would yogi benefit with experience

what i am saying is, would yogi do a better job if he had an experienced man alongside him, dare i say craig brown , alex smith, tommy craig etc or would yogi feel he doesnt need someone along those lines, thoughts

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    Quote Originally Posted by andyhibs View Post
    what i am saying is, would yogi do a better job if he had an experienced man alongside him, dare i say craig brown , alex smith, tommy craig etc or would yogi feel he doesnt need someone along those lines, thoughts
    I doubt Craig Brown would leave Motherwell to be assistant to Hughes, the other way around wouldn't be as bad.

I think the best person to answer that would be Brian Rice!
    I actually thought it would work for JC and Mixu. I dont think it would work for Yogi on a normal basis but I'd like to think he will give a few of his more experienced pals at least a ring when we're in Europe.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    The man that sits behind the desk in the Manager's office at Easter Road has to be big enough to take the job on. This club should not really be part of someone's learning curve to another job.

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    Aye, what's Davie Hay up to these days? We could sit him up in the West Stand wi' a tartan rug and a mobile phone.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Craig Brown wouldn't leave Motherwell.

Alex Smith is IMO past it - I never had a particularly high opinion of him anyway.

Tommy Craig's an utter, complete numpty. Couldn't run a tap.

If we parted ways with Yogi and then decided we needed an old head to steady things the only old head I'd entertain would be Alex Miller's. ot as a long-term appointment, but as a means of steadying things up and preparing for the next guy, I'd expect Alex to do a decent job.

TBF, I'd expect the same from Craig Brown. But appointing someone like that now, over Yogi's head? Just as well sack the man and be done with it.

No, at least none of the old dinosaurs that hang around Scottish football.

Maybe we could farm him out on loan

First Team Breakthrough Oscar Lomax's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Craig Brown wouldn't leave Motherwell.

Alex Smith is IMO past it - I never had a particularly high opinion of him anyway.

Tommy Craig's an utter, complete numpty. Couldn't run a tap.

If we parted ways with Yogi and then decided we needed an old head to steady things the only old head I'd entertain would be Alex Miller's. ot as a long-term appointment, but as a means of steadying things up and preparing for the next guy, I'd expect Alex to do a decent job.

TBF, I'd expect the same from Craig Brown. But appointing someone like that now, over Yogi's head? Just as well sack the man and be done with it.

Am I missing something? I could have sworn Yogi had a few years at Falkirk. Maybe not.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Bring back jocky scott!!

Wha's in cherge here???

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Am I missing something? I could have sworn Yogi had a few years at Falkirk. Maybe not.
    your right.... and it shows.........

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post
    Bring back jocky scott!!

Wha's in cherge here???
    The jet pack would certainly outdo Duff Jimmy's helicopter.

Teckle!

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor® View Post
    The jet pack would certainly outdo Duff Jimmy's helicopter.

Teckle!
    that wee goodwillie would never dare score at ER again!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post
    your right.... and it shows.........
    And, as Yogi claims himself, the most succesful manager in their history:

"most successful manager in the club's history; got them in the SPL, kept them there; won the Challenge Cup; produced many a young player; Scottish Cup final; two CIS Cup finals; Europe,"

Not bad with a team who took over in the first division.

He's also spent the majority of his first year at Hibs in 3rd and now 4th place.

yogi is a big enough for the role on his own

Yogi has been a manager for 5 years. Can we stop this idea that he is some novice like JC or Mowbray was?

He is more than experienced enough to be able to correct basic mistakes. If he still can't it raises big questions for me.

"most successful manager in the club's history; got them in the SPL, kept them there; won the Challenge Cup; produced many a young player; Scottish Cup final; two CIS Cup finals; Europe,"

He's also spent the majority of his first year at Hibs in 3rd and now 4th place.
    He pretty much got then promoted twice, but the first time round they wouldn't allowed it cause their stadium wasn't big enough, he achieved a fair bit at Falkirk.

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    Yogi has been a manager for 5 years. Can we stop this idea that he is some novice like JC or Mowbray was?

He is more than experienced enough to be able to correct basic mistakes. If he still can't it raises big questions for me.
    the point i am trying to make is , would yogi do better with someone vastly more experienced with him, the names mentioned on the op was just examples

Quote Originally Posted by seanraff07 View Post
    He pretty much got then promoted twice, but the first time round they wouldn't allowed it cause their stadium wasn't big enough, he achieved a fair bit at Falkirk.

Sssh boys, dinnae let facts get in the way of things!

Quote Originally Posted by matty_fairnie View Post
    Sssh boys, dinnae let facts get in the way of things!
    ... but we've forgot about that now cause it's all went downslope this year.

Quote Originally Posted by seanraff07 View Post
    ... but we've forgot about that now cause it's all went downslope this year.
    Well mid february really. Clearly doesn't know what he's doing going by his past record!

Since half-time at Ibrox in February, things haven't really went to plan.
    Ofcourse.

jeez folks , i have made a suggestion re an experienced man to help , or at least pass on experience to yogi , to help his and our club forward, in all the times i have followed hibs, i have had more ups and downs than paris hilton(sorry dont have a link)

Tommy Craig - have a word !!

Alan O'Brien - I rest my case

Quote Originally Posted by Gala Foxes View Post
    Tommy Craig - have a word !!

Alan O'Brien - I rest my case
    tommy craig -cis cup , I rest my case

Know what you are saying but not tommy craig.

craig brown,archie knox type would suit but doubt it will happen

Mowbray got us past Hearts in the CIS Qtr Final

Quote Originally Posted by Gala Foxes View Post
    Mowbray got us past Hearts in the CIS Qtr Final
    No he didnt.

John Colllins did.

Being a Galashiels man i thought you woulda known that
    Last edited by HibbyAndy; 15-04-2010 at 07:39 PM.