Stokes, Riordan et al...take note!

Proof that staying off the bevvy and not going out every single weekend might just help your career!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...p-his-act.html

Rooney is a quite superb player. He strikes me as being totally in love with the game.

He is good enough to give Engerland a serious chance in SA too!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Proof that staying off the bevvy and not going out every single weekend might just help your career!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...p-his-act.html
    There was an article on James Milner in the Sunday times at the weekend as well. He decided at 14 that alcohol wouldn’t help him improve as a player so has never touched a drink.
    Last edited by Danderhall Hibs; 02-03-2010 at 08:16 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    There was an article on James Milner in teh Sunday times at the weekend as well. He decided at 14 that alcohol wouldn’t help him improve as a player so has never touched a drink.
    Do you have a link for that?

Had a quick scan of Google and Times' site with no success. Would be interested in a wee read.

Footballers and alcohol should be a no-brainer - look at Darren Fletcher from a Scottish point of you. He doesn't drink and you'd struggle to find a fitter footballer.

Quote Originally Posted by Perspective View Post

Had a quick scan of Google and Times' site with no success. Would be interested in a wee read.
    Here you go mate - the TimesOnline site's a nightmare to find things on.

@hibs.net private member GlesgaeHibby's Avatar

Footballers and alcohol should be a no-brainer - look at Darren Fletcher from a Scottish point of you. He doesn't drink and you'd struggle to find a fitter footballer.
    Completely agree.

It's the age old conflict between the need for short term gratification versus long term success.

"Pleasure now" usually wins over "pain now and reward later".

Very few people get it right, but they are usually the successful ones.

That's why I now drive a Lamborghini.

john collins and latterly darren jackson i`m sure did the same

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by weonlywon6-2 View Post
    [/B]

john collins and latterly darren jackson i`m sure did the same
    John Rankin is another non drinker.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    John Rankin is another non drinker.
    He just plays like he's been drinking.

@hibs.net private member Green_one's Avatar
    Was Kenny Dalgleish a non drinker. Probbaly one of the fitest players of his era.

Alcohol and fitba don't mix. In the main, I'd agree. However, there are some exceptions and a certain former Man Utd player would disagree.

Am no for this big love in with Wayne Rooney. I found it most amusing to hear how Noel Gallagher sent him back the guitar he'd asked him to sign (returned it to him sprayed Man City blue and unsigned)
    Last edited by Bad Martini; 02-03-2010 at 04:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post
    Alcohol and fitba don't mix. In the main, I'd agree. However, there are some exceptions and a certain Man Utd player would disagree.

Am no for this big love in with Wayne Rooney. I found it most amusing to hear how Noel Gallagher sent him back the guitar he'd asked him to sign (returned it to him sprayed Man City blue and unsigned)
    What a complete tosser that man is. Noel, that is.

Heavy drinking cuts short playing careers. I reckon by at least six years.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Here you go mate - the TimesOnline site's a nightmare to find things on.
    Thanks for that pal.

A good read and just re-affirms my belief that he'll go a long way in the game. Shame there aren't more like him.

Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post
    Alcohol and fitba don't mix. In the main, I'd agree. However, there are some exceptions and a certain Man Utd player would disagree.

He's been massively overhyped this season. Will walk all the POTY honours this year because its an Engerland world cup year, even though Drogba has been arguably just as good if not better. Most media pundits have been describing him as a 'shoe-in'

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    He's been massively overhyped this season. Will walk all the POTY honours this year because its an Engerland world cup year, even though Drogba has been arguably just as good if not better. Most media pundits have been describing him as a 'shoe-in'

If Rooney keeps going the way he is it will be no contest. Mon u reds.

Outstanding footballer but can you imagine the size of him if he liked a bevvy? For his age he must have shared the same paper round as fletch!

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LamontHFC© View Post
    What a complete tosser that man is. Noel, that is.
    Get over it Liam.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Get over it Liam.

Gordon Smith lived a similar lifestyle and played till 40

Stanley Matthews was a Vegetarian Teetotaller whose last game for Hibs was at age 55

I've been a vegetarian and am still a teetotaller.........and I cannae kick a ba' tae save masel'

Theories eh!

Quote Originally Posted by 49years a Hibee View Post
    Gordon Smith lived a similar lifestyle and played till 40

Stanley Matthews was a Vegetarian Teetotaller whose last game for Hibs was at age 55

I've been a vegetarian and am still a teetotaller.........and I cannae kick a ba' tae save masel'

Theories eh!
    Matthews played for the cabbage? I musta missed that.