Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar

Chances of the match being called off? (Update: Match ON)

Here in Haddington, it's not stopped raining all day, extremely windy aswell. The forecast for tomorrow isn't great either. If Edinburgh is anything like Haddy i'll be surprised if the match goes ahead.

Game will be on. How often do you see our games being cancelled due to weather?

Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    Here in Haddington, it's not stopped raining all day, extremely windy aswell. The forecast for tomorrow isn't great either. If Edinburgh is anything like Haddy i'll be surprised if the match goes ahead.
    Raining here all day as well. Like you forecast for tomorrow not good either.

Hope not, just drove past ER and they've got the floodlights up already.

Gamertag: hibees Wii Code: 007
    the water level on the water o leith is very high

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeDaz6270 View Post
    Were you in the country at Christmas/New Year time? That'll be why recently there's been a huge backlog of fixtures to be played.

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Covers will be on the pitch and it will go ahead IMO.

The game itself could be a nightmare to watch and play in with the wind and rain, especially with no cover from the East.

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeDaz6270 View Post
    the last two games i was at against st johnstone. the first one was late 90s, and you know what happened with the last one.

Might be a nice cosy night in watching Arsenal v Barca

I predict the game will be on and the conditions will be attrocious. Hats, gloves, scarves, jumpers and waterproofs are the order of the day.

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Westie1875 View Post
    Hope not, just drove past ER and they've got the floodlights up already.

With this wind they are probably doon again..................

Quote Originally Posted by whiskyhibby View Post
    With this wind they are probably doon again..................
    They don't look very high, about level with where the roof of the East stand was.

Its now snowing here on top of the rivers of water flooding off the fields

PS ESK has burst its banks in musselburgh pretty badly and tyne is not far behind

Were you in the country at Christmas/New Year time? That'll be why recently there's been a huge backlog of fixtures to be played.
    Slight difference from rain and wind, to the weather then though. We had a terrible amount of snow, and the conditions today are nothing like conditions then. It will be a misuerable night, but there is no way this game will be off.

SW Scotland, Lothian & Borders:

Rain and sleet will quickly turn to snow this evening and become prolonged and very heavy at times and persist tonight. The snow will quickly drift in the strong to gale force North wind with blizzard conditions developing in many areas. Over upland areas severe blizzards will develop with severely reduced visibility at times. Snow accumulations will vary largely across the region, with typically 15cm, but upland inland areas outwith Edinburgh City, especially towards the Pentland and Lammermuir hills could catch 30 to 50cm with deep drifts. However coastal parts of East Lothian and especially around the coast to Berwick will catch notably less snow. Many roads are liable to become impassable and some interruptions to power supplies are possible.
    The public are advised to take extra care and refer to Traffic Scotland for further advice on road conditions.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Looks like I'm in for another hairy journey from Aberdeen!

Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post

The game itself could be a nightmare to watch and play in with the wind and rain, especially with no cover from the East.
    Quote Originally Posted by noseyhibby View Post
    I predict the game will be on and the conditions will be attrocious. Hats, gloves, scarves, jumpers and waterproofs are the order of the day.
    Yikes.

What a leveller.

We might even win.

aye could b a fun journey from here in darkest aberdeenshire ...... Well laurencekirk anyway !!

Stormy is the only way to describe the weather in Leith just now, its blummin horrible!

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by frazerbob View Post
    Looks like I'm in for another hairy journey from Aberdeen!
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnforr View Post
    aye could b a fun journey from here in darkest aberdeenshire ...... Well laurencekirk anyway !!
    TBH lads, I wouldn't chance it going by the forecast. Apart from your own safety, it's a long trek to find out it's off. I doff my hat to your dedication though.

If it was cancelled, I wonder when it would be replayed? Dundee Utd are playing next Monday against St Johnstone and the following midweek against Rangers. Throw in a potential Cup Replay against Raith and it could be another month or so!

Heard on the radio that leith was flooding.

Quote Originally Posted by cwilliamson85 View Post
    Heard on the radio that leith was flooding.
    My back garden is starting to flood, I can see the Tyne from my window, nearly burst it's banks and the water isn't running far beneath the bridge.

Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    If it was cancelled, I wonder when it would be replayed? Dundee Utd are playing next Monday against St Johnstone and the following midweek against Rangers. Throw in a potential Cup Replay against Raith and it could be another month or so!
    I think semi finals are one-off games now - no replays.

My back garden is starting to flood, I can see the Tyne from my window, nearly burst it's banks and the water isn't running far beneath the bridge.

Tyne soon will -its over its banks further up stream and plenty more falling...we have a good covering of snow now.....

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post

There are no covers on the pitch, haven't been all day.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    It's like out of the film day after tomorrow lol

Only way the game will be called off is if there is any potential problem for United travelling down assuming they are coming down tomorrow. That apart game will be on I reckon.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Don't respond to the Yam any more, or he wins.

Moving on.. Been sleet pretty much all evening in Riccarton. Either it's dying down or getting too dark to be seen.

Met office have issued an emergency severe weather warning for east of Scotland with up to 40cm of snow on higher ground and gale force winds causing drifting.