Thread: Gary Oconnor

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62

Gary Oconnor

Has been offered a contract at Celtic but turned it down as he didn't want to be a bench boy....he approached Hibs about signing but we couldnt afford his wages - all fact, woohoo go me
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 15-03-2010 at 05:50 PM. Reason: might be first hand info, but its still greggs
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    Has been offered a contract at Celtic but turned it down as he didn't want to be a bench boy....he approached Hibs about signing but we couldnt afford his wages - all fact, woohoo go me

What was he looking to earn?

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    is his contract up in the summer?

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bighairyfaeleith View Post
    is his contract up in the summer?

Quote Originally Posted by Big Frank View Post
    What was he looking to earn?
    No idea. To be honest I liked the idea that he came to us, so maybe something might be thrashed out

@hibs.net private member _hucks_'s Avatar
    Not going to ask for a source as always happens, as you'd have said if you felt you could, but is your source reliable?

PSN ID: shamo9
    No idea. To be honest I liked the idea that he came to us, so maybe something might be thrashed out
    We could offer to name the new East Stand after him?

Quote Originally Posted by _hucks_ View Post
    Not going to ask for a source as always happens, as you'd have said if you felt you could, but is your source reliable?
    Yup, he has absolutely no reason to tell porkie pies - just got to wait and see.

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    Surely if he approached us he'd conside dropping his wages.... the boys loaded

If true, he's got a bit of a nerve offering his services to a club whose wage structure isn't remotely near what he'll be looking for and well he knows it. If big time Charlie seriously wanted to return to his roots, he'd have to be prepared to take a huge drop in wages and live on the millions he's tucked away.

punt nish, sign o'connor. Simples

Nish played the best today

Quote Originally Posted by Seanduff View Post
    Nish playedthe best today

He is beyond gash.

Nish playedthe best today
    aye but that isnae saying much, you couldn't honestly tell me you want him ahead of o'connor?

Would you get rid of stokesy or riordan before nish?

I never said that i just think theres others that could go before the curly wurly

yeah but if we are to sign another striker, we need to get rid of one of the other strikers and nish would get my vote as he is a similar player to o'connor but not as good.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    He was in the ground watching again today

Quote Originally Posted by 1875-Sean-1875 View Post
    Unlucky him....

Quote Originally Posted by 1875-Sean-1875 View Post

Any chance we could get him on loan?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernating View Post
    He is beyond gash.
    Better than Nade though.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Stokes won't be here long I reckon. Benji either. Every so often, two big guys up front could be just the ticket - it certainly doesn't stop St.J's playing a wee bit of football from time to time.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    If true, he's got a bit of a nerve offering his services to a club whose wage structure isn't remotely near what he'll be looking for and well he knows it. If big time Charlie seriously wanted to return to his roots, he'd have to be prepared to take a huge drop in wages and live on the millions he's tucked away.
    Totally agree, certainly looks like he is getting ready to come home as he has also purchased a rather large holding in 'Le Monde'....way too much cash

Gamertag: GlasMatt PSN ID: mrxblaikiex
    We'll see O'Connor back at Hibs one day, But hes reaching his peak and if given a chance he could still make it down south.

A mate of mine was speaking to GOC today and pretty much told him what the OP stated. Said he didn't want to go to Celtic in case he didn't get a regular game and was keen to come back to ER, but we couldn't put the cash up for wages.

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    I'll be the first.

PETRIE!

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please.

Hmmm... maybe be good for 8 goals a season, then spend the rest of the time on the Physio table.
    He obviously knows he's getting punted from Brum if he's looking to come back up here.

Quote Originally Posted by moff1875 View Post
    A mate of mine was speaking to GOC today and pretty much told him what the OP stated. Said he didn't want to go to Celtic in case he didn't get a regular game and was keen to come back to ER, but we couldn't put the cash up for wages.
    If he wanted to come back that much...

Tell yae what, walked past him the day, he's a lot bigger than i thought!

Boys a machine.

Benj

spot on. O Connor was a machine, full of power and running. If we were to lose one of our Strikers then he would be an ample replacement.

Never say never. Look at Stokes/Miller did we ever expect to see players of their quality at ER....I would say no.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by madabouthibs View Post
    Hmmm... maybe be good for 8 goals a season, then spend the rest of the time on the Physio table.
    He obviously knows he's getting punted from Brum if he's looking to come back up here.
    Pretty much my thoughts and previous recollection!