The we will always love the Old East stand thread!

Goodbye, Thanks for the memories!

May be gone/going, but you will never be forgotten!

I am sad...November 2007 vs Hertz (1-1) will now forever be my last game in the old East Stand

End of an era and all that. It will be sadly missed.

They'd better leave the exit gates there for posterity though, if I don't touch them on the way out the world will surely end

Promising Youngster
    Grew up there and spent ma whole Hibee life on that terracing. Tried the shed, the auld enclosure but always came back to the terracing.

Still - don't know how I'll cope wi getting chucked oot o so many games from now on............

Very sad news, just caps a pretty miserable week for many Hibs fans!

Apart from one season, I have always had my season ticket in the East. I will always remember being in there for the 6-2 game most.

OLD EAST STAND - :notworthy:

I personally remember the old East Terracing (uncovered and huge) - IMO the monstrosity that currently exists makes ER look like some third-rate amateur stadium: the quicker it goes the bettter. Good riddance to it - and great news!

Had some of the best times at a footie match in the old east. I'll be sad to see it go.

@hibs.net private member hibsfan7's Avatar

Talking the we will always love the east stand

:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notwo rthy:maybe we should sell it to a certain team who are on the lookout for a new stand

you know the one that is going to cost £51 million

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    End of an era and all that. It will be sadly missed.

They'd better leave the exit gates there for posterity though, if I don't touch them on the way out the world will surely end
    I wonder if Nostradamus foresaw the tumbling of the green metal gates? I surely hope not.

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07
    some great memories watching hibs in the east, souness's first rangers game, bouncing, ending up at the bottom after both goals and the sending off, rushing inside after the 91 cup win,Athens game, 6-2 game. only ever moved because i wouldn't take my lassie in there when she was wee.will be back now though

Quote Originally Posted by PeeJay View Post
    I personally remember the old East Terracing (uncovered and huge) - IMO the monstrosity that currently exists makes ER look like some third-rate amateur stadium: the quicker it goes the bettter. Good riddance to it - and great news!
    Ah, but from inside the East, the stadium looked great.

Some great memories.

6-2, winning the First Div, parading the cup, End of Moggas first season, Athens and seeing the likes of Keith Keith Keith, Mickey, Crunchie, Latapy, Sauzee, the Pornstar, Matty Jack, Deek, GOC, Scotty and the rest week in week out. The worst bog at a fitbaw ground, walking up and down those steps, hibees bounce, ending up rows from your seat after a big goal, the stupid kenco stands, getting the coupan on, and tapping the green bar.

But it's deffo for the best, I'm still irked by my shocking view against Dnipro and don't think I bought a ticket for the East when I didn't know where I'd be sittin again. Last match will be Elfsborg which sucks too.

Onwards and upwards cabbage!

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post

... perspective - damn ... no real comeback on that!

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    If you weren't behind a pillar or TV gantry, that is!

Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    I wonder if Nostradamus foresaw the tumbling of the green metal gates? I surely hope not.
    , Quatrain 1875 (see what i did there).

"and lo the new structure will come from the East"
    "in the same year as the demise of the pink ones from the West"
    "a new structure for a period of dominance"
    "sadly some green metal gates will have to go"

Truly an end of days prophecy.

Quote Originally Posted by EskbankHibby View Post
    , Quatrain 1875 (see what i did there).

"and lo the new structure will come from the East"
    "in the same year as the demise of the pink ones from the West"
    "a new structure for a period of dominance"
    "sadly some green metal gates will have to go"

Truly an end of days prophecy.

Loved, love and will forever love the East. What a bunch of radgies and gadgies sat in there, but I wouldn't have it any other way.

Celebrating like a madman when Benji papped it past the Lanky Lesbian to make it 2-1, ending - literally - 3 rows away after O'Connor slotted home the second against Rangers in The George Best game - fun, fun times.

Will be a day of seriously mixed emotions come the St Johnstone game

Best memory: Sunshine on Leith - AEK!
    Worse memory: Paco Luna missed header - AEK!

First Team Breakthrough hibby4ever's Avatar
    Best memory in the east has to be the aek athens game and the worst was again the athens game when i thought luna had scored and he missed.......

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Whilst I enjoyed it, I cannot get over emotional. I stood there in the early 70s for various reasons to do with visiting supporters. I lived in the Coo shed for a while, I lived in the South enclosure for a while, I lived in the Coo shed when it got seated for a while, I lived in the FF for a while, I even dallied in the West for a while. I have sat in the south with the brats when I didn't think they were old enough for a bit of skullduggery in the east. Recent years I have sat or stood wherever the notion has taken me on a weekly basis. Aye it was good, but so were other parts of the ground as well. Long live progress.

