Thread: Sushi

Sushi

Love it.

Learning how to make it, just bought Sushi Magic and getting my Salmon, Ahi Tuna and Crab over the weekend from Eddie's in Marchmont.

Any other Sushi fans?

First Team Regular Leicester Fan's Avatar
    I like mine well done.
    Last edited by Leicester Fan; 06-04-2010 at 06:03 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser_Sauzee View Post
    Love it.

Learning how to make it, just bought Sushi Magic and getting my Salmon, Ahi Tuna and Crab over the weekend from Eddie's in Marchmont.

Any other Sushi fans?
    I love it too but it's a bit like sex in that you don't, and never can, get enough and when you try to do it yourself, it just gets messy and it's not the same.

Let me know how you get on though as I never went to any specialised shops in order to get my fix so maybe that was my problem.

I cant get the hang of wrapping the little green papery things round the rice roll, even with the rolling mat thingy.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Sushi =

Love it.

Any other Sushi fans?
    I posted this on the PM board last year.

Sushi

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I cant get the hang of wrapping the little green papery things round the Rizlas, even with the rolling mat thingy.
    fixed it for you

I looooooooooooooove Sushi.

Could get it really cheap in China, went a couple of times each week, couldn't get enough!

Went to Yo Sushi place in Aberdeen and foooook me sideways do they bend you over with prices. Spent £20 and I dinnae ken what on, wasnae full at all!

Quote Originally Posted by jabis View Post
    fixed it for you
    skinning up is easy by comparison

Quote Originally Posted by Hainan Hibs View Post
    I looooooooooooooove Sushi.

Could get it really cheap in China, went a couple of times each week, couldn't get enough!

Went to Yo Sushi place in Aberdeen and foooook me sideways do they bend you over with prices. Spent £20 and I dinnae ken what on, wasnae full at all!
    Yo Sushi is awful. Real sushi and sashimi are the food of the gods however.

Don't think I could manage Ikizukuri though.

Quote Originally Posted by Marabou Stork View Post
    Yo Sushi is awful. Real sushi and sashimi are the food of the gods however.

YouTube - Ikezukuri: REALLY FRESH (still alive) sushi
    Aye it was pretty pish.

Cannae believe that video! Definitely couldnae manage Ikezukuri, poor fish

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    I love Sushi, have only ever been to Moshi Moshi and Yo Sushi! though.

Down in London next week, there must be some decent genuine places there - anyone recommend one?

I can't get over the mental block that sushi = raw fish.

That in itself makes it boke-tastic IMO, but I get the feeling I might be missing out to a certain extent.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

That in itself makes it boke-tastic IMO, but I get the feeling I might be missing out to a certain extent.
    I can't really relate to that - I just can't see how eating something that hasn't been cooked makes it less desirable - Steak Tartare is one of my favourite dishes too.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

Sushi doesn't need to contain raw fish, in fact the stuff that you see in your Tesco/Asda/M&S fridge most certainly does not contain raw fish.

Smoked salmon is a good alternative for the squeamish, as is cucumber. The variations are endless, but the secret to good sushi is the freshness and moisture content of the rice

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    Sushi =
    Food of the devil!

Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    Sushi =
    Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    Food of the devil!
    I'm assuming that you've both eaten "good authentic" sushi to be in a position to pass judgement, otherwise your opinion is worthless. No?

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by Sergey® View Post
    I'm assuming that you've both eaten "good authentic" sushi to be in a position to pass judgement, otherwise your opinion is worthless. No?
    You assume correctly.

Quote Originally Posted by Sergey® View Post
    Is there anywhere in Scotland you can get authentic Sushi? Would love to give it a go but don't know where to go.

Love it.

Any other Sushi fans?
    Love the stuff. Tuna nigiri's my favourite.

Like a bit of miso soup with it, too.

---------- Post added at 09:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:35 PM ----------

Quote Originally Posted by Calvino View Post
    I love Sushi, have only ever been to Moshi Moshi and Yo Sushi! though.

Down in London next week, there must be some decent genuine places there - anyone recommend one?
    All over the place. Where you going to be?

---------- Post added at 09:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:37 PM ----------

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Is there anywhere in Scotland you can get authentic Sushi? Would love to give it a go but don't know where to go.
    There used to be a good place in the Merchant City in Glasgow.

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    All over the place. Where you going to be?
    I was down last week at my Mum's place in Aldgate so had access to pretty much the whole city.

Went to Ryo, just off Regent's Street on Sergey's recommendation - a really nice Japanese place but not specifically a Sushi bar which I liked.

You got any recommendations for next time I'm down?

Is the authentic way not eating from a naked womans body?
    Doubt you will find anywhere here where you can do that. In fact remember you are in Scotland so would you really want to.
    Puts a whole new slant on the eating raw fish scenario.

Oishii in Rose Street is really good.