The Idiot's Guide To Hibs In Europe 2010/11

Help me, I'm confused and no wiser after reading all the threads and the strange wikipedia thingy.

1) Is it best for us if Dundee United or Ross County win?

2) If Dundee United win the cup, our dates in Europe are.......(fill in)

3) If Ross County win the cup, our dates in Europe are......(fill in)

4) If Dundee United win we will play teams like:

in the .........................round. If we win that tie we will be in the.............

5) If Ross County win we play teams like:

in the.........................round. If we win that tie we will be in the..............

Thank you!

@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc
    Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Help me, I'm confused and no wiser after reading all the threads and the strange wikipedia thingy.

1) Is it best for us if Dundee United or Ross County win?
    depends if you want an easy tie in the middle of nowhere - ross county.
    if you want a tie against a better team in a nice city with lesser chance of progress D Utd

2) If Dundee United win the cup, our dates in Europe are.......(fill in)
    29th July and 5thAugust

3) If Ross County win the cup, our dates in Europe are......(fill in)
    15th July and 22nd July

4) & 5)

IF dundee Utd DONT win the Scottish Cup we will be up against:
    Elfsborg (swe)
    Molde(nor)
    Stabaek (nor)
    Cibalia (cro)
    Inter Turku (fin)
    Honka (fin)
    Shamrock Robers (eir)
    Sporitng Fingal (eir)
    Suduva Marijampole (Lith)
    Atyrau (KAZ!)
    Bangor City (wal)
    Cliftonville (NI)
    Viking (Faroes)
    Ventspils (Lat)
    Maribor (slo)
    Breidablik (ice)
    Karpaty Lviv (Ukr)

as well as 3/4/5th placed teams from nations like Portugal Greece, Turkey, Czech, israel, Serbia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Poland, Austria, Belarus, Latvia, Georgia, Liechtenstein, Azerbaijan, Albania

AND

If Dundee utd DO win the Scottish cup we will be up against:

(half of the above)
    and
    Brugge (bel)
    Red Star Belgrade (ser)
    Hadjuk Split (cro)
    Stuttgart (ger)
    Sporting Lisbon (por)
    Juventus (ita)
    Napoli (ita)
    Galatasaray (tur)
    Besiktas (tur)
    Aston villa (eng)
    liverpool (eng)
    Apoel (isr)
    Dnipro (ukr)
    AZ Alkmaar (Hol)
    CSKA Moscow (rus)
    OB (Den)
    Beroe (bul)
    Aalesunds (nor)

As well as 3rd/4/5/6/7th placed teams / cup winners from Romania, Switzerland, Poland, Israel, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France

Thank you!

hopefully that should suffice!
    Last edited by MacBean; 10-05-2010 at 01:36 PM.
    Hibernian Football Club

Gamertag: Naw PSN ID: Naw Wii Code: Naw
    Put simply, we want DU to win the cup

Otherwise most peeps, who take the school holidays, are goosed

Moreso, we would have had at least a month of pre-season training and close to the start of the season, which seems to suit us

I remember the Intertoto debacles in early seasons, so naw to the romantic notion of RC winning

Sadly

First Team Regular erin-go-bragh87's Avatar
    How good would a draw versus Juventus be!! Cheeky away trip to Turin would be amazing!!

Quote Originally Posted by erin-go-bragh87 View Post
    How good would a draw versus Juventus be!! Cheeky away trip to Turin would be amazing!!
    That would be class, dont fancy a trip to Galatasary though, atmosphere would be good though.

I am desperate to watch Hibs abroad. If Dundee Utd win the cup the dates will clash with my holiday. I will be in turkey, so Galatasaray please

Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    That would be class, dont fancy a trip to Galatasary though, atmosphere would be good though.
    Think we'd be OK there to be honest. It's just the English (which is understandable) that have major problems anywhere they go.

30th birthday on 4th Aug...... a nice tie which won't cost too much to get to, would be great

First Team Breakthrough .SeventyFive's Avatar
    So essentially if Dundee United win the Scottish Cup, for us it will be as good as getting 3rd in the league in terms of what round we enter the Europa League.

Not bad at all.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    So we want the Arabs to win the Cup.

Because that way we start later and have the chance of a reasonable pre-season before we play.

If County win, we play a fortnight earlier, with no guarantee of progressing, and our pre-season's mucked up.

