Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by Woody1985 View Post
    If it's really the case that people with criminal convictions are knocked back from the Police it makes a mockery of the whole 'justice' system where rehabilitation is constantly bleated on about.

So you can become a normal member of society again and be a law abiding citizen but because of something that may have happened X amount of years ago you can't get in.

FWIW, I do think that there should be a time bar, say 3-5 years since your last conviction.

Does this type of thing apply to the fire service or ambulance crews?

Think you are missing the point. For example if your brother is known to be the local drug dealer how can they let you join up. Will you be willing to pass on info about him and his mates? Even worse would you be able to go out and lift him?
    What if there was going to be a raid and it all went wrong and he got away? Who do you think would be the first person to get the funny looks and would they be right??? There are so many scenarios that it's not worth the hassle.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Think you are missing the point. For example if your brother is known to be the local drug dealer how can they let you join up. Will you be willing to pass on info about him and his mates? Even worse would you be able to go out and lift him?
    What if there was going to be a raid and it all went wrong and he got away? Who do you think would be the first person to get the funny looks and would they be right??? There are so many scenarios that it's not worth the hassle.
    I think you're missing the point, I never mentioned anything about relatives....

Did you apply for it Andy?

Any news?

Quote Originally Posted by Teo10 View Post
    Did you apply for it Andy?

Any news?
    Cheers for asking mate

You need a driving license and i dont have one, everything else i sailed through.

Not to be huh, Would a made a cracking Polisman tae.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Cheers for asking mate

You need a driving license and i dont have one, everything else i sailed through.

Give's a PM if you decide to get one

Cheers for asking mate

Flat feet and long arms?

Cheers for asking mate

Not to be huh, Would a made a cracking Postman tae.
    Sorted

Quote Originally Posted by jabis View Post
    Give's a PM if you decide to get one
    Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    Sorted

I am a crackin Postie

Nae fannying aboot when im oot and aboot

Cheers for asking mate

....sorry mate ...

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    ....sorry mate ...
    Aye right K!!

Cheers for asking mate

Picture the scen in Court Room 1 as PC Plod enters the witness box.

"aye your Highness, ahve goat ma notes here on page 10 of mah Ladbrokes diary 2010. This fannybaws was being a wide-o so ah said tae him "Listen up Yam twat and listen up good. ANy more grief fae you about Kevin Kyle going to the Lionel Barts and you'll be nicked. Good and proper mah old son. By the way I'm going to let you go on this occassion and give you a wee bit advice..... Walcott for most valuable player at the World Cup Finals in SouthHouse this year."

Quote Originally Posted by Toaods View Post
    Picture the scen in Court Room 1 as PC Plod enters the witness box.

"aye your Highness, ahve goat ma notes here on page 10 of mah Ladbrokes diary 2010. This fannybaws was being a wide-o so ah said tae him "Listen up Yam twat and listen up good. ANy more grief fae you about Kevin Kyle going to the Lionel Barts and you'll be nicked. Good and proper mah old son. By the way I'm going to let you go on this occassion and give you a wee bit advice..... Walcott for most valuable player at the World Cup Finals in SouthHouse this year."

Anyone else on here been past the stage where you submit your application?

Cheers for asking mate

Get yersel a bike Andy ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eScbTHZ9yfQ

I got to the "home visit" stage. This is where the recruitment guy comes round and has a sort of informal chat and asks you questions to see if you are suitable. I gave nothing but honest answers and a few of them were "wrong". One scenario was "what would you do if two of you attended a mass brawl at a pub and you saw one guy getting leathered?"
    I said "My first reaction would be to protect the guy".
    He said "wrong...we don't get paid enough to do that...and it might inflame the situation"
    I thought to myself "Aye, OK...but how could you live with yourself if that guy got kicked to death and you did nothing??"
    He told me to get my answers right next time...but it made me ask myself questions about wether I actually was suitable and I didn't contact them again...effectively withdrawing my application.

It was probably one of the worst decisions I have ever made given the hard work I had put into it beforehand. Previously I had passed the mental tests but actually failed the physical. However, the guys liked the cut of my jib during the process so they put me through.
    If you ever get to the physical test stage go with a smile on your face, encourage others like you've known them for years. Be serious but do things like nudge people if they break the rules like putting their hands in their pockets.

The rest of the people I was with during the assesment had absolutely zero personality. They were like robots and I couldn't believe how clenched they were. They want people who have lived a little and know how to communicate effectivley on all levels but I saw no evidence of that in any of them. People say policemen are ******s and seeing their recruitment process first hand I realise that a lot of them actually are...and it's nothing to do with them being that way becasue the job has made them like that.

If you're thinking of applying then go for it. Just be yourself and see what happens.

But don't be too honest and say you just like the pension and the birds think the uniform is the business.

aye.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_mad_mental_hibby View Post
    aye.

Quote Originally Posted by peterdouglas View Post
    I got to the "home visit" stage. This is where the recruitment guy comes round and has a sort of informal chat and asks you questions to see if you are suitable. I gave nothing but honest answers and a few of them were "wrong". One scenario was "what would you do if two of you attended a mass brawl at a pub and you saw one guy getting leathered?"
    I said "My first reaction would be to protect the guy".
    He said "wrong...we don't get paid enough to do that...and it might inflame the situation"
    I thought to myself "Aye, OK...but how could you live with yourself if that guy got kicked to death and you did nothing??"
    He told me to get my answers right next time...but it made me ask myself questions about wether I actually was suitable and I didn't contact them again...effectively withdrawing my application.

It was probably one of the worst decisions I have ever made given the hard work I had put into it beforehand. Previously I had passed the mental tests but actually failed the physical. However, the guys liked the cut of my jib during the process so they put me through.
    If you ever get to the physical test stage go with a smile on your face, encourage others like you've known them for years. Be serious but do things like nudge people if they break the rules like putting their hands in their pockets.

The rest of the people I was with during the assesment had absolutely zero personality. They were like robots and I couldn't believe how clenched they were. They want people who have lived a little and know how to communicate effectivley on all levels but I saw no evidence of that in any of them. People say policemen are ******s and seeing their recruitment process first hand I realise that a lot of them actually are...and it's nothing to do with them being that way becasue the job has made them like that.

If you're thinking of applying then go for it. Just be yourself and see what happens.

But don't be too honest and say you just like the pension and the birds think the uniform is the business.
    Thanks peter, Much appreciated!

Gamertag: CENNYDD
    Thanks peter, Much appreciated!
    Teo

Things have changed a good bit recently and L&B have teamed up with other forces to centralise recruitment.

All the details here

http://www.tulliallan.police.uk/recruitment/index.html

It would appear that the home interview is no longer part of it.

Quote Originally Posted by Darth Hibbie View Post
    Teo

Things have changed a good bit recently and L&B have teamed up with other forces to centralise recruitment.

All the details here

http://www.tulliallan.police.uk/recruitment/index.html

It would appear that the home interview is no longer part of it.
    Ah, I actually read that last week!

Just finished off my application, going to check it over once more before sending it off tonight!

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    And one of the instructors at Tulliallan is a good Hibby

What do you potential polismen think of this?
    Last edited by Removed; 08-06-2010 at 11:36 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    Whta do you potential polismen think of this?
    What

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    What do you potential polismen think of this?
    It warns against pensioners being called "old biddies" or gay people "batting for the other side".

Oops i shouldnt really be laughing
    Last edited by HibbyAndy; 08-06-2010 at 02:21 PM.