Derek Riordan......FACT

Shamelessly stolen from a respectable poster from the Bounce. Below gives us an idea of what we have in Derek Riordan. Surely this puts the nonesense spouted on Hibs net about this lad to bed. Once and for all. Embrace him fellow .Netters, as he won't be here forever, and we will lament him when he is gone.

.."but he duznae try hard enough"
    .."but he's a lazy barsteward"
    .. "but he's a moany faced barsteward"
    .."but he get into trouble every night and besmirches the good name of Hibernian" etc etc etc

Top League Scorers - Hibernian FC

*recent belter not in stats from darkheid*

1. Lawrie Reilly 187 Goals (1945-1958)
    2. Eddie Turnbull 149 Goals (1946-1959)
    3. Willie Ormond 132 Goals (1946-1961)
    4. Jimmy McColl 130 Goals (1922-1931)
    5. Gordon Smith 126 Goals (1941-1959)
    6. Joe Baker 114 Goals (1957-1972)
    7. Bobby Johnstone 100 Goals (1949-1960)
    8. Jimmy Dunn 91 Goals (1920-1928)
    9. Jimmy O' Rourke 81 Goals (1962-1974)
    10. Harry Ritchie 77 Goals (1919-1928)
    11. Peter Cormack 77 Goals (1962-1980)
    12. Derek Riordan 74 Goals (2002-2010)
    13. Arthur Duncan 73 Goals (1970-1984)
    14. Ally MacLeod 71 Goals (1974-1982)
    15. Johnny Halligan 67 Goals (1920-1933)
    16. Paddy Callaghan 67 Goals (1899-1914)
    17. Paddy McGinlay 60 Goals (1988-2000)
    18. Keith Wright 59 Goals (1991-1997)
    19. Bobby Combe 54 Goals (1941-1957)
    20. Eric Stevenson 53 Goals (1960-1971)
    21. Jimmy Hendren 53 Goals (1911-1915)
    22. Neil Martin 53 Goals (1963-1965)
    23. William Smith 52 Goals (1908-1920)
    24. Paddy Stanton 51 Goals (1963-1976)
    25. Alan Gordon 51 Goals (1972-1974)

Top Goalscorers All Competitions

1. Gordon Smith 302 Goals (1941-1959)
    2. Lawrie Reilly 238 Goals (1945-1958)
    3. Eddie Turnbull 202 Goals (1946-1959)
    4. Willie Ormond 189 Goals (1946-1961)
    5. Joe Baker 158 Goals (1957-1972)
    6. Jimmy McColl 143 Goals (1922-1931)
    7. Bobby Johnstone 142 Goals (1949-1960)
    8. Jock Cuthbertson 124 Goals (1939-1949)
    9. Jimmy O' Rourke 122 Goals (1962-1974)
    10. Arthur Duncan 114 Goals (1970-1984)
    11. Bobby Combe 109 Goals (1941-1957)
    12. Peter Cormack 106 Goals (1962-1980)
    13. Arthur Milne 106 Goals (1937-1946)
    14. Jimmy Dunn 103 Goals (1920-1928)
    15. Ally MacLeod 99 Goals (1974-1982)
    16. Derek Riordan 87 Goals (2002-2010)
    17. Harry Ritchie 86 Goals (1919-1928)
    18. Neil Martin 86 Goals (1963-1965)
    19. Alan Gordon 82 Goals (1972-1974)
    20. Paddy Callaghan 80 Goals (1899-1914)
    21. Paddy Stanton 79 Goals (1963-1976)
    22. Eric Stevenson 79 Goals (1960-1971)
    23. Paddy McGinlay 79 Goals (1988-2000)
    24. Jim Scott 78 Goals (1959-1967)
    25. Keith Wright 76 Goals (1991-1997)

keep banging them in son

Isn't it a stunning thing to realise that five of the top seven scorers all played in the same forward line!! Brilliant stuff

Oh and by the way C, I agree with you 100%
    This is how it feels

I understand all of the above. However, With Riordan being played left midfield. I personally believe it could benefit the TEAMS performances if we had more of a natural winger in that position, Someone who can go by a player , hit the byline and put crosses into the box.

