Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Sarf View Post
    Anyone remember a friendly against Middlesborough at Easter Rd, must have been in the early 70s?

Jack Charlton was their manager.

They played a hundred-miles-an-hour pressing game (first time I'd witnessed it) and wiped the floor with the Hibees. I think it was about 0-4.
    Eh, six posts further down

Early memories of Shearer playing against us for Blackburn, getting subbed to a chorus of ‘what a waste of money!’....they’d just signed him for a massive fee, in those days. Can someone verify this as I may have dreamed it🤔😂

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Nice thread to resurrect.

This was the game when the England Selection Committee came up to ER to watch both Baker and Clough go head to head. Baker scored a hat trick and made his full England debut 16 days later getting a goal and an assist.

http://www.englandfootballonline.com...37NIr1959.html
    Ex Celtic player Willie Fernie made Middlesborough tick. Between him and Johnstone it was a master class in inside forward play.Fernie orchestrated a free kick routine-three players made dummy runs at the ball and the fourth player almost smashed the bar, the ball rebounded nearly to half way-Johnstone chipped their defence and Joe rounded the keeper and put it in the net. Some things you never forget.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee-boys View Post
    Early memories of Shearer playing against us for Blackburn, getting subbed to a chorus of ‘what a waste of money!’....they’d just signed him for a massive fee, in those days. Can someone verify this as I may have dreamed it🤔😂
    Pumped them 3-0, hibs were brilliant.

Mickey weir tore them to bits

Quote Originally Posted by ChrissyG1875 View Post
    Is that the one where Benji scored one of the best goals I've seen in my life?
    Was that the one where Fletcher had the ball played in to his feet, back to goal, open his legs and let the ball run underneath through to Benji?

I ken I’m getting auld but I seem to remember pumping Chelsea at ER in 1985 or 86 and Willie Irvine ( the other one) scoring a hat trick. Am I totally imagining that?!

Quote Originally Posted by Scorrie View Post
    I ken I’m getting auld but I seem to remember pumping Chelsea at ER in 1985 or 86 and Willie Irvine ( the other one) scoring a hat trick. Am I totally imagining that?!
    1986 4-1 Hibs. The game was part of the Durie transfer deal. Remember singing: "You should have stayed with Hibees".

http://thechels.info/wiki/1986-87_Friendlies
    Last edited by FilipinoHibs; 06-04-2021 at 05:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Ex Celtic player Willie Fernie made Middlesborough tick. Between him and Johnstone it was a master class in inside forward play.Fernie orchestrated a free kick routine-three players made dummy runs at the ball and the fourth player almost smashed the bar, the ball rebounded nearly to half way-Johnstone chipped their defence and Joe rounded the keeper and put it in the net. Some things you never forget.
    Brilliant, AH. Thanks for vivid description.

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by norhfc View Post
    Was that late 70s early 80s, I mind loads of sticky buns turned up cos Jock Wallace was the CC manager at the time. There was bother outside the main stand and along ER after the game with the buns.
    I believe you're getting mixed up with Leicester City. Kicked off big time outside then the Macs bar. I went down for the second game to Filbert St on a freezing January night to see 2-0 victory.
    Last edited by green with envy; 06-04-2021 at 05:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermac View Post
    Coventry City? I'm sure I remember John Salako playing for them at ER.
    From a different era but we played Coventry who wore a Chocolate Brown kit in the Skol Trophy around 1980 I would guess

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    From a different era but we played Coventry who wore a Chocolate Brown kit in the Skol Trophy around 1980 I would guess
    1977 from memory.

Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    I believe you're getting mixed up with Leicester City. Kicked off big time outside then the Macs bar. I went down for the second game to Filbert St on a freezing January night to see 2-0 victory.
    Ah your right, just googled it, Jock Wallace was Leicester City manager from 78 to 82.

My first Hibs match was against Newcastle Utd at Easter Road, 1969 I think. Sure it was a 0-0 draw.

