Thread: Stokes Incident

Stokes Incident

Is there any chance of a retrospective red card for Stokes after his lash out at O'Dea last night?

What about odea's challenge in the 1st place?

Durty wee barsteward.

Quote Originally Posted by Rhys89 View Post
    Is there any chance of a retrospective red card for Stokes after his lash out at O'Dea last night?
    If it's the same incident as I am thinking of, Stokes took the illegal Mhank tackle but spun round quickly and angrily but as far as I can remember did not lash out at O'Dea. In fact I think Stokes reaction was nowhere near as bad as Stewart's 'red card' reaction of a few weeks ago.

PS. Just looked at it again and confirmed my initial reaction. Stokes was guilty of nothing and in fact I would have been astounded if any player could have failed to respond to the tackle. On reflection, O'Dea's tackle was not illegal, but got the response it deserved.
    Last edited by Jim44; 28-01-2010 at 02:21 PM.

He didnt 'lash out', he was just 'jive talking' as i believe todays youngsters like to call it.

What about a retrospective yellow card for the South Korean boy who looked to be a diving wee fuddly.......come on Gordon Smith, you said it was one of your missions to keep diving and simulation out the game

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    He didnt 'lash out', he was just 'jive talking' as i believe todays youngsters like to call it.
    YouTube - Airplane Jive Scene

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I thought they were going to engage in a bit of Riverdancing and manly craic.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    done nothing wrong, reasonable reaction from that minging tackle.

Going by the highlights, he did kick out a wee bit to be fair.

Re: Stokes Incident

Never kicked out at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Never kicked out at all.

Have you watched the BBC highlights? There's definitely a kick in there.

Coincidently enough, this topic was similarly raised on Kickback about 15 minutes ago....." will the SFA look at the blatant kick by stokes on o'dea of celtic and ban the git". It's par for the course for your rivals to conveniently 'mis-read' a situation but I don't think we should really be dicussing the remotest possibility of any offence. O'Dea's tackle was visciously hard but legal, a bit like Murray's against the Sheep, and it got the natural response from the recipient.

PS...........I think this topic has only come about because of Rob McLean's ill-considered knee-jerk biased reaction.
    Last edited by Jim44; 28-01-2010 at 02:53 PM.

There wasn't much wrong with the tackle or Stoke's reaction to it. The ref had a word and told them both to cool it so he dealt with it. End of story.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Would have just been a heat of the moment thing but it looked like a nasty challenge from O'Dea.

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhys89 View Post
    I can't believe anyone would even mention this handbags 'incident'. The refs are bad enough up here for booking players, when a word in their ear would do, without encouraging them to take retrospective looks at non-violent confrontations.

Never kicked out at all.

You having a laugh?

After looking at it again in the highlights - i'd be really disapointed if there is any retrospective charges to either player! The game needs good solid challenges. we're gonna end up at a stage where every tackle is investigated!

O'Dea has crashed through the tackle - but won the ball whole-heartedly. Not a dirty challenge at all - and im sure Hughes would be delighted to see full blooded tackles like that from our players week in and week out!

Stokesy has reacted but nothing out of the ordinary having just had someone clatter through ye!

I dont think they'll be sittin together on the Plane to their next international thats for sure!!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post

PS...........I think this topic has only come about because of Rob McLean's ill-considered knee-jerk biased reaction.
    He's an Aberdeen fan - who was he being biased toward?

Quote Originally Posted by jakedance View Post
    There wasn't much wrong with the tackle or Stoke's reaction to it. The ref had a word and told them both to cool it so he dealt with it. End of story.
    That's what I think. The ref spoke to them so he's dealt with "it" at the time so no retrospective action can be taken.

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by jakedance View Post

The ref saw it and dealt with it, case closed. Only if the ref missed it can retrospective punishment be handed out, surely?

Either way, O'dea did go flying in - legally or not.

Quote Originally Posted by Si_17 View Post
    I had a look at the highlights again, and after the tackle Stokes does indeed appear to briefly kick O'Dea up the erse, which winds him up, as it was intended to

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post

That's what I think. The ref spoke to them so he's dealt with "it" at the time so no retrospective action can be taken.
    All of these guys have got a penchant for the Weegies. Their 'so called' teams play second fiddle to Rangers and Celtic. eg. Chick Young and St. Mirren.

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post

Aye and Chick Young's a St Mirren fan, they've all got an old firm side, you need it to operate in the Scottish Media,

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    All of these guys have got a penchant for the Weegies. Their 'so called' teams play second fiddle to Rangers and Celtic. eg. Chick Young and St. Mirren.

In his post-match interview Yogi was teasing Young about the fact that we're down to play Young's "second team" on Saturday....

Maclean may claim to be a Dons supporter, but his bread's buttered by his keeping in with the OF. If Celtic are struggling, it can't be because Hibs are the better side on the night; it's got to be because the referee's letting thm aay with stuff.... (cf. Jack Regan, passim.)

When I heard him on the highlights talking about Stokes' reaction I thought he was dropping a heavy hint to whoever was listening at the SFA to get Stokes into trouble.

O'Dea went in heavily, but fairly; Stokes reacted as one would; Ian Brines was there on the spot and dealt with the situation sensibly.

Edit: Looked at it again - there IS contact after O'Dea's challenge. Stokes is knocked up in the air off balance, and as he comes down his studs do catch O'Dea's backside, but I can't tell whether he does it with intent or it just happens as he comes in for a landing, so to speak. Seems to me a bad case of storm in a teacup - Ian Brines saw it, spoke to them, and that's the end of that.
    Last edited by --------; 28-01-2010 at 06:03 PM.

Re: Stokes Incident

Quote Originally Posted by Si_17

I was at game and thought he might have but having watched highlights, I know he has not.

Then you must be blind I'm afraid, on the replay of the challenge you can clearly see Stokes kick out at O'Dea after he's jumped over him.

Quote Originally Posted by vince1973 View Post
    Aye and Chick Young's a St Mirren fan, they've all got an old firm side, you need it to operate in the Scottish Media,
    Is that why Nevin's says he's a Hibby then? To cover up being a Celtic fan?

Does everyone really support Rangers or Celtic and just pretend about their "other" team?

Quote Originally Posted by Si_17 View Post
    Then you must be blind I'm afraid, on the replay of the challenge you can clearly see Stokes kick out at O'Dea after he's jumped over him.
    I can see perfectly well, thanks very much. There is a wee scuffle, he reacted but I would hardly say he kicked out at him.

People need to stop looking for stuff thats not there.