Thread: Steven Fletcher

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar

Steven Fletcher

http://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/p...044757,00.html

Got Burnley's players player of the year

Excellent 1st season. I hope he stays in the Prem next year

I don't think there's much doubt he'll leave, he's Burnley's top earner, they need to reduce wages, and have a lot of forwards on the books, both Paterson and Nugent can score goals in that league, and Thompson has shown well recently.

Bolton seems the most likely fit, very highly rated by Coyle, a team that are demanding a change of style next season which Fletch is well suited, they're screaming out for a partner for Davies up front as Kalinic and Elmander aren't up for it, and Steven has shown he cam score goals in that league, spectacular ones at that.

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    I think Fletcher is likely to go to Bolton.

If not then probably a team like Blackburn, maybe even Birmingham.

Infact any club that begins with a 'B'.

@hibs.net private member Don Giovanni's Avatar
    Had a peek on Burnley forums a couple of weeks back and their fans were putting a price on Fletchers heid, expecting him to move this summer (sounds familiar eh?).

Anyway, their demands ranged from £5Million - £10Million.

The lads done well in his first year and IMO if Burnley doubled thier money (£6-7million) I think it might suit all parties. Wouldnt be at all suprised if he ended up at the Reebok alongside Coyle again.

Hope Rod inserted a sell-on clause into the deal!

He proved a lot of people including myself wrong regarding him performing in the Premiership.

Hope he gets another move to the Premiership it will be good for the Scotland team if he is playing week in week out at that level.

Some of his goal celebrations have been rediculous this year though!

Kevin Davies can't play forever( 33yrs now ) so Fletch could be seen as a natural replacement.

Gamertag: toomanydjs
    Well played to him. Thought he would do it in the Premiership, hes not a prolific goal scorer (not done bad though, Burnleys top scorer) but his link up play and holding the ball up are excellent, if only he could work on his right foot :).

In a slightly better team, where he will get more chances, think he could be a a really good signing for another Premiership club.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar

Cool

On the other hand he would not exactly fall off the radar if he stayed at Burnley in the Championship and could well get 20+ goals. Then he may well be courted by teams from the next level in the EPL above Bolton.

He's done really well. Bolton will make a move for him IMHO

Anyone know if we have a sell on fee?

Steven Fletcher

Dont know if this has been posted yet but I noticed that Fletch was voted Player of The Year at Burnley. Well done and it proves that Hibs bring through players that can hack it (although they did get relegated!) at the highest level. I have a feeling that he will probably be moving up now and here's hoping he get's his move to Liverpool.

More power to Rod's elbow when he is next negotiating.....

Good to see him doing so well.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Well done Fletcher

Some on here thought he wasn't Hibs class

First Team Regular OstKurve Hibs's Avatar
    Hope a prem team buys him and keeps him in the premiership. He's done really well after a slow start.

Best of luck to the boy.

Being critical, though, had he put a away some of the more glaring chances that fell to him, Burnley might just have hung on to their Premier League status.

Quote Originally Posted by bob12345 View Post
    Anyone know if we have a sell on fee?
    A Burnley fan posted on another forum that the sell on fee is 25%?

If true then well done Rod!

Quote Originally Posted by Westie1875 View Post
    A Burnley fan posted on another forum that the sell on fee is 25%?

If true then well done Rod!
    I have no idea if thats true, but it would not surprise me if there is a sell on fee, what percentage is anyones guess?

Gamertag: Naw PSN ID: Naw Wii Code: Naw
    Just like to say well done Steven Fletcher

I was a doubter, I have to confess, but you have proved me wrong

Havnae seen much of him so I cannae comment on his performances, however, he's courting much bigger clubs and that's brill :notworthy:

Oh! Aye! he's been back to ER a couple of times, I think, this season :notworthy:

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NaeTechnoHibby View Post
    Just like to say well done Steven Fletcher

I was a doubter, I have to confess, but you have proved me wrong

Havnae seen much of him so I cannae comment on his performances, however, he's courting much bigger clubs and that's brill :notworthy:

Oh! Aye! he's been back to ER a couple of times, I think, this season :notworthy:
    Me too

I thought his hold up play, decision making and his reluctance to use his right foot would really hinder him

He's making more effort this year. He didn't look like a top EPL striker here.

I would imagine there will be a sell on clause on the profit only.

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    I would imagine there will be a sell on clause on the profit only.

Id be stunned if there wasnt.

SF is a shoe-on to team up with Coyle at Bolton imo.

Quote Originally Posted by seanraff07 View Post
    I think Fletcher is likely to go to Bolton.

If not then probably a team like Blackburn, maybe even Birmingham.

Infact any club that begins with a 'B'.
    Eh!? Blackpool?

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    SF is a shoe-on to team up with Coyle at Bolton imo.
    I wouldn't rule out Wigan or Newcastle either

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    I wouldn't rule out Wigan or Newcastle either
    they don't start with a B though

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Perhaps we weren't getting the best out of him Andy74, Always thought that SF had great ability and, if I recall, he had a wee purple patch under Collins, so maybe that style suited him.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Andy, agree with most things you say regarding hibs but still surprised by this view you've got of Fletcher.

He had a thankless task playing for a pish hibs team yet he was regularly tracking back into midfield, possibly too much as it left no-one up front, however that fault can't be attributed to lack of effort.

From memory, apologies if i'm wrong, but i remember this view of yours coming from the missed chances he had, mainly with his right foot, surely missed chances would indicate he was working hard to get into goal scoring positions, IMO he suffered badly due to a lack of confidence in front of goal but thats absolutely nothing to do with lack of effort.

I reckon Fletcher will move to a bigger club than Bolton. I could see one of the top 8 clubs moving for him. I think he's highly rated by a lot of the top teams.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    I reckon Fletcher will move to a bigger club than Bolton. I could see one of the top 8 clubs moving for him. I think he's highly rated by a lot of the top teams.
    He should come back here to a top European team. Who are Burnley? Don't see them in Europe