Thread: Gow

Gow

Sorry, I know this is his first full game - but nah!

Yogi should have taken him off before the 2nd half

Thought he was slow, lazy and out of depth for hibs (IMPO)

Suppose we have to give him a chance but sadly, I'm no impressed yet.
    Last edited by Riordans Boots; 14-02-2010 at 02:44 PM.

Yip he was murder

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Yep, not good enough from him today, he just didn't look sharp enough.

Probably needs to get his match fitness up. We'll need to give him more time.

Good effort from gow today - and will get better for the greenjerseys.

Yogi did take him off in the second half

@hibs.net private member Liam89's Avatar
    Just remember stokes when he first came here...

As I said on the match update thread, I think it's too soon to be getting on his back. He looked good coming on against the Sheep and Montrose.

Remember what Stokes was like when he was getting his first full starts.

He wasn't at the races today but let's give the boy a ****ing chance.

This thread was utterly predictable, sadly.

Like any other player, he needs time to gel in the side.

He'll come good.

Re: Gow

Quote Originally Posted by AyrshireHibs
    As I said on the match update thread, I think it's too soon to be getting on his back. He looked good coming on against the Sheep and Montrose.

Remember what Stokes was like when he was getting his first full starts.
    It's never too soon to get on any player's back on Hibs.net

Like a bad amadou konte today.

PSN ID: asbo
    His first full game but your right he should have been hooked before the 2nd half started

Quote Originally Posted by Cropley10 View Post
    It's never too soon to get on any player's back on Hibs.net
    Ma-Kalamby was posted missing at all of Rangers three goals

Thought it was the wrong game to start him-Hughes was obviously trying to give Rangers something different to think about.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by York Hibees View Post
    Like a bad amadou konte today.
    Aye so he was. Behave yersel eh?

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Thought it was the wrong game to start him-Hughes was obviously trying to give Rangers something different to think about.
    Yep

Sadly, this is the first time I have felt Yogi was a bit out his depth here as well. (I still absoultely love Yogi)

Quote Originally Posted by AyrshireHibs View Post
    Ma-Kalamby was posted missing at all of Rangers three goals
    Wouldnae be the 1st time then
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    He wasn't at the races today but let's give the boy a ****ing chance.

This thread was utterly predictable, sadly.
    Very predictable thread. I said to the wife during it that there's be a thread on here writing Gow off as a player.

As well as not playing well whe the ball did come his way I think he suffered from the lack of ball that did go his way - in much the same way that Riordan has hardly had a touch recently. We don't get the ball out to the left hand side for some reason.

he has not played many games in the last year so fitness may well be the issue but his distribution was as bad as imaginable. That freekick he wasted was absolutely honking.

Shouldn't be starting any games at the present - just building up from the bench.

Quote Originally Posted by Toaods View Post
    he has not played many games in the last year so fitness may well be the issue but his distribution was as bad as imaginable. That freekick he wasted was absolutely honking.

Shouldn't be starting any games at the present - just building up from the bench.
    Thank you. I should have included this in my original post Toaods

I think Yogi was looking for a wee bit more on the application/pace side up front today which is why he went with Gow in favour of Deeks - he looked a bit rusty though and I can see the argument that he could have been subbed a bit earlier.

He's played 3 games (I think) with us, 2 of them coming on as a sub. One he's been on from the start. Okay, a bad day today but then losing 3-0, I think every player has had a bad day.

It comes as no surprise that some folk will find another whipping boy now that Rankin has come onto a bit of a game but, give the guy some time, ffs.

Yip get rid, he's had long enough.

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    He wasn't that bad and all this about Yogi being out of his depth is nonsense IMO too.

We played some great stuff first half and der Hun weren't in the game. Second half Laferty (as pish as he is) made a difference for them and they started taking the game to us. Sadly the whole team drifted out the match at this point, not just Gow and certainly not on account of Yogi's tactics.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Yip get rid, he's had long enough.

He's had long enough - not good enough.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

@hibs.net private member mike1875's Avatar
    to be honest i don't think gow is going to be a big game player for us but he will be handy to have coming of the bench to give stokes or riordan a rest against smaller teams

think Yogi was trying a bit of psychology with Gow, giving him the chance to show the Huns what they were missing. that backfired tbh, and i think this one was 5-6 weeks of regular football too soon for him.

personally i don't think we should take too much from his performance today

@hibs.net private member allmodcons's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Riordans Boots View Post
    Yep

Sadly, this is the first time I have felt Yogi was a bit out his depth here as well. (I still absoultely love Yogi)

Can you explain why you think Yogi was out of his depth. If you're referring to his tactics, I thought they were spot on until the 1st goal which, incidentally, was always going to be very crucial.

Defo not out of his depth versus Smith and McCoist. Team played well in 1st half and only lost their way after what I thought was a rather dubious penalty.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Guilty as charged - I was fuming watching him today, not purely because he had a poor game, but because I was delighted when we signed him and was very disappointed by how he played today - I expected so much more.

Given time to build up his fitness and re-adjust to life in the SPL, I think he'll do more good than bad over the course of the season, as lets face it, he has a chance to land a permanant move if he impresses. Perhaps just a wee bit too soon for a starting berth.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.