Got it. Thanks, HFC.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    i wouldnt mind a tie against bangor city.... trip to wales would be teckle!

then should we beat them we can get a wee trip to a country a bit further afield!

and how many rounds (assuming we play 27th July and 4th Aug), do we need to win to get into the group stage?

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_in_Prague View Post
    and how many rounds (assuming we play 27th July and 4th Aug), do we need to win to get into the group stage?

We would play the Third Qualifying Round (27/7 & 4/8) and then the "Play Off" round (19/8 & 26/8) (which is classed as the Europa League proper)

incidently. The draw for the 1st & 2nd Qual round is on 21st June and the draw for the 3rd Qual round is on 16th July
    Hibernian Football Club

First Team Breakthrough .SeventyFive's Avatar
    Two (if Dundee United win the Scottish Cup).

We would start in the 3rd Qualifying Round (potentially playing the likes of Juventus, Liverpool, Stuttgart) and then the Playoff Round (Man City, Porto, Aston Villa) before the Group Stages.

Hibernian Football Club

First Team Breakthrough cockneymike's Avatar
    Two - games on the dates you mention and then another a set of games (assuming we win through) on the 19th and 26th august, before the group stage which would begin on the 16th September, which would be played over 6 games finishing in December.

Full details are here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010%E2..._Europa_League

If DU Utd win the cup we enter in the 3rd qualifying round
    If RC win the cup we enter in the 2nd qualifying round

Quote Originally Posted by HFC_1875 View Post

We would play the Third Qualifying Round (27/7 & 4/8) and then the "Play Off" round (19/8 & 26/8) (which is classed as the Europa League proper)

incidently. The draw for the 1st & 2nd Qual round is on 21st June and the draw for the 3rd Qual round is on 16th July
    So we'll know who we play less than 2 weeks before the 1st leg?

that's poo.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    So we'll know who we play less than 2 weeks before the 1st leg?

that's poo.
    Exactly, nae cheap flights!

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    I'm saving my cash for the group stages.

I would love to get a top team like Juventus, we would get beaten easily in both legs but what a great experience that would be!
    Although i would also like to get a lesser team and get through to the group stages (unlikely).
    So as long as we don't get beaten by a diddy team i'm happy

Quote Originally Posted by green.and.white View Post
    I would love to get a top team like Juventus, we would get beaten easily in both legs but what a great experience that would be!
    Although i would also like to get a lesser team and get through to the group stages (unlikely).
    So as long as we don't get beaten by a diddy team i'm happy
    I'd much rather we got a team that we haven't played before.

As for getting beaten by diddy teams, I think we shipped 6 points to that pub team in West Edinburgh this season, so it's not likely to bother us if we get beaten by a Faroese select or something like that.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I'd much rather we got a team that we haven't played before.

As for getting beaten by diddy teams, I think we shipped 6 points to that pub team in West Edinburgh this season, so it's not likely to bother us if we get beaten by a Faroese select or something like that.
    8 points thought I would get in before a Yam did.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    8 points thought I would get in before a Yam did.
    Sorry, my guard was down. There's certainly no Yams on this thread.

Gamertag: HFC Owain
    Banger City

So basically, if DU win the cup, we will NOT be getting into the group stages of the Europa Cup, when you've got the likes of Liverpool, Villa, Juventus, Sporting Lisbon and Stuttgart in it as well. On the other hand, if RC win the cup, we've got a chance of playing Elfsborg again, and they horsed us an aw. Hmm....

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    So basically, if DU win the cup, we will NOT be getting into the group stages of the Europa Cup, when you've got the likes of Liverpool, Villa, Juventus, Sporting Lisbon and Stuttgart in it as well. On the other hand, if RC win the cup, we've got a chance of playing Elfsborg again, and they horsed us an aw. Hmm....

right,

either your confused, or you've just confused me.

if DU win the cup, we will be going into the tournament TWO rounds before the group stages. but in that round with the teams you mention above.

If RC win the cup we will be going into the round before that and face the likes of elfsborg et al.
    Hibernian Football Club

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I'm saving my cash for the group stages.
    How many qualifiers do we need to play to get to the group stages?

Quote Originally Posted by MB62 View Post

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    IIRC the knock rounds are seeded. How does this work and is there any chance we could get seeded?

Quote Originally Posted by MB62 View Post
    There speaks a man who can't be arsed reading the entire thread