Thread: Striped Scarf

Striped Scarf

What ever happened to the Stripped Hibs scarfs. All you seem to see is hooped srarfs or a variation on them. Back in the late seventies/ early eighties most scarfs worn were of the stripped variety. I still have a stripped one, however it has seen better days and i wanted a new one.
    Hooped scarfs back in the day, were mostly worn by the second team to wear the green.

Quote Originally Posted by C I Hibee View Post
    What ever happened to the Stripped Hibs scarfs. All you seem to see is hooped srarfs or a variation on them. Back in the late seventies/ early eighties most scarfs worn were of the stripped variety. I still have a stripped one, however it has seen better days and i wanted a new one.
    Hooped scarfs back in the day, were mostly worn by the second team to wear the green.
    They've got them in the Club Shop mate. I got one just after Christmas - £6.99 I think.

Edit - link

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    I want one now lol

Quote Originally Posted by C I Hibee View Post
    Mibbe I'm being thick but what's the difference between striped and hooped

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd® View Post
    Mibbe I'm being thick but what's the difference between striped and hooped
    stripes run the full length of the scarf so go like:

==========================================

as opposed to

|| || || || || || || || || || || || || || || ||

EZ

Quote Originally Posted by eezyrider View Post
    stripes run the full length of the scarf so go like:

as opposed to

|| || || || || || || || || || || || || || || ||

EZ
    I've obviously never seen a striped scarf then. That means the one that Danderhall posted is a hooped version not stripes.

Can anyone post a picture of a striped scarf please.

I've obviously never seen a striped scarf then. That means the one that Danderhall posted is a hooped version not stripes.

I've never seen a striped one either then.

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    I know what he means, but I'm not sure they were ever very easy to get hold of. As somebody else described, the stripes are vertical, rather than horizontal and therefore narrower. They were around before you could get scarves with HIBERNIAN on them, so they used to help prevent you being mistaken for a Celtic fan!

It's been mentioned before, but there also used to be a green silk Hibs scarf available with white pinstripes on it. Quite classy, though when I was a kid I always regarded as a scarf for the older man. These days I quite fancy owning one. Do they still exist?

Quote Originally Posted by Mag7 View Post
    It's been mentioned before, but there also used to be a green silk Hibs scarf available with white pinstripes on it. Quite classy, though when I was a kid I always regarded as a scarf for the older man. These days I quite fancy owning one. Do they still exist?
    Now I do remember them, my dad had one

Might ask him if he knows where it is.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    They've got them in the Club Shop mate. I got one just after Christmas - £6.99 I think.

Edit - link
    Thats a bar scarf

I had a striped scarf in the early 80's
    Mind you , i had HIbs sweat bands and a silky cap too
    Gloves anaw
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mag7 View Post
    I know what he means, but I'm not sure they were ever very easy to get hold of. As somebody else described, the stripes are vertical, rather than horizontal and therefore narrower. They were around before you could get scarves with HIBERNIAN on them, so they used to help prevent you being mistaken for a Celtic fan!

My Dad had one
    Green silk with white tassles.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    My Dad had one
    Green silk with white tassles.
    I had one as a kid.Had the crown badge on it.Loved it.Wish i,d kept it.

@hibs.net private member hibee_nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lEXO View Post
    Me too, i still have my first scarf though which was made out of scratchy cotton with the diagonal stripes and the wee hibs badges on it. I gave it to my dad when i got the silk one. The one with the stripes lengthwise used to get tied on the wrist or belt loop (was cool back then)
    I gave mine away to a Northwich Victoria fan when i joined the army in 1977. The lenghtwise stripe scarf used to come in mostly bottle green with a lighter green and white stripe aswell, no fancy tassels like the silk scarf though they were just cut at the ends to make tassels. Old yins mmay be able to describe them better but i know what i mean.

I've been wearing my striped scarf since 1973. Swopped my original with a Leeds fan in their supporters club after the game

The street vendors around ER sold quality gear in them days.

you just jogged my memory ................................... and after a rummage in the wardrobe.................... i found my one

p.s. i lost my silk one at an away game at partick thistle around 1974-75. 1 - 1 draw !
    if anyone found it i would like it back please.
    Last edited by jst1875; 20-01-2010 at 04:56 AM.

On a side note, I would love the silk one. IS it possible if we had the numbers to get these commissioned?

B

First Team Breakthrough persevere1875's Avatar
    Ahhh silk scarfs and winning the dryborough cup, now those were the days

We are talking about the darker green scarf with a white pin stripe are we; if so then I always think of it as being the traditional scarf as that's what many of us tended to wear in the early seventies (so not necessarily really traditional).

Weren't they called 'University Style' scarves?

Or is my memory just playing tricks?

Me tae!

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post

Correct! Waverley Tailoring's finest product!

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Thats a bar scarf

I had a striped scarf in the early 80's
    Mind you , i had HIbs sweat bands and a silky cap too
    Gloves anaw
    I knew I'd seen you before somewhere
    This is how it feels

The Silk scarf was more of a wrist adornment iirc as it had little heat retention ability.

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post

Spot on keekaboo they were indeed 'University Scarfs'. No club badge but were predominantly green with (i think) 2 white stripes down each side off centre. I think you could also purchase the opposite with all white with the green stripes.

@hibs.net private member Sudds_1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GordonHFC View Post
    Spot on keekaboo they were indeed 'University Scarfs'. No club badge but were predominantly green with (i think) 2 white stripes down each side off centre. I think you could also purchase the opposite with all white with the green stripes.
    ........yep. thats the one I've worn for many years.

It replaced my silk scarf with the old badge, purchased a good many years earlier, that now sits well protected in my drawer - like all good collectors items should.
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

Me too.

One of my great regrets is discarding it during the early 80s when I was poncing around pretending I was too intellectual to be interested in football.

Burtons do a green and grey stripey scarf £8. Fact.

:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notwo rthy:

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Are we talking about the kind of scarf that George Best was pictured with when he signed?

http://www.insideleft.net/wp-content...2511best1a.jpg