View Poll Results: Should Hibs install a 4G pitch?

210. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes - definite beneifts in doing so...

111 52.86%
  • No - traditionalist, so it has to be grass

60 28.57%
  • Undecided - maybe aye, maybe naw?

39 18.57%

4G Pitch at Easter Road

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...em/8607191.stm

Just read the article on the BBC website... what do the Hibs fans think?

4G pitch at Easter Road or GRASS?

Would go for it.

BUT has to be done right and not on the cheap!

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    IIRC this sort of thing was said about the Dunfermline Pitch at the time
    It's probably the best artificial surface I have ever played on," said the 27-year-old.
    "You can pass the ball about well and, although some players do moan about it, I have no problem with it.
    "If you can play football then this surface is ideal."
    This was the Result

After two seasons, however, that pitch was ripped up after a number of problems
    Im not against an 4G pitch as long as its as good as the real thing and saves the club money (which its ultimately designed to do)

Ian Rush looks REALLY sinister in that photo.

If the SPL want to run a test they can install it at ER and Hibs will try it out.

They're paying of course

We'll have an edge as when Garry O'Connor comes back, he'll have experience of it

5g is the best fully synthetic surface available at the minute..

Spartans have a full size 5g pitch down at Ainslie Park which I've played on a few times and it's excellent..

However, slide tackling isn't really a good idea on these parks and the worry of introducing these pitches throughout our game is that FIFA will then get their way and start banning slide tackling all together..

There is pitch which is a combination of grass and synthetic material which is available but I believe that costs a lot to install and to maintain..

You just can't beat a lush grass surface though

First Team Regular steviecarnie's Avatar
    would it not be better to get a 5g pitch? may as well get top of the range. Personally id be infavour of desso. expensive but just look at how good the pitches that have it are, and cant get hit with the excuse of unfair advantage.

I am in 2 minds about these pitches, yes they will enable hibs to go and play decent football, but they will still have to play half their games on tattie fields. My worry is that they would get to dependant on the ER pitch and they would start to play very badly away from home.

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    Please no, never!!

Would it no be better just to get a grass pitch and have it maintained so it doesn't turn into a bloody slagheap? Only seems to have been the past 2/3 years that our pitch has been so bad.

As others have said, this is sadly not going to be determined by what is best for playing football on - its going to be decided by what can be used to generate the most money from. For me, all-weather and artificial pitches have their use at clubs in letting players train year-round. They aren't playing surfaces for competitive matches however as you need to adapt your play to them [no slide tackles if you like the default look of skin over your bones for example]

And if it were ever to happen, it should be the absolute top-of-the-pile stuff we put down to minimise the downside so wouldn't be 4G in this instance it would be 5G. In a year's time it'll probably 6G and 7G - do we upgrade each year?

Thing is with all our players complaining about our pitch and many saying that is why we are struggling at the moment,it would mean them having to put up or shutup.It would be smooth,no bumps no excuses,now that would be worth seeing.

Quote Originally Posted by Number_10 View Post

You just can't beat a lush grass surface though
    Absolutely! But the chancs of that happening consistently throughout the season is nil.

Our shiny new pitch, due to be laid during the close season, will only be shiny new and lush until some eejit starts playing football on it

Grass everytime. All you need is to employ a fulltime groundsman who knows what he's doing.

Alternatively, invest in about 10,000 of these at £20 a pop and you have a nice ready made 'best pitch in the UK'
    http://www.gettingpersonal.co.uk/foo...ates-pitch.htm

I've always wondered why Subbeteo don't produce a 1:1 scale pitch that clubs could just roll out...

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    5G is horrible for slide tackling, we need to get that surface that Arsenal have.

You defo get more off a bounce on the Spartans 5G pitch than grass. And as someone else has said slide tackling is a nightmare, unless its raining then its fine.

Grass all the way for me though...

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby D View Post
    Absolutely! But the chancs of that happening consistently throughout the season is nil.

Our shiny new pitch, due to be laid during the close season, will only be shiny new and lush until some eejit starts playing football on it
    Have we arranged a friendly against Barca or Arsenal

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Can we get a Warren G pitch?

What about getting this bad boy in to replace Tam?

YouTube - Playing Through

This is Readings "Desso" pitch - doesn't look that lush does it?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot..._1/8595451.stm

TBF it seems to play better than it looks and doesn't cut up as much as plain grass - that pitch has had a full season of football and rugby on it and that was Readings 6th home game in 28 days.

Promising Youngster
    of course a plastic pitch wouldn't be necessary if we switched to summer football in this country, but that smells of a thread hi-jack.

plastic pitches do have their merits (more income, decent surface etc) but im afraid im a bit of a traditionalist so as we canny afford this desso halfwayhoose its a no for me.

Quote Originally Posted by CheesyHibby View Post
    of course a plastic pitch wouldn't be necessary if we switched to summer football in this country, but that smells of a thread hi-jack.

plastic pitches do have their merits (more income, decent surface etc) but im afraid im a bit of a traditionalist so as we canny afford this desso halfwayhoose its a no for me.
    It is not really thread hijack as play football in the months when the weather is condusive to grass growing and you do not have a problem.

First Team Breakthrough Virginia Hibs's Avatar
    I was actually sitting in the stand on Monday at Carrow Road and comparing the state of the pitch with ER. To my mind a plastic pitch is a no no however going down the Desso route must be the most favoured option.

Off to buy a lottery ticket for the night and Friday Just to help the Hibs likes, no for personal gain or anything

Quote Originally Posted by Rhys89 View Post
    We'll have an edge as when Garry O'Connor comes back, he'll have experience of it
    has he? do birmingham play on it? cos CSKA installed it after he left mocba. england played on it last year and of cousre tha champs league final was there last year.

Quote Originally Posted by Woody70x2 View Post
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...em/8607191.stm

Just read the article on the BBC website... what do the Hibs fans think?

4G pitch at Easter Road or GRASS?
    Im not sure, we have the same surfaces here in Florida. I spoke to one of the clubs that go it done and they said it costs the same as a grass field in the long run as they do have to get it replaced after a few years.

Quote Originally Posted by KiddA View Post
    Im not sure, we have the same surfaces here in Florida. I spoke to one of the clubs that go it done and they said it costs the same as a grass field in the long run as they do have to get it replaced after a few years.
    yeah but they dont have to dig it up 2/3 times a year wi emergency repairs. floridas weather is alot different from scotlands.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    The Hybrid System mentioned is used by quite a few teams in England .. see here - "DESSO GRASSMASTER"

Because the natural grass is still vulnerable to weather conditions and wear it can have an affect on the surface but it is estimated that Grassmaster will extend the life of a pitch about 4 times .. meaning it should see out a full season quite easily before the close season allows the pitch to be "rejunenated" during the summer.
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Other SPL clubs' pitches are in a much worse state even than ER (Motherwell, Aberdeen...) - so let them be the guineepigs.

A nice lush new grass pitch to go with the new East Stand next season please

@hibs.net private member cocopops1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Notting Hill Billy View Post
    has he? do birmingham play on it? cos CSKA installed it after he left mocba. england played on it last year and of cousre tha champs league final was there last year.
    yeah he has as a fair few of the away fixtures would have been on 3g
    Doing the 2013 Edinburgh half Marathon for McMillan it would be awesome if anyone fancies sponsoring me, http://www.justgiving.com/colin-smith1875 ,go on make a fat man run