I have no doubt about the capabilities of Derek Riordan. His talent is not questionable, even despite him in my opinion not being as good as he was.

If Yogi was to continue to play him Left Midfield, i think we dont get the best out of him. Stick him upfront and get an a natural winger and i would be more than happy. I believe this would benefit the team more.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Frank View Post
    Shamelessly stolen from a respectable poster from the Bounce. Below gives us an idea of what we have in Derek Riordan. Surely this puts the nonesense spouted on Hibs net about this lad to bed. Once and for all. Embrace him fellow .Netters, as he won't be here forever, and we will lament him when he is gone.

.."but he duznae try hard enough"
    .."but he's a lazy barsteward"
    .. "but he's a moany faced barsteward"
    .."but he get into trouble every night and besmirches the good name of Hibernian" etc etc etc

Top League Scorers - Hibernian FC

*recent belter not in stats from darkheid*

1. Lawrie Reilly 187 Goals (1945-1958)
    2. Eddie Turnbull 149 Goals (1946-1959)
    3. Willie Ormond 132 Goals (1946-1961)
    4. Jimmy McColl 130 Goals (1922-1931)
    5. Gordon Smith 126 Goals (1941-1959)
    6. Joe Baker 114 Goals (1957-1972)
    7. Bobby Johnstone 100 Goals (1949-1960)
    8. Jimmy Dunn 91 Goals (1920-1928)
    9. Jimmy O' Rourke 81 Goals (1962-1974)
    10. Harry Ritchie 77 Goals (1919-1928)
    11. Peter Cormack 77 Goals (1962-1980)
    12. Derek Riordan 74 Goals (2002-2010)
    13. Arthur Duncan 73 Goals (1970-1984)
    14. Ally MacLeod 71 Goals (1974-1982)
    15. Johnny Halligan 67 Goals (1920-1933)
    16. Paddy Callaghan 67 Goals (1899-1914)
    17. Paddy McGinlay 60 Goals (1988-2000)
    18. Keith Wright 59 Goals (1991-1997)
    19. Bobby Combe 54 Goals (1941-1957)
    20. Eric Stevenson 53 Goals (1960-1971)
    21. Jimmy Hendren 53 Goals (1911-1915)
    22. Neil Martin 53 Goals (1963-1965)
    23. William Smith 52 Goals (1908-1920)
    24. Paddy Stanton 51 Goals (1963-1976)
    25. Alan Gordon 51 Goals (1972-1974)

Top Goalscorers All Competitions

1. Gordon Smith 302 Goals (1941-1959)
    2. Lawrie Reilly 238 Goals (1945-1958)
    3. Eddie Turnbull 202 Goals (1946-1959)
    4. Willie Ormond 189 Goals (1946-1961)
    5. Joe Baker 158 Goals (1957-1972)
    6. Jimmy McColl 143 Goals (1922-1931)
    7. Bobby Johnstone 142 Goals (1949-1960)
    8. Jock Cuthbertson 124 Goals (1939-1949)
    9. Jimmy O' Rourke 122 Goals (1962-1974)
    10. Arthur Duncan 114 Goals (1970-1984)
    11. Bobby Combe 109 Goals (1941-1957)
    12. Peter Cormack 106 Goals (1962-1980)
    13. Arthur Milne 106 Goals (1937-1946)
    14. Jimmy Dunn 103 Goals (1920-1928)
    15. Ally MacLeod 99 Goals (1974-1982)
    16. Derek Riordan 87 Goals (2002-2010)
    17. Harry Ritchie 86 Goals (1919-1928)
    18. Neil Martin 86 Goals (1963-1965)
    19. Alan Gordon 82 Goals (1972-1974)
    20. Paddy Callaghan 80 Goals (1899-1914)
    21. Paddy Stanton 79 Goals (1963-1976)
    22. Eric Stevenson 79 Goals (1960-1971)
    23. Paddy McGinlay 79 Goals (1988-2000)
    24. Jim Scott 78 Goals (1959-1967)
    25. Keith Wright 76 Goals (1991-1997)

keep banging them in son
    Quality Mon the Deek:notworthy:

Its a great record. Hopefully he can get in to the all time top 10 next season.

