Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbie_Cameron View Post
    Its about 00.45

I thought it was on last night, gonna miss it now
    Hmmm. That's late. Not sure if I can stay awake until then. We'll see as I would rather watch it live. Cheers for letting me know.

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    Quote Originally Posted by Sick Boy View Post
    No chance of getting a ticket for any of Team Canada's games but I'm going to see Belarus v Sweden on Friday and looking forward to it immensely.
    How was the game?

I don't generally like Ice Hockey, especially the Icing rule, but I'm gonna watch this game.

The Canadian defence has been atrocious. Brodeur is trying his best to hand the game to the yanks, but it's not over yet by any stretch. I'm fancying Canada to come back into this.

Quote Originally Posted by GhostofBolivar View Post
    There's an old Canadian joke: I went to a fight and a hockey match broke out.

There's as much skill and judgement in a clean hit - especially an open-ice hit - as there is in puck handling. One of the things that impresses me most about hockey players is the skill set they possess. Not only do they have the hand-eye co-ordination and touch to pass and shoot with high accuracy; not only are most of these guys world-class skaters; but they can do it all with a 220lb defenceman hanging off them.
    There's nothing quite like seeing a big open ice hit.

Ovechkin's destruction of Jagr earlier is one of the best I've seen in quite a while.

YouTube - Ovechkin Destroys Jagr

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Marabou Stork View Post
    The Canadian defence has been atrocious. Brodeur is trying his best to hand the game to the yanks, but it's not over yet by any stretch. I'm fancying Canada to come back into this.
    Canada deep in the **** now

Has to beat Germany (which they should), just to play Russia in the 1/4 final and possibly Sweden in the 1/2 final, all that just to reach the gold medal match. Ouch.

Getting taken to OT by the Swiss is really coming back to bite them on the arse, because if they had won that in regulation (or taken the States to OT) they would have replaced Finland as the best runner up and gone straight through to the 1/4 final.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Brilliant game - wasn't expecting a win, but we thoroughly deserved it!

Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Left by mutual consent! PC Stamp's Avatar
    Mike Isacock, sorry Babcock looks way out of his depth .... just like his Redwings team has for most of the season. He has NO idea who to match up on his lines. He persists for example with the Sharks line which has done hee haw and drops a netminder who would be on top of his game in front of his own crowd in Vancouver after a shut out against Norway. After a pish poor first period against Norway he teams up Crosby & Iginla and wallop - hat trick for Iggy and 3 assists for Sid the Kid! Then he goes back to the same failed lines for Switzerland & USA - a spawny win and a boots in the baws defeat!

I did say Canada would struggle!

Then again maybe they could lodge a protest about the American team's helmets?

@hibs.net private member Hibbie_Cameron's Avatar
    Were the flames representing Canada last night

First Team Breakthrough Higgy115's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PC Stamp View Post
    Mike Isacock, sorry Babcock looks way out of his depth .... just like his Redwings team has for most of the season. He has NO idea who to match up on his lines. He persists for example with the Sharks line which has done hee haw and drops a netminder who would be on top of his game in front of his own crowd in Vancouver after a shut out against Norway. After a pish poor first period against Norway he teams up Crosby & Iginla and wallop - hat trick for Iggy and 3 assists for Sid the Kid! Then he goes back to the same failed lines for Switzerland & USA - a spawny win and a boots in the baws defeat!

I did say Canada would struggle!

Then again maybe they could lodge a protest about the American team's helmets?
    You did warn us PC....

Hopefully now it is straight knock out they will wind their necks in and start playing. Has Brodeur been injured, just seemed very lethargic/slow last night.

Quote Originally Posted by Higgy115 View Post
    You did warn us PC....

Hopefully now it is straight knock out they will wind their necks in and start playing. Has Brodeur been injured, just seemed very lethargic/slow last night.
    The excuse du jour is that the ice is too rough (due to playing 2/3 matches per day) for a goaltender who likes to come out of his net and pass it around a bit. Normally the Olympics / World Championship rules would favour a goaltender like Brodeur because they aren't restricted in the areas they can play the puck (no trapezoid thingy as in NHL games). I think it helped the Americans that they had a couple of players who played with Brodeur a long time in New Jersey (ie Rafalski and Langenbrunner), who were able to read what he was going to do, this particularly applied to the US second goal.
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 22-02-2010 at 08:08 PM.

