World Cup - Mars Bars renamed

MARS bars are being renamed Believe to rally England fans for the World Cup.

Bosses hope it will inspire England to emulate Bobby Moore's 1966 World Cup winwith England. The chocolate bar will change later this month for the second time since it was made in 1920 and will revert to Mars after the tournament ends in July.

Andrea Taylor, of Mars, said: "As the nation's favourite chocolate bar, Mars is in an ideal position to fuel positivity for the World Cup."

The Believe range will also be sold in Scotland, Wales and Ireland , though with a more general philosophical message - as they failed to make the finals.

England Football Supporters Federation boss Malcolm Clarke said:
    "A Mars bar is still a Mars bar, whatever it's called. I guess some will see it as jumping on the bandwagon."

Rivals Nestle will also put images of England 's 1966 victory on Kit Kats and Yorkies.

Experts expect similar stunts from hundreds of other companies. Marketing magazine Brand Republic said: "It's the biggest sports marketing opportunity of the decade - companies don't want to be left behind".

This is the Tartan Army's response:

Thank christ I'm gonna be in Europe for the half of the World Cup England will be in.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Thus starts the quad-annual boycott of Mars bars.

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Never buy Mars bars anyway, not a big fan

They better keep away from Snickers though!
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar
    I work at Sports Direct at the St. James centre, and there are deals on a whole load of England for the world cup t-shirts etc. I wonder if they'd ever consider doing the ABE T-shirts, they'd sell like wild fire probably.

Quote Originally Posted by surreyhibbie View Post

They better keep away from Snickers though!
    They are Marathon bars.............not Snickers.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    I'm starting to see more and more England flags and banners around Hampshire as each day goes by.

There's every chance I'll get my face caved in during the month of June. The World Cup hasn't even started and I'm bristling already.

I almost got lynched in a furniture store last week after telling the salesmen I wanted my new sofa delivered before 11th June so I could "sit back in comfort and watch England get pumped".
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    They are Marathon bars.............not Snickers.

True, John, forgot myself for a minute there...

Still my fav, whatever they are called...
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

During the World Cup go into lots of shops, pick up a pile of goods and just before handing over the cash ask for a Mars Bar. When you are offered a Believe as a substitute tell the shopkeeper that if there are no Mars Bars on sale you won't take anything else either.

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    During the World Cup go into lots of shops, pick up a pile of goods and just before handing over the cash ask for a Mars Bar. When you are offered a Believe as a substitute tell the shopkeeper that if there are no Mars Bars on sale you won't take anything else either.
    Thats called being an arse. It wouldn't be the shopkeepers fault that mars have changed their name.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsboy90 View Post
    Thats called being an arse. It wouldn't be the shopkeepers fault that mars have changed their name.
    oh? Awrite,have tou got any offical "we support England bars " please? YES. ok . ram them up your ARSEBAR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    MARS bars are being renamed Believe to rally England fans for the World Cup.

Bosses hope it will inspire England to emulate Bobby Moore's 1966 World Cup winwith England. The chocolate bar will change later this month for the second time since it was made in 1920 and will revert to Mars after the tournament ends in July.

Andrea Taylor, of Mars, said: "As the nation's favourite chocolate bar, Mars is in an ideal position to fuel positivity for the World Cup."

The Believe range will also be sold in Scotland, Wales and Ireland , though with a more general philosophical message - as they failed to make the finals.

England Football Supporters Federation boss Malcolm Clarke said:
    "A Mars bar is still a Mars bar, whatever it's called. I guess some will see it as jumping on the bandwagon."

Rivals Nestle will also put images of England 's 1966 victory on Kit Kats and Yorkies.

Experts expect similar stunts from hundreds of other companies. Marketing magazine Brand Republic said: "It's the biggest sports marketing opportunity of the decade - companies don't want to be left behind".

