Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar

Postings - User names v real names

I'm thinking about comments in the press from Yogi recently, and also from Walter Smith and others in the past about website messageboards not being worth them listening to cos the postings are made by 'faceless' fans

I can partly understand their thinking, BUT...

Hows about on the profile that we all fill in to join this site, we have a choice about whether or not to show our real names as well as a chosen usename ?
    If we did that, it would mean that anyone who chooses to tick the box to allow their real name to be displayed with each posting they make ceases to become anon and therefore gives their postings a bit more credibility ...I'm maybe missing something, but I cant see any drawbacks to anyones real name being displayed too

Over to you folks

Great idea.

I'm John Hughes.

I'm not Alan O'Brien

Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post
    I'm thinking about comments in the press from Yogi recently, and also from Walter Smith and others in the past about website messageboards not being worth them listening to cos the postings are made by 'faceless' fans

Hows about on the profile that we all fill in to join this site, we have a choice about whether or not to show our real names as well as a chosen usename ?
    If we did that, it would mean that anyone who chooses to tick the box to allow their real name to be displayed with each posting they make ceases to become anon and therefore gives their postings a bit more credibility ...I'm maybe missing something, but I cant see any drawbacks to anyones real name being displayed too

Over to you folks

Just pop your real name in the username bit?

Ive kept a secet for a long time, Gareth Evans married my sister.

PSN ID: hibeeg
    I don't think people should be encouraged to display their real names on the internet when we spend all our time telling our kids not to do it !!

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Ive kept a secet for a long time, Gareth Evans married my sister.
    I knew your real name was Gareth. The Yams will be creaming themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    I knew your real name was Gareth. The Yams will be creaming themselves.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    My real name is Derek G. Riordan.
    Hope the fans go easy on me now. :notworthy:

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Akent you were Deek

Gave yer Uncle James a ticket when you got your 1st goal in a winning Derby (2-1 Benji game)

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    If you're gonna take the piss just **** off
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by hibee View Post
    I don't think people should be encouraged to display their real names on the internet when we spend all our time telling our kids not to do it !!
    Thats a very good point, but if some-one joins hibs.net as a junior, I'd say they def shouldnt have their realname displayed
    I know there might be some folks who would say their names are YOGI, or Dick Puler, R.Sole. M.Mouse etc etc, and that's all good for a laugh, but I just think if the Admin folks have doubts about a realname, they don't let the person use it, and that person posts remain as only showing their chosen username. Then we'd all have a choice when reading a post...i.e. is the person for real, or maybe they're anon and they're maybe a Jambo at the wind-up

I'd take a posting with a realname more seriously than an anon one...

@hibs.net private member Lang Toun Hibs's Avatar
    Dunning Hibs says it all - I live in Dunning, it's a small village and I think I'm the only Hibs fan here...wouldn't take you too long to find me!

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar

Over to you folks

We'd still be 'faceless'.

I don't see what the point would be anyway, what is the value of telling people your name on a messageboard?

Thats a very good point, but if some-one joins hibs.net as a junior, I'd say they def shouldnt have their realname displayed
    I know there might be some folks who would say their names are YOGI, or Dick Puler, R.Sole. M.Mouse etc etc, and that's all good for a laugh, but I just think if the Admin folks have doubts about a realname, they don't let the person use it, and that person posts remain as only showing their chosen username. Then we'd all have a choice when reading a post...i.e. is the person for real, or maybe they're anon and they're maybe a Jambo at the wind-up

I'd take a posting with a realname more seriously than an anon one...

Well i hope you take me more seriously now, now that you know who i am.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Akent you were Deek

Gave yer Uncle James a ticket when you got your 1st goal in a winning Derby (2-1 Benji game)

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    If you're gonna take the piss just **** off

I'm actually Ian Brines...now move along quietly.

@hibs.net private member Auckland Hibs's Avatar
    I've never told anyone this before on hibs.net until today, my real name is Paul.

First Team Breakthrough Nitten Hibee's Avatar
    my name is barry and never said this before but think am an alcoholic typical hobo really

My real name is George Foulkes and I am Lord so there!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by fatbloke View Post
    My real name is George Foulkes and I am Lord so there!!!!!!!

with that post and the thread you just started am thinking your smelling of

I think the only real named person I've seen on here that immediately springs to mind is James Riordan.
    Where did he go anyway???

Oh, by the way, my surname is Farmer. No, honestly, it is!

< Those are my kids, (the small ones!) but I'm not telling you there names Pike!

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    I am not a fan of this and neither will most Hibbies - I mean why on earth would we want to reveal our real names?
    Most people know that we are claiming on the dole whilst selling pegs, tarmacing drives and sharpening shears...like a turkey voting for xmas.

Quote Originally Posted by deano88 View Post
    We'd still be 'faceless'.

I don't see what the point would be anyway, what is the value of telling people your name on a messageboard?
    Aye, thats true Deano, but I'm thinking it would deal with Yogi or WS comments, and maybe displaying a persons real name would give the person making a post a bit more credibility.
    I honestly cani see what anyone would have to lose...or am I missing something

Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    I am not a fan of this and neither will most Hibbies - I mean why on earth would we want to reveal our real names?
    Most people know that we are claiming on the dole whilst selling pegs, tarmacing drives and sharpening shears...like a turkey voting for xmas.
    f******in teckle

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor® View Post
    Great idea.

I'm John Hughes.
    Me too, and I would just like to say how well I am doing, that is all, thanks for the opportunity

Quote Originally Posted by fatbloke View Post
    And I am thinking why dont you shove yer keyboard up yer er5e ya clown. Your number of posts = your IQ.
    touchy touchy mate just stating my thoughts on the nonsence your talking

ave got a laptop tae so the shoving the keyboard up ma tynecastle wid be that wee bit harder
    Last edited by Nitten Hibee; 28-03-2010 at 07:58 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibee5824 View Post
    touchy touchy mate just stating my thoughts on the nonsence your talking
    I think we can finish second in fact I think we will!!!!!!