First Team Breakthrough Nitten Hibee's Avatar

Wi'a winger and a prerr!

My friend from work has just lost her father he passed away at the grand auld age of 98 she found this poem amongst his belongings she has the original copy she wanted me to share it with its clearly about us bein the first team in britain to venture into europe
    WI'A WINGER AND A PRERR!

WE'RE ALMOST BACK IN EUROPE
    AND IT'S NO JUST IN OOR DREAMS,
    AH MIND THE FURST TIME WE WIZ THERE
    AGAINST A TEAM CALLED RHEIMS.

THE END RESULT ESCAPES ME -
    BUT AH NEVER THINK THE WURST.
    THE MAIN THING AH REMEMBER -
    IN EUROPE - WE WIZ FURST.

IT'S BEEN A 'CHOKER' A' THESE YEARS
    NO TAE BE INVOLVED,
    BUT NOW THE SLEEPIN' GIANT'S AWOKE
    OOR PROBLEMS WILL BE SOLVED

BOARDROOM BATTLES DON'T IMPRESS
    SUPPORTERS O' THE TEAM,
    IT'S 'FIGHTING SPIRIT' ON THE PARK
    WHICH WILL FULFILL OOR DREAM.

THERE'S NO A MAN AT EASTER ROAD
    WHO WANT'S TAE SEE US FA' -
    SUPPORTERS STAND THERE EVERY WEEK
    KICKIN' EVERY BA'.

SUPPORT THE HI-BEES EVERY WEEK
    AND GIVE A HELPING HAND.
    FIVE THOUSAND 'CENTRE FORWARDS' ALWAYS
    SITTIN' IN THE STAND.

SO DIG OOT A' THEY HATS AND SCARVES
    COLOURED GREEN AND WHITE
    AND GIVE A ROUSIN' CHEER ONCE MORE
    NOW WE'VE GOT IT RIGHT.

HOW DAE YE CHEER UP GRAND-CHILDREN
    LYIN' GREETIN' ON THE FLAIR -
    - REMIND THEM O' THE HIBS, AND SAY -
    "GRANDSON, - AH WIZ THERE!"

JIM ANDERSON
    THE EASTER ROAD BARD

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibee5824 View Post
    HOW DAE YE CHEER UP GRAND-CHILDREN
    LYIN' GREETIN' ON THE FLAIR -
    - REMIND THEM O' THE HIBS, AND SAY -
    "GRANDSON, - AH WIZ THERE!"

JIM ANDERSON
    THE EASTER ROAD BARD

Great and moving words...but there's that word again.."FLAIR" aaaagh

Quote Originally Posted by noseyhibby View Post
    Great and moving words...but there's that word again.."FLAIR" aaaagh

aye but its being used in a different context tae the nonsense we keep hearing!

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibee5824 View Post
    aye but its being used in a different context tae the nonsense we keep hearing!
    I know

anymore thoughts on this guys

This is great. Really shows what this famous club means to people, young or old. RIP

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Great stuff.