Holy netbursting shot, Batman!

Shea Weber is amazing

Coaching Staff scott7_0(Prague)'s Avatar
    Keep an eye on the Czechs, they nearly ****ed it up this morning, but when they are under pressure they sometimes can produce the goods, Jagr is hitting form and we might stand a wee chance.

Cesi do toho!!

Incidentally, did you see the Slovak player Luboš Bartečko hit the ice this morning?

OUCH.....

Holy netbursting shot, Batman!

Shea Weber is amazing
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/olym...ey/8534017.stm

I just saw it, but how is that phsyically possible?

Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 24-02-2010 at 11:52 AM.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    I'm fancying a USA vs Canada rematch for the Gold - here's hoping for the same outcome too
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

First Team Breakthrough Higgy115's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I'm fancying a USA vs Canada rematch for the Gold - here's hoping for the same outcome too
    Certainly looks like USA v AN OTHER, what time is final on over here, middle of night?

Russia v Canada tonight! All Russian will be watching it from the 3.30 russian time. Hockey is a very popular here. Come on Russia!!!!!!

Well darn me .... Iginla & Crosby on the same line and a double for Iginla.
    Someone must have banged Bigcock I mean Babcock on the heid!
    OK it was only the Germans but the fact is they created the chances!

Quote Originally Posted by Higgy115 View Post
    Certainly looks like USA v AN OTHER, what time is final on over here, middle of night?
    8.30 or there abouts.

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/olym...ey/8534017.stm

I just saw it, but how is that phsyically possible?

Apparently it happened during the NCAA tournament last year. Last night it happened because Weber's a beast who has a cannon of a shot.

He's 6'4", 230. The butt-end of the stick he uses would come up to my shoulder. According to someone who has one of his sticks there is absolutely no flex in it at all.

That puck would have been doing well over 100 mph. The twine didn't even slow it down.

Astonishing.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    ABTY.

Apparently it happened during the NCAA tournament last year. Last night it happened because Weber's a beast who has a cannon of a shot.

He's 6'4", 230. The butt-end of the stick he uses would come up to my shoulder. According to someone who has one of his sticks there is absolutely no flex in it at all.

That puck would have been doing well over 100 mph. The twine didn't even slow it down.

Astonishing.
    And now we have the Yanks not scoring a goal that crossed the line with literally 0.0 seconds remaining (of the second period). I thought it was going to be the night for the Swiss to pull off the upset until they had a puck bounce out from the inside of the post.

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    And now we have the Yanks not scoring a goal that crossed the line with literally 0.0 seconds remaining (of the second period). I thought it was going to be the night for the Swiss to pull off the upset until they had a puck bounce out from the inside of the post.

SWMBO was watching that match and SHE says the puck crossed the line just out of time.

And SWMBO is always right.

Quote Originally Posted by Marabou Stork View Post
    There's nothing quite like seeing a big open ice hit.

Ovechkin's destruction of Jagr earlier is one of the best I've seen in quite a while.

[/URL]

The IOC seem to have stopped that link, Stork.

However, a YouTube search on "Ovechkin Hits" will lead to an entertaining 15 minutes or so.

Alexander Ovechkin -the thinking man's Terminator.

Not that he couldnae score a goal or two as well ....

YouTube - Alexander Ovechkin hits and goals
    Last edited by --------; 24-02-2010 at 10:25 PM.

Coaching Staff scott7_0(Prague)'s Avatar
    7-3 Canada over the Ruskies, they look strong, currently 0.0 with us Czech's into the 3rd period, USA wait for the winners of Czechs/Finland!

Come on CZ.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    No. That's Wendel Clark.

YouTube - A tribute to Wendel Clark - All Heart!

I stand corrected.

I see what you mean.... All heart.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    The IOC seem to have stopped that link, Stork.

However, a YouTube search on "Ovechkin Hits" will lead to an entertaining 15 minutes or so.

Not that he couldnae score a goal or two as well ....

YouTube - Alexander Ovechkin hits and goals
    Didn't see him terminating any Canadians Doddie.
    They are starting to look like a team at last.
    Mind you, Kipper looks in good form for the Finns.

Quote Originally Posted by PC Stamp View Post
    Didn't see him terminating any Canadians Doddie.
    They are starting to look like a team at last.
    Mind you, Kipper looks in good form for the Finns.
    Malkin was malkied at the third goal.