Coaching Staff scott7_0(Prague)'s Avatar

Euro 2012 qualifiers Tuesday and Fridays!

So what is everyones thoughts on the the new system of double headers being played on Tuesday and Fridays, instead of the more traditional Wednesday and Saturdays?

I honestly cannot believe that UEFA may get away with another change in traditions.

What will they do next?

Quote Originally Posted by scott7_0(Prague) View Post
    So what is everyones thoughts on the the new system of double headers being played on Tuesday and Fridays, instead of the more traditional Wednesday and Saturdays?

I honestly cannot believe that UEFA may get away with another change in traditions.

What will they do next?
    Saturday - Tuesday makes sense as it means the players will get back to their clubs a day earlier. I can't see too many folk from the clubs or the countries complaining about that.

I'd never heard the Friday mentioned before - what difference would that make?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Saturday - Tuesday makes sense as it means the players will get back to their clubs a day earlier. I can't see too many folk from the clubs or the countries complaining about that.

I'd never heard the Friday mentioned before - what difference would that make?
    Maybe the countries like having a certain number of days for the players to recover from knocks, re-charge the batteries and organise tactics so would only be willing to bring the midweek game forward if the saturday game gets brought forward as well

Scotland home games won't be Friday nights so doesn't make too much difference to us.

Quote Originally Posted by RicheyWhite View Post
    Scotland home games won't be Friday nights so doesn't make too much difference to us.
    SO how do you come to that conclusion, if you don't mind me asking?

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    It does sound as if the footie is getting just a tad, messy...

More days in the week for a game to be played, more days in the week away from the wife.

TV will be loving this....

@hibs.net private member woodythehibee's Avatar
    We are getting further and further away from the good old Saturday afternoon K.O.

Very disappointing.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Playing our games on midweek nights will IMO help our campaign.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

@hibs.net private member HONG KONG PHOOEY's Avatar
    The Glasgow police will not allow a game on a Friday night. Too many people to handle along with the usual Friday night stuff.

What will they do next?
    It's only relatively recently that Saturdays have been used, maybe the last 10 years or so. Before that it was always Wednesdays.

Traditions change. Some for the better, some not.

The Glasgow police will not allow a game on a Friday night. Too many people to handle along with the usual Friday night stuff.
    Aye, what he said

Smith's already dismissed any hope of it happening.

Makes nae odds.

We'll still hammer everyone, including Spain, and win the European Championships by a clear fifteen goal lead

Police will have a big say and there answer will be NO to Friday night games.

wouldnt mind a wee weekend in spain or Prague after a win on the friday night though

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar

What will they do next?
    Never mind aw that, how do we book into your place for the match in Prague? How far are you from Charles Bridge? These are the things we need to know!!!

Quote Originally Posted by hibbie02 View Post
    Never mind aw that, how do we book into your place for the match in Prague? How far are you from Charles Bridge? These are the things we need to know!!!
    My new lodging are currently getting built, well it is once the bloody snow buggers off!!

I am looking forward to having Scotland here again and I am planning to organize another Scotland Gathering in some club, should be messy.... again!

My new lodging are currently getting built, well it is once the bloody snow buggers off!!

I am looking forward to having Scotland here again and I am planning to organize another Scotland Gathering in some club, should be messy.... again!

Might see if I can get across and join you for that one mate, I wonder if any carrier flies Tripoli - Prague ? (without 15 different stops )

good,enjoyed the last 1 you got orginised.
    try & get 1 thats got air con this time that last place was roasting

Quote Originally Posted by Sandy View Post
    Might see if I can get across and join you for that one mate, I wonder if any carrier flies Tripoli - Prague ? (without 15 different stops )
    KLM via Amsterdam my friend!

UEFA has surrendered to the clubs from the big leagues again rather than consider the supporters of international teams - only welcome outcome may be in Scottish police forces are pressurised to rethink their moronic veto on Friday games and retruin to situation that existed in the 1990s.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    ?

Only if you think the interests of a minority of large clubs are more important than the interests of football overall.

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Baker II View Post
    Only if you think the interests of a minority of large clubs are more important than the interests of football overall.
    How would playing on a Tuesday instead of a Wednesday upset football overall?

Any idea when the dates of the fixtures get announced and who we play when?

Czechs v Scotland on a Friday night in Prague.

Who are these geniuses

Quote Originally Posted by skyehibee View Post
    Any idea when the dates of the fixtures get announced and who we play when?
    19th Feb, there's a meeting in Madrid to decide the games.