How did Rankin do today?

How did John Rankin play today then?
    I got sick of him getting stick when I thought he didnt deserve it so I kept a ken eye on him today and have a couple of stats that I will post later.
    What's everyones opinion on todays performance?

He did all right IMO was involved alot and got stuck in.

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    How did John Rankin play today then?
    I got sick of him getting stick when I thought he didnt deserve it so I kept a ken eye on him today and have a couple of stats that I will post later.
    What's everyones opinion on todays performance?
    Gave his all for 90 mins on a pitch that made the players look foolish at times. One of his best games of the season.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Same as always. Gave his all and tried his heart out.
    Not scared to want the ball and never hid during the match.

I like Rankin !
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

He was gash..

Again

Played the ball right to the St Mirren player leading up to their goal..

At fault for the goal. Shocking misplaced pass.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    He did ok, wasn't his best performance but he got stuck in, broke down a lot of St Mirren attacks and kept the ball well, his passing occasionally let him down this afternoon but some of that will be down to the awful state the pitch is in.

he sort of made the first goal fer miller [a hoof up to the strikers]
    he had a chance in second where it was easier to score, but made a pass
    back to their goalie
    would prefer a n other in his position [just to see if its me,or in case of mr rankin]
    mind you would prefer to see hibs in a 4-4-2[with deeks up front]
    but then again im not yogi
    a wins a win, we never got out of third gear[in my eyes], it was like,,,,its only stmidden!!!!
    we`ll if we can play poorly and still win, [in saying that ,nishy should have scored a few at least]
    and we are 14pts clear of the so called BIG TEAM
    getting back to MR R,,,,,,,HE CERTAINLY KNOWS HOW TO POINT!!!!!!!!
    hb

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    It was a day for gash then, because it was more a battle than a football game, & Rankin battled from start to finish. Needs to take a vow never to shoot again for the rest of his career, though.

He's like Joe Keenan/Ross Chisolm/Brian Kerr but fit..

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    At fault for the goal. Shocking misplaced pass.
    Bit harsh Andy.Poor pass but hardly at fault for Bamba turning it into his own net.
    If Smith had shouted Bamba could have left it for an easy catch. Smith far more culpable IMO.

Poor pass but hardly at fault for Bamba turning it into his own net.
    If Smith had shouted Bamba could have left it for an easy catch. Smith far more culpable IMO.
    Smith did shout !!

Bamba took no notice !

Quote Originally Posted by malcolm-bogie View Post
    Gave his all for 90 mins on a pitch that made the players look foolish at times. One of his best games of the season.
    as a certain TENNIS PRO once said,,,,,,,,,,YOU CANNOT BE SERIOUS!!!!!
    from wehere im at in the gods in the west we need another to compliment miller+macbride,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,rankin is not the answer
    hb
    if that was his BEST,,,,,,,,,,,jeezo

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Smith did shout !!

Bamba took no notice !
    Maybe he thought it was a lassie in the Famous Five. My Bad or rather Bamaba's bad. Still hardly caused by a poor pass.

Rankin did well and think without him we would have struggled in midfield. The other two don't have his energy and a lot of McBride's passing was poor today although all players were guilty of that but certainly the pitch did not help.

In comparison to other esteemed team mates on the left wing Rankin was a 10.

Bit harsh Andy.Poor pass but hardly at fault for Bamba turning it into his own net.
    If Rankin, who wasn't under any pressure, doesn't pass the ball right to the St Mirren player inside his own half the cross would ever have came about..

We need another player to play in Midfield to accompany Miller and McBride as Rankin just doesn't have the footballing ablility to do it!

As i said previous, Rankin sticks out like a sore thumb in our team!

I don't think he'd be a starter for ay other SPL team, amazed Yogi hasn't further strenghtened the centre midfield..

It depends on how you see it Number ten.

Quote Originally Posted by Number_10 View Post
    If Rankin, who wasn't under any pressure, doesn't pass the ball right to the St Mirren player inside his own half the cross would ever have came about.. Not great pass but it was intercepted rather than being passed straight to him. It was also nearly the half way line. Where was Spoony when the cross went in? Why didnt Bamba listen to the shout?
    [/B]
    We need another player to play in Midfield to accompany Miller and McBride as Rankin just doesn't have the footballing ablility to do it! You might be surprised by the stats

As i said previous, Rankin sticks out like a sore thumb in our team! IMHO No he doesnt

I don't think he'd be a starter for ay other SPL team, amazed Yogi hasn't further strenghtened the centre midfield..Total pish but you are ebtitiled to your opinion
    Last edited by greenlex; 30-01-2010 at 07:23 PM.