First Team Breakthrough emmjayfox's Avatar
    Imagine how many more goals he would get if he wasnt as lazy

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Isn't it a stunning thing to realise that five of the top seven scorers all played in the same forward line!! Brilliant stuff

Oh and by the way C, I agree with you 100%
    Frightening!

Then it gets mental for young 'uns like me when the stats for Joe Baker come into the mix :

Joe Baker
    First Spell 1957-1961
    League
    118 apps 102 goals
    All Comps
    160 apps 141 goals

Second Spell 1970-1972
    League
    22 apps (of which 1 was sub) 12 goals
    All Comps
    34 apps (of which 1 sub) 17 goals

!!!!! FFS!!!!! 141 in 160 appearances - beggars belief then 1 in 2 in his second spell

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar

Re: Derek Riordan......FACT

No place for Nish on that list...?

Excellent point though.
    They've only gone and done it! They've only gone and won the Scottish Cup! What kept you, Hibs?!

Frightening!

Then it gets mental for young 'uns like me when the stats for Joe Baker come into the mix :

Joe Baker
    First Spell 1957-1961
    League
    118 apps 102 goals
    All Comps
    160 apps 141 goals

Second Spell 1970-1972
    League
    22 apps (of which 1 was sub) 12 goals
    All Comps
    34 apps (of which 1 sub) 17 goals

!!!!! FFS!!!!! 141 in 160 appearances - beggars belief then 1 in 2 in his second spell
    The man was indeed a goal scoring machine. I wonder how much he'd be worth in modern day terms? On his goalscoring ability alone he'd be valued up there with Messi, Ronaldo and Rooney IMO
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by emmjayfox View Post
    Imagine how many more goals he would get if he wasnt as lazy
    Imagine how many goals he would get if he was actually played as a striker

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Imagine how many goals he would get if he was actually played as a striker
    Agreed, (tho' I think emmjay was having a joke).

My main concern is that we shoot ourselves in the foot. Hopefully Hibernian will use him wisely in the future. Though for a position he has admitted he doesn't like playing, Hibernian have still had a very good return from him this year.

Using him more wisely, and trying to fit him to a better position (ie more central), derek riordan can give Hibernian fans many more reasons to roar for a good while yet.

shouldn't his ervice showed two periods, ie even more impressive strike rate.

On the subject of stats...anyone able to categorise all his goals into 'time scored' in tem minute periods?

Love to see if he has a particularly dangerous spell in a game.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    The guy is class. Its totally laughable some of the things that people write on here about him, and how some folk would love to see him leave etc. His record speaks for itself! Did people actually see how wonderful a goal he scored against Celtic on Saturday?! .. Do people actually know he's the highest scoring midfielder in the league!? Look on the spl website too, he has the highest shooting stat too, 87 shots, 49 on target.
    Again, the guy is class. Yes he might be lazy etc but he can win a game by himself, and he's PROVED that on many occassions. I hope Derek Riordan is at our club for the rest of his career.
    People who criticise Riordan clearly dont have a clue about football, and i dont even care if that comment gets peoples backs up!

Mon the Riordan!

Agreed, (tho' I think emmjay was having a joke).
    Nah, just an example of one of her latest abusive posts.

Not funny and not clever.

What competition did Gordon Smith score all his goals in? Very weird scoring well over 50% of goals outwith the league - was it the old league cup?

Quote Originally Posted by HailHail1875 View Post
    The guy is class. Its totally laughable some of the things that people write on here about him, and how some folk would love to see him leave etc. His record speaks for itself! Did people actually see how wonderful a goal he scored against Celtic on Saturday?! .. Do people actually know he's the highest scoring midfielder in the league!? Look on the spl website too, he has the highest shooting stat too, 87 shots, 49 on target.
    Again, the guy is class. Yes he might be lazy etc but he can win a game by himself, and he's PROVED that on many occassions. I hope Derek Riordan is at our club for the rest of his career.
    People who criticise Riordan clearly dont have a clue about football, and i dont even care if that comment gets peoples backs up!

