Thread: Fog

Fog

Hows the fog in Leith?
    I,am in Tranent and its really bad. Will the game be allowed to go ahead if the fog is bad. I can,t remember a Hibs game being called off because of fog before

Quote Originally Posted by PONGO View Post
    Hows the fog in Leith?
    I,am in Tranent and its really bad. Will the game be allowed to go ahead if the fog is bad. I can,t remember a Hibs game being called off because of fog before
    Sorry mate I can't help as I can't see a thing.

fog in Leith

son stays 100 yards from ER and says it is misty but not too bad so will be ok

@hibs.net private member hibbymac's Avatar
    Hows the fog in Leith?
    You sure it's no yer garden shed that's on fire??

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Hows the fog in Leith?
    Never heard that before

No fog here in Haddy. Been pishing down though.

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    When was the last time a game at Easter Road was postponed due to Fog, or abandoned due to Fog?

Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    Never heard that before

No fog here in Haddy. Been pishing down though.

Me neither. Suspect his glasses are still steamed up from viewing porn sites before going outside.

Quote Originally Posted by BoltonHibee View Post
    When was the last time a game at Easter Road was postponed due to Fog, or abandoned due to Fog?

I remember a game in the 80's being abandoned because of fog, was it against Dundee?

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Christ, this is some forum for folk worrying about games being cancelled due to the weather.

Does the fog provide a driving risk for anyone travelling to today's game? Better let L&B finest know *

*the sarcasm is not aimed at the OP, but more a jibe at the knee-jerk and unnecessary cancellations in recent months.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    I was away for most of the 80's so not sure on that one.

I seem to recall a game in the 70's and the game was abandoned v Motherwell I am almost sure.

I have it in my mind that the stadium announcer had to call the Motherwell goalie off the pitch as he hadn't realised the players had been called off!

You used to get a lot of fog down ER way in those days....

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    I remember a game in the 80's being abandoned because of fog, was it against Dundee?
    Remember it well,sat in the old cowshed and couldnae see owt,free entry for the rescheduled game and sure ER was full after about 8000 turned up for the first game,2-0 iirc sure Kano scored both.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    And in a move that would cause Petrie palpitations, the gates were opened for the re-arranged game in midweek as the fans were allowed in for free.

Yeh, definitely vrs Dundee, possibly 79-80 season?

They let everyone in for free when the game was replayed and there was more than double the original attendance that turned up.

Think we won 2-0 in the replayed match?
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    I'm still convinced that Clyde have their very own Fog machine which they seem to use whenever they're losing.

Twice, Livingston were up 0-2 at Broadwood in the cup this year and twice the game was abandoned due to fog! Funnily, the game finished after Clyde were 1-0 before Livingston equalised. No fog that night as it looked like they were going to win....

No fog during the 7-1 replay at Almondvale either...evidently it's not a portable fog machine
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Hows the fog in Leith?
    Know its going back a bit but remember we were at sellick park , around 1972, we were winning 2-0 and the fog was getting thicker by the minute and those smelly unwashed keek invaded the pitch and the game was held up for 10 min. Once order was restored the game re-started for around 5 min and the ref abandoned game with 5 min remaining due to fog. Drew the replay 1-1 , Schadler scoring. Dirty cheatin' smelly unwashed bigoted bassas

Anyone remember the infamous "fog stops play" match at Parkhead ?

Been raining hard all night, I don't even want to try and imagine what kind of state the pitch is going to be in It'll be a mud bath oot there

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Somebody gaave me a book about Hibs durung the war years and I'm sure there is a chapter in it about a game being cancelled because of fog but they went ahead with makey-uppy commentary for the wireless so's the German's did not get any intellegance about weather conditions.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    Christ, this is some forum for folk worrying about games being cancelled due to the weather.

Does the fog provide a driving risk for anyone travelling to today's game? Better let L&B finest know *

*the sarcasm is not aimed at the OP, but more a jibe at the knee-jerk and unnecessary cancellations in recent months.
    I think its reasonable..in fact can we not have a weather sub-forum

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by eric.hibsfan View Post
    Know its going back a bit but remember we were at sellick park , around 1972, we were winning 2-0 and the fog was getting thicker by the minute and those smelly unwashed keek invaded the pitch and the game was held up for 10 min. Once order was restored the game re-started for around 5 min and the ref abandoned game with 5 min remaining due to fog. Drew the replay 1-1 , Schadler scoring. Dirty cheatin' smelly unwashed bigoted bassas
    What makes it worse was that we could well have won the league had we got the 2 points from that game.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Somebody gaave me a book about Hibs durung the war years and I'm sure there is a chapter in it about a game being cancelled because of fog but they went ahead with makey-uppy commentary for the wireless so's the German's did not get any intellegance about weather conditions.
    There was a play on at the Leith Festival a few years back about that one, it was supposed to be an Edinburgh Derby, which Hibs won. Unfortunately there is no official record of it having happened, and I think it was many years later before the clubs allowed live commentary of matches to be broadcast,

Quote Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
    Yeh, definitely vrs Dundee, possibly 79-80 season?

They let everyone in for free when the game was replayed and there was more than double the original attendance that turned up.

Think we won 2-0 in the replayed match?
    Was later than 80, probably 82-83, think you could be right about the 2-0 though. Couple of things I remember about that game other than it being free to get in; there were a small group of Hearts fans in the Dundee end that night, and I left at half time to go to a gig at The Playhouse.

I was away for most of the 80's so not sure on that one.

I seem to recall a game in the 70's and the game was abandoned v Motherwell I am almost sure.

I have it in my mind that the stadium announcer had to call the Motherwell goalie off the pitch as he hadn't realised the players had been called off!

You used to get a lot of fog down ER way in those days....
    The Big hoose how long did ye go doon fur