolutely everywhere and being promoted by all and sundry....oh and there is now 3 in Edinburgh..... sorry 'bout that

@hibs.net private member Pheona's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Storar View Post
    Just bought mine today

Kak - they're very easy its all in the techinque. Which one did you buy?

F,n things are driving me nutsd over here and the WC husnae even started, kids all over the place are using them, drives you completely bonkers, sooner they are banned the better.

In a word - Annoying.