This is the Tartan Army's response:

Wasn't even funny at the last world cup. Let them get on with it, slagging them off doesn't mean we qualified.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Wasn't even funny at the last world cup. Let them get on with it, slagging them off doesn't mean we qualified.
    Hows it slagging them off? Its just saying we wont be supporting them.

I think its funny and I know my 14 year old would spend a months pocket money on them as he hasn't bought a Mars Bar for over a month when he realised they were running the campaign.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    oh? Awrite,have tou got any offical "we support England bars " please? YES. ok . ram them up your ARSEBAR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    A wee bit OTT there monktonharp. I was referring to the fact that a customer would deliberately waste the time of a shopkeeper just because they only had mars bars with 'believe' written on them.

Would it not be easier to just continue shopping and not buy the 'believe' bar. Hence the 'arse' comment.

As long as Galaxy remains as it is then I'm safe...

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    I almost got lynched in a furniture store last week after telling the salesmen I wanted my new sofa delivered before 11th June so I could "sit back in comfort and watch England get pumped".

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    It's fine - after we horse them in game 1, no amount of re-branded chocolate will "inspire" them
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Irrelevant anyway. They are not having their name changed this year. Just the packets colours. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...World-Cup.html

What is this diddy competition in world football you all speak off?

Problem solved.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    It's fine - after we horse them in game 1, no amount of re-branded chocolate will "inspire" them

stop it

Quote Originally Posted by Gus View Post

stop it
    Here, Gus....just to say a warm, heart felt and most sincere........

ABE

ENDOF

Is it not quite sad how football and other sports allow chocolate and fast food companies to sponsor them?

All it's doing is encouraging young children to stuff their faces with crap.

They should be promoting healthy living... not this rubbish!

ABE

Never really understood this one, Mars Bars are one of the most unhealthiest snacks around yet they frequently hold wee competitions giving away free footballs...etc

and now are using England being in the world cup to market thier product.

Other brands are now set to do the same....why don't we just put a ban in place that stops all companies from making money from a sporting event if their product contains X amount of fat?

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Is it not quite sad how football and other sports allow chocolate and fast food companies to sponsor them?

All it's doing is encouraging young children to stuff their faces with crap.

They should be promoting healthy living... not this rubbish!
    I think Hibs should be sponsored by the Man from Del Monte....he's cool as ****, and makes some braw pineapple slices

Quote Originally Posted by Dinkydoo View Post
    ABE

Never really understood this one, Mars Bars are one of the most unhealthiest snacks around yet they frequently hold wee competitions giving away free footballs...etc

and now are using England being in the world cup to market thier product.

Other brands are now set to do the same....why don't we just put a ban in place that stops all companies from making money from a sporting event if their product contains X amount of fat?

What aboot White & McKay? Tennents? McEwans?

They all make products that, whilst totally unhealthy, sponsor and pay for a lot of Scottish Football be it now, or in the past.

Bevvy sells well, pays for fitba = win/win.

Ye canny blame the manufacturers for whae buys thier pish....

All that said, Mars can still ram their bars up their erses

We'd be exactly the same if our national set up was worth anything of note..

I hope they win it

Quote Originally Posted by Number_10 View Post

I hope they win it

Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post
    What aboot White & McKay? Tennents? McEwans?

They all make products that, whilst totally unhealthy, sponsor and pay for a lot of Scottish Football be it now, or in the past.

Bevvy sells well, pays for fitba = win/win.

Ye canny blame the manufacturers for whae buys thier pish....

All that said, Mars can still ram their bars up their erses

Aye fair enough - forgot about that.

It's me and Wee_Hibee against the world then eh

Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post
    Here, Gus....just to say a warm, heart felt and most sincere........

ABE

ENDOF
    IF America do beat England, then it is only because they are a bigger country & have a bigger population

I will be more than happy to watch the England games with my fellow Hibs fans

Quote Originally Posted by Number_10 View Post

I hope they win it
    Good lad

(i'll square you up tonight)