:notworthy:

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    The atmosphere during the AEK match was just awesome.

@hibs.net private member London Hibs FC's Avatar
    Best memory has got to be my first, cannot remember who we were playing against or which date it was but it was definitely a midweek game back in the 70s.

Dad had lifted me over the turnstiles, he lead me to the top of the stairs and there it was; Easter Road in all its glory.

I also remember him lifting me on his shoulders so I could touch the top of the exit on the way out.......... I didn't know why I was doing it but it was clear that it needed to be done.

Last place I saw my Grandad alive was in the East, lots of memories and emotions have been shared over there.

I'll miss the old East but I'm more than ready to embrace the completion of an arena fit for many more good memories to come.

:notworthy:

East Stand; the best stand in the world....

...beats every other footballing enclosure in the world without trying and I am including some seriously good stands in this assessment.

They are all mere **** all's compared to the mythical heavenly enclosure that is, the East Terracin' .... in fact, on the eighth day, after God created Hibs and Archie Gemmill's goal against Holland in 1978, he spent a little bit of time inventing the plans for the East Stand and also, plotting the demise of the huns at a future date, TBC

Far too many great memories of that stand to count em all. Recall yams bubble bursting there and losing clothing that day. Recall ripping huns once...and the other side of soap dodge city and other less common events such as rolling in at 7.55 on a cold October night to join a rousing (as only the EAST can do ) rendition of Flower of Scotland as we gubbed the Canadians and I think, Crawford scored anaw.

Ahh, the east. I'll be sad to see her go....in fact, might steal a large chunk of seating, roofing AND the gates. Anyone got a spare arctic and a 22lb hammer

My best memory of the East Terracing was at the first game after the roof was built. After years of standing on an open terrace and vainly trying to create an atmosphere, we suddenly had this fantastic roofed terrace to call our own.

I realise it now looks ******* in comparison to the other sides of the ground but everyone thought it was fantastic when it was opened.

p.s. Incidentally, could anyone clarify for me whether it was the Aug 85 or Aug 86 it opened? I think it was the latter but not 100% sure.

p.p.s Does anyone have photos of the newly roofed East Terrace upon opening?

First Team Breakthrough Cal 7-0's Avatar
    Going to miss the East, the banter, the extra fitba mates I've made round about us, the Wee Woman in front of me who's always got a packed lunch wi her, Big Raymond's dulcet tones as he roars at all thing and anything but hey at least we will get a rerun on telly of the goals you miss whilst at the pie stall or cludgy. Good times, here's to many more.

The East is Dead-Long Live The East.

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    My best memory of the East Terracing was at the first game after the roof was built. After years of standing on an open terrace and vainly trying to create an atmosphere, we suddenly had this fantastic roofed terrace to call our own.

I realise it now looks ******* in comparison to the other sides of the ground but everyone thought it was fantastic when it was opened.

p.s. Incidentally, could anyone clarify for me whether it was the Aug 85 or Aug 86 it opened? I think it was the latter but not 100% sure.

p.p.s Does anyone have photos of the newly roofed East Terrace upon opening?
    must have been 86 cause it was 85 when we were all huddled into the cave on our run to the cup final, beating both the unwashed on the way.ahh the old cowan and durie partnership-great in the cup midweeks but didnt win in our first 7/8 league games

QUOTE=keekaboo;2363634]

p.p.s Does anyone have photos of the newly roofed East Terrace upon opening?[/QUOTE]

Nope, but I do have one of it after the Hamilton game...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/4372602442/

Ande to go even further back.....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebar...7600481180535/

Supermac is your man for pictures of the stadium in the past 20 years...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreyw...7602269717720/

Just look at those whilst playing "Sunshine on Leith" - go on, I dare you.

Quote Originally Posted by skipster7 View Post
    must have been 86 cause it was 85 when we were all huddled into the cave on our run to the cup final, beating both the unwashed on the way.ahh the old cowan and durie partnership-great in the cup midweeks but didnt win in our first 7/8 league games
    I think it was the 1985-86 season.

I vaguley remember everyone dancing around in it when news came through of a Bobby Ball lookalike scoring fifty odd miles away at the end of that campaign

It was certainly in place for the first game of 86-87 when Sourpuss got red carded for the Huns.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    One of the East's finest moments...

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthre...hlight=Souness

Quote Originally Posted by skipster7 View Post

That's my memories of it as well, seems likely to be 86 then.

I had a spell of sitting in the Cave end, while the work was being done on the East. I don't actually ever remember it being called the 'East' or 'East Terracing' in those days, just 'The Terracing'.