Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Bowling season begins Sat

Has been a long close season, cannae wait to get on the green to give it plenty grass, Oh and to get oot ma face!

Quote Originally Posted by fiolex1 View Post
    Has been a long close season, cannae wait to get on the green to give it plenty grass, Oh and to get oot ma face!
    Was just thinking the same thing ..

Got the new hibs stickers on my bowls, shirt, tie, jersey & breeks ready for the morn ...

Mon the Jewel ..

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Damn, I've got to wait for another week.

Cracking day at the opening of the Jewel green, however a pretty poor turnout despite the good weather, i counted 40 & at least half of those were women ..

It was mixed rinks but i got lumbered wi three female geriatrics ..the lead couldnt throw the jack past the marker ..her first effort went 6 feet !!! & her second attempt went onto rink 3 !!!!

Most play with zero sized bowls so asking them to use weight was impossible..my size 5 mediums made their bowls look like marbles..thank fek i didnt use my 5 or 7 heavies !!!!!

Anyway ..we lost by 3 shots over 11 ends..

Green superb, competition draws today, ive dumped my 2 bowl pairs partner & im now partnering my Scottish pairs partner in both pairs comps ..makes sense..

We also had a great day at Loanhead private, the weather was superb however the green was extremely heavy, turn out was down on years gone by, with 6 rinks playing triples, the ladies have their opening next week.

Oops 8x6 = 48 ......it must have been the lager ..

Our green was very "sandy" a hell of a lot of sand kicking up ...saying that it was playing superb...heavy & spongy at first but pretty well speeded up after a few ends ..

We got our big iron roller out a couple of days ago ..it hasnt been used in at least 20 years, a few guys went to work on it & got it working & a few more went about the task of rolling the green ..must say it has worked wonders ..not a single bump !!!...

You are down at Jewel 14th May ..we are up at your joint in July ..hope you are about then so we can put names to faces ..

I don'y play in the league, but will be up watching on most Fridays at home so should be there in July, hope to see you then

Nae bother mate ..

just damaged ligiments in my thumb so likly to miss the first cople of weeks of the season.

Gamertag: gary robertson
    Quote Originally Posted by Fat Stu View Post
    just damaged ligiments in my thumb so likly to miss the first cople of weeks of the season.
    anychance u growin a pair!! hardly need ur thumb to launch a bool

Quote Originally Posted by gilliecabbage View Post
    anychance u growin a pair!! hardly need ur thumb to launch a bool
    Unlike yourself I don’t “launch” bools up the green and hope for the best. I guide them towards the jack with precision and grace.

I require my thumb to grip the “bool” correctly and to enable me to achieve excellence, anything other than that would be a waste of my time and I’d end up playing with common plebs like yourself.

aye right :)

Unlike yourself I don’t “launch” bools up the green and hope for the best. I guide them towards the jack with precision and grace.
    I require my thumb to grip the “bool” correctly and to enable me to achieve excellence, anything other than that would be a waste of my time and I’d end up playing with common plebs like yourself.
    And is this with your eyes open Stu?

u might actually learn something from me, come back when youve won as much as me

Woo...look at you ...

Do you play for the private gillie ..?

what have you won like, the handicap off your +8 or the "biggest muppet in the club" award :notworthy:
    Last edited by Fat Stu; 14-04-2010 at 12:12 PM.

what have you won like, the handicap off your +8 or the "biggest muppet in the club" award :notworthy:
    Well edited mate
    Last edited by MB62; 14-04-2010 at 01:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by MB62 View Post
    Think you might want to edit this Stu
    Dunno what you on about? (delete that bloody quote)

haha didnt take long for a wee bite

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Do you play for the private gillie ..?
    of course!!

of course!!
    Nice green ye have up there, gonna have to get up to div 1 to sample it again ...

had a bad winter and the heads werent lookin the best.greens been opened but the greenkeeper got sacked last week and the new one is lifting the 12 heads and putting new turf down.should be ready for the league next friday so am told.

Played up there in the Esk a few times, one o the quality greens on the circuit...a few seasons ago we were playing up there & the rain was pretty heavy, i felt the green was running well but the commitee were ready to pull the "plug" in case there was damage ..we were half way through & im sure we were 2 rinks up & a peel at the time ...

@hibs.net private member Lmc2105's Avatar
    use to play for Gilmerton Miners Junior team and a mind we turned over the Great Gille Private Junior team OoOoOo that day was sweet

Quote Originally Posted by leemc-1989 View Post
    use to play for Gilmerton Miners Junior team and a mind we turned over the Great Gille Private Junior team OoOoOo that day was sweet
    Had many a good time up at the Miners too ..they are like the Jewel ..swally n bowls ...unlike those perrier water & prawn sandwich clubs ...

@hibs.net private member Lmc2105's Avatar
    Had many a good time up at the Miners too ..they are like the Jewel ..swally n bowls ...unlike those perrier water & prawn sandwich clubs ...
    Indeed it was a fantastic club really good for Bowling and for a good drink mind you i could not drink as i was only youngish but yeah had many successful seasons at the miners all down to my coach Susan Edwards her Commitment to the juniors was fantastic and has made me the bowler i am today

btw i hope you don't mean my currant club the grange in that little dig you Fandang just getting my own back

Quote Originally Posted by Green Giant View Post
    Indeed it was a fantastic club really good for Bowling and for a good drink mind you i could not drink as i was only youngish but yeah had many successful seasons at the miners all down to my coach Susan Edwards her Commitment to the juniors was fantastic and has made me the bowler i am today

btw i hope you don't mean my currant club the grange in that little dig you Fandang just getting my own back

Quote Originally Posted by Green Giant View Post
    cudnt have.thats never happened haha