Not my favourite but he does work hard and he allows Miller to get forward more, i feel we could get better but probaly the best we've got for that role at the moment, its a shame Stevenson hasn't progressed like we all hoped he would.

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    He was gash..

Again

Played the ball right to the St Mirren player leading up to their goal..
    And played the ball for nish to nock on and miller to score

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    he was guff again!

totally at fault for the first goal. he did really well to get back and win the ball in defence then promptly gave it away again with a woeful attempt at a pass allowing st midden to attack and score. his corners were atrocious, he should have buried his chance on goal instead of passing it to the keeper, he fannied about with the ball instead of driving forward when he had posession and his passing is just pathetic

It depends on how you see it Number ten.
    your entitled to your views [as we all are],,,,,,,,,,,
    but im afraid that if this team is to progress,,,,we will not with JR in the team
    we need pace,,,maybe give galbraith+zemama a chance when zem is fit
    +put deeks up front beside stokesy
    but ive got my view,,,,,youve got yours hey ho
    as long as HIBERNIAN win
    hb

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    He did ok, wasn't his best performance but he got stuck in, broke down a lot of St Mirren attacks and kept the ball well, his passing occasionally let him down this afternoon but some of that will be down to the awful state the pitch is in.
    Possibly but broke down more hibs attacks. Effort is no replacement for ability

"keep the faith"

Quote Originally Posted by hibbeebri View Post
    your entitled to your views [as we all are],,,,,,,,,,,
    but im afraid that if this team is to progress,,,,we will not with JR in the team
    we need pace,,,maybe give galbraith+zemama a chance when zem is fit
    +put deeks up front beside stokesy
    but ive got my view,,,,,youve got yours hey ho
    as long as HIBERNIAN win
    hb
    I can back mine up with facts today Bri.
    Last edited by greenlex; 30-01-2010 at 07:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by MyJo View Post
    he was guff again!

totally at fault for the first goal. he did really well to get back and win the ball in defence then promptly gave it away again with a woeful attempt at a pass allowing st midden to attack and score. his corners were atrocious, he should have buried his chance on goal instead of passing it to the keeper, he fannied about with the ball instead of driving forward when he had posession and his passing is just pathetic

my reading on it too,,,,,,,,,but then again the WHOLE team were way under par
    afterall it was only STMIDDEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    hb

Mon Lex , get the stats up before more respected posters make erses off themselves

Gamertag: Lofarl
    I thought Rankin had a very solid game today. If you want to blame someone for the Saints goal, blame Sol. Christ you could hear Smith's shout fae Perth I reckon.

Boy !
    The wanabee managers are out in force tonight !!!!!!!!!

Ask yourselves this question .
    If you had been offered SIX points from the next two games on Wednesday evening @ 19.00 would you have taken them ?

A win is a win is a win - no matter how many goals you win by or how you score them you only get THREE points for a win .
    Again we have worked hard , as a team, to peg back a goal and have scored in the dying seconds to take full points and yet there many who will still point a finger at one player for whatever reason
    We are third - close on the heels of 2nd placed team

ENJOY IT !!!!!!!!!!!

Gamertag: Lofarl
    I agree. If we were offered 7 points from these last 3 games we would have taken it in a heartbeat.

To get 9 is outstanding. Yes the game today was by no means a great game of football. But 2 great games again Hamilton and Celtic and a hard fought game on a poor pitch against a resolute ST Mirren game as more than enough for me.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    He's like Joe Keenan/Ross Chisolm/Brian Kerr but fit..
    Yeah, I like his physique too...makes me do a s*x wee in my pants most weekends
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Right here are the FACTS.

34 passes made. 30 found their target. I reckon thats just over 88%

6 balls over the top. 3 eventually found a man in green with 1 leading to the first goal. 50%

4 crosses/corners. 2 failed to reach their target. 50%

1 shot on target 100%(it was a bit tame to be fair.)

2 headed "passes" to team mates. 100%.

I reckon that is pretty good for someone who is crap in a team that wasn't at its best.

Somebody else can do it next week and I don't want to do it every week.