Thread: Green Army

Green Army

Whats with the Green Army chant at the games now. Does anyone else think it sounds bad?

Gamertag: gringotodd
    I think it's amusing, personally. It would sound much better if everyone joined in, complete with faux Westcountry accents.

Greeeeen Arrrmoyyyy!

First Team Breakthrough An Leargaidh's Avatar

Talking Greeen aaarrrrmmmyyy!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by hibs13681 View Post
    Whats with the Green Army chant at the games now. Does anyone else think it sounds bad?
    Well if you consider we now have two players come to us from said "Green Army" aka Plymouth Argyle who used to play in the same strip as us till they adopted a new poncey "futuristic" look, then I actualy think that as one of the few teams in the UK that anyone's heard of that plays in green...
    ...that I'd love to hear a lot more of "GREEEN AAARRRRMMMYYY!!!!" getting shouted and not just from the East Stand

I personally think we Hibbies should adopt it as another 'standard' to shout out instead of the usual "couldnae carry Nadé" stuuff especially at non-derby games

I give "GREEEN AAARRRRMMMYYY!!!!" 10/10

Cammy

"Green Army!"

Gamertag: HFC Owain
    I hate the green army song It's really annoying as with the west country. Anyway we are Yogi Hughes Green and White army not just green!

Thumbs Up I totally agree!

Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    I think it's amusing, personally. It would sound much better if everyone joined in, complete with faux Westcountry accents.

Greeeeen Arrrmoyyyy!
    The Todd, well said sir! Faux West Country accents would be even better but maybe not everyone attending ER would be that good at a faux West Country accent.

Come on now ye janners, let's get practiced for Wednesday!

"GREEEENN AAARRRMMMMOIYYYYY!"

Wink They stole our strip...

Quote Originally Posted by Owain_1987 View Post
    I hate the green army song It's really annoying as with the west country. Anyway we are Yogi Hughes Green and White army not just green!
    Aye but look at what Plymouth Argyle were wearing back in 1999/2000...

http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Plym..._1999-2000.gif

also further back in time...

1971/72

1953/55

They probably still called themselves the Green Army then too

Cammy

WHO ARE WAIIII?
    GREEN ARMYYYYYYYYY!
    WHO ARE WAIIII?
    GREEN ARMYYYYYYY!

Love it!!

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by MickyBlueEyes68 View Post
    The Todd, well said sir! Faux West Country accents would be even better but maybe not everyone attending ER would be that good at a faux West Country accent.

Come on now ye janners, let's get practiced for Wednesday!

"GREEEENN AAARRRMMMMOIYYYYY!"
    The guys who were trying on Saturday had a decent attempt at the accent. The only reason it sounds poor now is because few people join in.

Wednesday night should be a proper effort. GREEEN ARRMMOOOYYYY

Talking Superb!

Quote Originally Posted by ivan03 View Post
    WHO ARE WAIIII?
    GREEN ARMYYYYYYYYY!
    WHO ARE WAIIII?
    GREEN ARMYYYYYYY!

Love it!!
    RAOFL

SUPERB YE JANNER YE!

As for the wee lad, who tries to start this off about a billion times a match, its going to be a long time but I canny wait for his voice to break
    Space to let

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    As for the wee lad, who tries to start this off about a billion times a match, its going to be a long time but I canny wait for his voice to break
    it was funny at first.......

In the same bracket as the 'Easy, Easy' chant that was about a couple of seasons ago. Unimaginitive, annoying pish.

may not be the best or most original chant but i'd rather hear that than the usual wall of silence that currently exists within Easter Road!

The Green Army chants after the winner vs St. Mirren last week sounded great IMo with so many people joining in

@hibs.net private member _hucks_'s Avatar
    I think a chant in that ilk has its place at Easter Road - I was at a Tranmere game at the weekend and they have their super white army chant, and whilst its repetative and not particularly creative, its something that can be kept going for a prolonged period, which helps to create a bit of atmosphere.

First Team Breakthrough Cal 7-0's Avatar
    No lets not try to sing anything and sit on our hands for ninety mins

I thought it was because Aviva were sponsoring the new East Stand.

Quote Originally Posted by Cal 7-0 View Post
    No lets not try to sing anything and sit on our hands for ninety mins
    Try and have a constructive post! IMO opinion it sounds tacky, and anyone listening in will think that it sounds like a bunch of kids copying the advert.

Opinions ehh In mine's I don't mind it much, better to sing something than nothing at all.

anyone listening in will think that it sounds like a bunch of kids copying the advert.
    Then they'd be right.

Opinions ehh In mine's I don't mind it much, better to sing something than nothing at all.
    I agree we should sing something that nothing at all, but why this? People are saying that its easy to sing and keep singing for a prolonged time. Its not easier than Hibees Hibees Hibees Hibees! I just thing we will end up with a small pocket of fans that sing like the group of motherwell fans or the red ultras of aberdeen. I think we would be better trying to get everyone to sing the old ones rather than trying to get everyone to sing this one.

I also agree with what you say about the old songs, I just think anything that's adds to the atmosphere at ER should at least be given a bash. I had my wee Niece (3 years old) at the St Mirren game and she was chanting Green Army and still is, It'll take a wee while longer to teach her Turnbull's Tornadoes

IMO, I think that if this east stand goes ahead and we end up with ST holders of the east moving to other parts of the ground it may help the atmosphere. I must admit I am guilty of not singing at games anymore. I sit in the west and used to sing and try and start singing but people look at you and think you are mental.

I know exactly what you mean, I'm an Eastie and the guys around me have talked about the move but we hope to all get back together once the new stand is in place. But there also the chance that the people who look at you like your mental will end up over in the East. (This is not an Eastie Uber Fan comment)

There may be people from the west end up in the east but I dont think there will be many. The thing is with the west is that there is probably a fair amount of people willing to sing, they just sit all over the place. If some of the east stand 'nutters' were to fill in the gaps they would maybe join the singing across the west. The other thing about the west is that people dont seem to know each other as much as in the east, which means its difficult to get songs started.

Left by mutual consent! Ed De Gramo's Avatar

PSN ID: Gramo
    Greeeeen Army! I was part of the chants at Darkheid! Brilliant chant!

There may be people from the west end up in the east but I dont think there will be many. The thing is with the west is that there is probably a fair amount of people willing to sing, they just sit all over the place. If some of the east stand 'nutters' were to fill in the gaps they would maybe join the singing across the west. The other thing about the west is that people dont seem to know each other as much as in the east, which means its difficult to get songs started.
    :

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    :

Dont tell me that its just a myth and the east isnt full of 'nutters'!

There's certainly a few bampots in the East aye.

As far as I can see it's pretty much the same as saying 'simples' after every sentence. Alright for very young children. But if you are an adult then you should really retire to a damp, cold and dark room and have a long, stern word with yourself.