Mon the Riordan!
    Anyone that gets upset with your post hasn't a clue at all.

There was a thread on here not long ago where he was in our top ten all time scorers, was that just post war?

He's in the top ten SPL scorers too.

No doubt he's something special, and while he's frustrating we have to remember that if he wasn't flawed, he wouldn't be with Hibs ala Latapy & Best.

Did Arthur Duncan play as a Striker or inside left ?..i always remembered him being on the wing...thats a good amount of goals from him ...

The fact that Riordan gets so much abuse, along with the other better players in the Hibs squad (Stokes, Miller, Bamba) shows just how moronic some Hibs fans can be.

I don't think Deek is a great midfielder, in fact, I'd love to see us bring in another left midfielder and stick Deeks up to with Stokes.

However, to have someone in the side capable of scoring that many goals, and for folk to want to punt him, beggars belief.

'Mon the Deeks!!

@hibs.net private member hibbymac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_fairnie View Post
    The fact that Riordan gets so much abuse, along with the other better players in the Hibs squad (Stokes, Miller, Bamba) shows just how moronic some Hibs fans can be.

I don't think Deek is a great midfielder, in fact, I'd love to see us bring in another left midfielder and stick Deeks up to with Stokes.

However, to have someone in the side capable of scoring that many goals, and for folk to want to punt him, beggars belief.

'Mon the Deeks!!

sums up my feelings exactly.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bob12345 View Post
    What competition did Gordon Smith score all his goals in? Very weird scoring well over 50% of goals outwith the league - was it the old league cup?
    Probably the goals scored in wartime leagues wouldn't count as proper league goals - in other words, all the goals he scored between 1941 and 1945 when Hearts eventually won the thing.

@hibs.net private member hibbymac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Probably the goals scored in wartime leagues wouldn't count as proper league goals - in other words, all the goals he scored between 1941 and 1945 when Hearts eventually won the thing.
    What? .... The war?

I know there's been something said about it on here a week or so ago, but a guy i know, who's a blackpool season ticket holder, told me yesterday, they were after Derek. No idea how he heard this, and no idea if its true.

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Did Arthur Duncan play as a Striker or inside left ?..i always remembered him being on the wing...thats a good amount of goals from him ...
    Arthur Duncan did indeed play as a winger, or an old outside left if you wish. His pace was the main reason he scored so many goals IMHO. A fantastic player and one I was very privileged to watch

I know there's been something said about it on here a week or so ago, but a guy i know, who's a blackpool season ticket holder, told me yesterday, they were after Derek. No idea how he heard this, and no idea if its true.

They have a very good manager and are looking for a wee push for promotion, so they'll obviously look to strengthen where ever possible for next season.

Think about where stokes would be if it was believable that he would stay with us for a 6/7 years.

John Hughes - "derek has been brilliant for me right from day one and he has given things a right good go. He is one of these laddies that knows the club, but I'd like to see derek show a bit more character and step up tae the plate and have a right good go at things next year, coz wur no far away fae being a right good team ya ken"

imagine if deeks actually played upfront!!!!

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hakim Sar View Post
    Think about where stokes would be if it was believable that he would stay with us for a 6/7 years.

John Hughes - "derek has been brilliant for me right from day one and he has given things a right good go. He is one of these laddies that knows the club, but I'd like to see derek show a bit more character and step up tae the plate and have a right good go at things next year, coz wur no far away fae being a right good team ya ken"

imagine if deeks actually played upfront!!!!
    Hopefully the new manager will play him there and Deeks will be back scoring his 20 a season tally again.

If i was gay id let Riordan take me clean up the arse. (But he would have to bent tae i suppose).

Riordan is my favourite player of all time, A truly gifted young man that can score with either feet and has a passion for the Cabbage.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    If i was gay id let Riordan take me clean up the arse. (But he would have to bent tae i suppose).

Riordan is my favourite player of all time, A truly gifted young man that can score with either feet and has a passion for the Cabbage.

I'd go further. If I owned a nightclub, I'd let Derek in.