Quote Originally Posted by Kojock View Post
    Full List of Friendlies from 1875

Blackburn Rovers
    Bolton Wanderers
    Accrington Stanley (who are they)
    Stoke City
    West Bromwich Albion
    Middlesborough
    Aston Villa
    Notts County
    Nottingham Forrest
    Preston North End
    Sheffield United
    Sheffield Wednesday
    Sunderland
    Newcastle United
    Hull City
    Tottenham Hotspur
    Manchester City
    Liverpool
    Arsenal
    Hartlepool
    Charleton Athletic
    Cardiff City
    Wigan
    Leicester City
    Chelsea
    Leeds United
    Queens Park Rangers
    Everton

Europe and Anglo Scottish
    Liverpool
    Leeds
    Blackburn Rovers
    Man utd

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    That must be one of the worst strips ever made

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    That must be one of the worst strips ever made
    One of the worst at the time but iconic now, Ian Wallace stood out in it😁

Bristol City hacking bassas two players sent off one of them Peter Cormack

Championship of the World 1887

Hibernian 2 v 1 Preston North End

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    I remember us at home to Middlesboro in a pre-season game around 2004, Stewart Downing was playing for Middlesboro and he was different class, thundering in long range shots with both feet and basically running the show. He went on to have a really good career but I honestly thought he'd have an even better one, he looked a stand-out.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    I remember us at home to Middlesboro in a pre-season game around 2004, Stewart Downing was playing for Middlesboro and he was different class, thundering in long range shots with both feet and basically running the show. He went on to have a really good career but I honestly thought he'd have an even better one, he looked a stand-out.
    Remember that. 35 England caps - not a bad shift tbf .....

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Remember that. 35 England caps - not a bad shift tbf .....
    Aye not bad at all!

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    We played Boro a couple times in the 00s, 1-0 win in 07 (Ross Campbell late winner) and 2-3 the following season (Fletcher double, then we collapsed).

Stoke City with one Gordon Banks in goal, late 70's if I can be sure..can't remember the score...help anyone??

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    We played Boro a couple times in the 00s, 1-0 win in 07 (Ross Campbell late winner) and 2-3 the following season (Fletcher double, then we collapsed).
    I remember playing them when Gascoigne played for them too.

Think it was 1-0 but no idea if it was to us or them.

My first ever Hibs game was the 2-2 draw with Chelsea. Also Keith Wright's debut.

Early memories of Shearer playing against us for Blackburn, getting subbed to a chorus of ‘what a waste of money!’....they’d just signed him for a massive fee, in those days. Can someone verify this as I may have dreamed it
    I remember that game (and chant) well too! Pretty sure he'd just signed earlier that day too. But he did play that day on his debut and was subject to some fancy "chants"

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by CJHibby View Post
    Stoke City with one Gordon Banks in goal, late 70's if I can be sure..can't remember the score...help anyone??
    16/11/1976 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 0 v 1 Stoke City

Garth Crooks

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Really? I assume it must have been the 2007 game, seems a long long time ago.

Quote Originally Posted by berwickhibee View Post
    Man utd
    Boxing Day 1981, snow covered terracing. 1-1 draw.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbybrian View Post
    1-Nov 1955 Hibernian 2-1 Manchester City Friendly
    25-Nov 1957 Hibernian 5-2 Manchester City Friendly
    3-Aug 1984 Hibernian 0-0 Manchester City Friendly
    1979 Skol Festival

August 4th Hibernian 2 - Hearts 1 (Easter Road)
    August 4th Coventry 3 - Manchester City 1 (Easter Road)

August 8th Hearts 1 - Manchester City 1 (Easter Road)
    August 8th Hibernian 0 - Coventry 0 (Easter Road)

I was there on 8th. Two of the worst games of football that I have ever seen.

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    1979 Skol Festival

August 4th Hibernian 2 - Hearts 1 (Easter Road)
    August 4th Coventry 3 - Manchester City 1 (Easter Road)

August 8th Hearts 1 - Manchester City 1 (Easter Road)
    August 8th Hibernian 0 - Coventry 0 (Easter Road)

I was there on 8th. Two of the worst games of football that I have ever seen.
    I was at all 4 ER matches and 2 at Tynecastle on the 6th . My main memory of the tournament is very narrowly missing a kicking on way out of Tynecastle from a brave group of Jambos who`d waited 2 hours to attack lone Hibbies .

I recall the song at the game, cant remember if it was when he was subbed or just in general.